We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Seafood in Ixtapa...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Shrimp

The Blue Shrimp
Ranked #17 of 103 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria MN USA
Level Contributor
295 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Place for Seafood in Ixtapa...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This place is great for seafood in particular. The food is very good, but I think the seafood is exceptional. Try the salmon with mango sauce. While I think the salmon is the normal restaurant farm raised stuff, the sauce makes it spectacular. My wife had the same sauce on some fresh mahi, but the salmon was our favorite. On another night, we had the table side shrimp. They were very good as well. I would expect all their food to be good, but we stuck with the seafood. Always a good bet when you are near the ocean!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    32
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie ,Alberta ,Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The flavours were amazing and the wait staff was really attentive to your needs. We had flambed shrimp dishes and margaritas, just the best.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zanzibary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodie in Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious food, Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Octopus cocktail, flamed shrimp, best coconut shrimp ever and excellent wine. Couple this with "can do" attentive service tells you why we ate 3 breakfasts and two dinners at the Blue Shrimp even though we were staying at an all inclusive hotel.
Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank epicurian46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and very attentive and friendly wait staff! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We are in Ixtapa 2/22-2/27 and so far we've eaten here twice. The first time my husband had the sea and sea; lobster and shrimp plate. Although the lobster was good, the shrimp was far better. I had the coconut shrimp and this was also great!
We returned again tonight and both of us had the tequila shrimp. They cook it over a small flame at your table and it was by far the best meal we have had here and probably the best shrimp we've had in the last year! We have two more days and will probably return again!
The prices are very reasonable

Helpful?
Thank Nikkiwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lalo is back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lalo is back at the Blue Shrimp restaurant in Ixtapa. We had the Ixtapa Shrimp, Tequila Shrimp and the House Shrimp dinners. They all were very good. The House Shrimp dinner has cheese added to it, otherwise it is similar to the Ixtapa Shrimp dinner. The week ends still have the music upstairs but it is not very loud as before.

Highly recommend the Blue Shrimp for breakfast or dinners.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowman5129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Shrimp also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing