We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made us feel like family”
Review of The Blue Shrimp

The Blue Shrimp
Ranked #16 of 117 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Made us feel like family”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

What an amazing place! The staff treated us like family! Food was consistently wonderful! We went multiple times and sent everyone we met!

Be sure to order a Mango Margarita (make it bucket size) - WAY too good! They are filling, though, so we just ordered an appetizer and main dish to share between the two of us.

Recommend the House Flambe Shrimp prepared at your table (cooked in brandy, white wine, and cream). A treat you are sure to remember.

Oh, everyone speaks English very well. Very friendly. Clean restaurant. Fun place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    45
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the coconut shrimp”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great service, great atmosphere! We went back a second time before we went home just for the coconut shrimp! I could eat there everyday. A bit pricey, but worth every penny

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria MN USA
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great Place for Seafood in Ixtapa...”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This place is great for seafood in particular. The food is very good, but I think the seafood is exceptional. Try the salmon with mango sauce. While I think the salmon is the normal restaurant farm raised stuff, the sauce makes it spectacular. My wife had the same sauce on some fresh mahi, but the salmon was our favorite. On another night, we had the table side shrimp. They were very good as well. I would expect all their food to be good, but we stuck with the seafood. Always a good bet when you are near the ocean!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie ,Alberta ,Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The flavours were amazing and the wait staff was really attentive to your needs. We had flambed shrimp dishes and margaritas, just the best.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zanzibary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodie in Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious food, Great value”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Octopus cocktail, flamed shrimp, best coconut shrimp ever and excellent wine. Couple this with "can do" attentive service tells you why we ate 3 breakfasts and two dinners at the Blue Shrimp even though we were staying at an all inclusive hotel.
Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank epicurian46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Shrimp also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing