We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Glad We Caught Them Open” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franks bar and grill

Franks bar and grill
Ranked #2 of 114 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant has excellent food and service. It has huge screen tv's for any game that you want to watch or just tv while you dine. It's also a great place to just have a drink with friends after the beach. My only complaint would be the manager there, she is very rude and mean to her employees in front of the customers. The food, servers are great and the service is A++.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Glad We Caught Them Open”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We usually visit Ixtapa in mid June and have discovered Franks is often closed for the low season. However, over the past decade we'd eaten there many times. Luckily we caught him open one night on this trip and, as usual, enjoyed our meal and conversations with Frank. Very good wood fired pizzas and very friendly staff. Went back the next night hoping to see the LA Kings in the NHL playoffs, but unfortunately the restaurant was closed. If you're in the area, I'd highly recommend stopping in...you won't regret it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    109
    43
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Franks is a Great local place to go for pizza and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

You can sit inside the restaurant or out front at the tables . Very casual and Frank comes out to visit with you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow Island, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this Canadian atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Frank and his staff were so great to my daughter and I, even though he had Saskatchewan Roughrider stuff hanging all over (lol). But they treated us with great respect and had a lot of fun while there. Thanks to Frank and Rodrigeuz

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantallon, Canada
2 reviews
“Food is incredible and Frank & Staff go above and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were a group of 5 people on vacation in Ixtapa, Mexico the week of April 12th to April 19th and we visited Franks Bar and Grill several times during our trip. We stayed at the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Hotel, which is an all inclusive with great food also. Frank's place has a large screen TV and the guys in our party were keen on watching the hockey game's playing during that week. Then we ordered pizza, (several occasions) which is cooked in a wood fired oven, and it was delicious. The staff was very friendly and we never had to wait for a cold drink.

Where Frank and his staff really shined was during the Earthquake that happened on Friday April 18th. Our hotel sustained damage from the earthquake and while the damage was being assessed, the 5 of us headed to Frank's to calm our nerves and wait until the hotel was open again. We got there at 11:00 am in the morning before Frank's Bar was opened. Frank was there and greeted us as we approached and opened the bar just for us and let us in to have a beverage. He was so generous to allow us to use his phone to call home to Canada to let our loved one's know that we were ok. I will always remember his kindness and willingness to help out fellow Canadians. Thanks Frank!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Frank has the best fish taco's on this earth.
Great atmosphere and friendly service. Frank treats everyone like family/

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkflynn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franks bar and grill also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Franks bar and grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing