We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$272
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$143
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$66
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$120
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$151
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$152
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$328
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$323
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,389 results
Traveler rating
850
337
96
48
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
850
337
96
48
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoon barmaster sandsthrough rciel suspirospa poolgolf sectiondinner reservationsel faro restaurantreserved palapaall inclusive feetimeshare presentationmini poolreception arealike coming homepersonal conciergebeach waitermeal plan
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 1,389 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I read quite a few reviews on here before we decided to go to Pacifica for our destination wedding. As you can imagine, negative reviews make you very nervous. Now that we are back from our trip, I wanted to write a fair and honest review of Pacifica Resort Ixtapa. First let me start by saying that we are NOT part of the RCI network. We simply chose this resort because of the amenities and location. Therefore, we have not had deal with all of the time share issues that many of the negative reviews talk about. Personally, I think timeshares are a waste of money, but I digress.

Our trip to Pacifica Resorts was part of our destination wedding plans and Pacifica mentions on their website that they offer wedding packages. Let me just say right away that we were treated like Royalty. Andres worked in reservations and planned our entire wedding. It was his first time planning such an event and he did an amazing job. The wedding itself was held in the VIP section of the beach (nearest the resort) and the reception was at the Ghost Bar. Everything from the set up of the ceremony on the beach, to the officiant, to the hairdresser, to the photographer, to the settings at the tables, to the DJ, dance floor, and especially the wait staff was perfect. Now, when the planning first started, we had someone else and we were VERY unhappy with the amount of communication we were getting. Now I can tell that the turn over has been high enough that not many people at the resort know what they are doing with respect to organizing a wedding event. Andres knew he had to do his best since it was his first time and with our guidance he did an amzing job.

The food: Someone mentioned there was no bacon, this is not true. There is bacon at the grill where you get freshly made omelets all you have to do is ask, it's called tocino in spanish. This is at Tulpianes restaurant which is the buffet one. We ate breakfast here every day and dinner on Monday (Mexican night) and we thought it was all very good. There are 4 other restaurants that you need to make reservations for: El Faro, Ghost Bar, Bugambillas, and Suspiro. Suspiro is at their other resort, Grand Pacifica, so you have to take a taxi to Zihuantenejo. Food was GREAT at all of these restaurants with an Italian fare at El Faro and Suspiro, a seafood/sushi fare at Ghost and Fine Mexican at Bubambillas. There was a little confusion about how the all inclusive package works at these places however. It was not explained well, but later they told us you can eat at the "special" restaurants once for dinner after that is is half price. The rest of the time they want you to eat at the buffet. For us it worked out fine because were didn't need to eat there more than once.

Rooms: The rooms are nice, but nothing too special. They really are set up for families with kids because the sofa beds are really just platforms with mattresses on them (not the traditional pull out like in America) but really, we were not there to hang out in our rooms so we did not care. Our view was amazing and we DID enjoy the hottub on the balcony. Someone mentioned there are many stairs at the resort and this is true. Some buildings do not have elevators so if stairs are a problem for you physically, this might not be the resort for you. There are pools EVERYWHERE! Outside of reservations, attached to many of the buildings and down by the beach.

Amenities: We went during the off season for Mexican nationals (End of Feb beginning of March) so the occupancy was low and mostly Americans, Canadians, and Europeans. From what I understand it does get a little crazier when the Mexican citizens are there as the number of people goes up dramatically. So for us it was very easy to get a palapa (thatched umbrella at the beach) or a pool side chair. Yes, you do need to make a reservation at 7am sharp. Someone complained about not being able to speak spanish and not understanding the palapa situation and getting kicked out. Sorry, but you are in Mexico, if you don't speak spanish, you may not understand how everything works. We also golfed at the Maria Course. It was on the pricy side, quite difficult with terrible sand traps. 8 of us went, so honestly we had a great time, but I have had much better quality of golf.

Overall, the place was a SMASH! Yes, we were there for our wedding and my wife is from Mexico, so everyone treated us like royalty, but boy did we enjoy it. All of our friends and family enjoyed themselves too. Yes, they will try and rope you into a presentation to sell you a time share, but seriously what do you expect that's their business! We would definitley go back to this resort as we love all inclusive packages as well feel like we get our money's worth!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dlofgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at the Pacifica through an exchange. This is our fifth trip to Mexico and first time in Ixtapa. It was 90+ F, so it was quite hot and humid... perfect for sitting under a palapa (which we had no trouble reserving all week), sipping a cold drink (we had good service at our palapa each day, drinks and even sandwiches) and watching the beautiful waves. I had read through many reviews, so wasn't quite sure what to expect. We had spoken with someone the week before we left, so there were no issues on check in. We had decided to do a 4-day all-inclusive (a little over $100 a day for the 2 of us), beginning on Sunday after our Sat arrival. A typical deposit of $200 US. The room was very nice with a king bed, kitchen area and small patio with jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. There's a safe, ironing board with iron and the kitchen was stocked pretty well. There is also a huge water bottle. We kept asking for "agua" every chance we got, so had plenty of bottles for the week. It made it a little easier in the bathroom, as we'd use that for brushing and rinsing contacts. Bathroom had a large stand-up shower and toilet closed off with nice exhaust. Large sink with drawers made settling in easier. Had an issue with the toilet mechanism not working properly, but never found the time to have a maintenance guy in, though they offered. My husband fixed it quite easily.
We got to all 4 of the restaurants, including Suspiro in Ziha at Pacifica Grand. Well worth the taxi over there. It's beautiful, great food and service. Tips are not included anywhere, so always tipped with either pesos or US $ - Anything over 10% is really nice tipping down there. Sometimes there is a language issue with staff, but they really try to help you. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Tulipanes, especially the omelets, french toast. Lunch buffet on Tuesday had huge peel and eat shrimp. We love our lattes and had to purchase them at the cafecito, but they were wonderful. Regular coffee at Tulipanes was exceptional. Airport taxi was 350 pesos to resort and 250 back to airport. Always ask prices ahead. Just a short walk up beach to walkway before Barcelo to take you to boulevard and a few short blocks to flea market. As there were people walking around all day selling things, you don't even need to do that to bring home crafts. (It is definitely worth a visit though.) A massage at the spa was sooo relaxing. Dinner at El Faro should not be missed. We really enjoyed a day on Ixtapa Island...We did it ourselves..taxi to Playa Linda, water taxi to Island and walk to Rebecca's near the coral reef. We had grilled lobster and Coronas right on the beach...You can't ask for anything better! My husband and I really enjoy visiting new places...Ixtapa seems to have more soul than other places we've been to in Mexico...We loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Sands and liked its proximity to the beach and lobby. Go as high up as you can go...There are elevators if you need it for most of the steps....just don't do that if you have trouble walking steps. With all-inclusive eating, we needed the exercise!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJ7Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We just spent a very nice week at Pacifica Sands in Xtapa. The staff was great. The beach was wonderful and lots of comfortable places to sit by the beach or around the pool.
The resort buildings are built into the mountains but they have transportation from all the buildings right down to the beach if walking is a problem. The place has a very tropical feel to it and has a small area with exotic birds and animals. Every afternoon they feed the crocodiles. The food is plentiful but okay. You never get food as good as a private restaurant when all inclusive which this was. The ai fee was not exorbitant and when you pay in advance they give you an extra dinner at their best restaurant and a message at the spa. In all I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived at the resort and were taken into the "timeshare" area. The check-in took 30 minutes. Our agent spoke minimal English, so it took a while. We had prepaid our all-inclusive, and that seemed to throw him....discussions with others, copies made, finally settled that it was okay. Seemed really odd. Picked our cabana for the week. Then there was a paper about a 3% tax, although he could not tell me what that 3% was based on; finally just signed it so we could move on. Then we had to wait another 20 minutes plus to be taken to our room, but we had our first drinks, so it was okay. Room was very nice, just not the room we had booked. Back down the many stairs to the office, and we were told all the Master Sands had to be held for the owners,even if they were here or not. Next day we talked to another manager who told us that all the Master Sands were full, so I ask to talk to the main manager, but he was off that day. On Monday, after a fishing trip, I talked to the main manager, who spoke English, and he told me that one of the Master Sands buildings was being worked on, which actually was across from our room, so the Master Sands that were available were all full. We gave up, and our room was very nice, just disappointed that we were not in the Master Sands.
Okay, now the good stuff. Beach is very nice, waves coming in all the time. Water was warm so you could stay in for a long time and not get cold. We had a private cabana, that as long as you were there by 1:30 p.m., it was yours. Our waiter, Jose, knew us right away and also some friends of ours that we shared with. So, on Wednesday, when we were gone fishing, our friends showed up and they kicked out some people from our cabana for our friends; so, when we returned our cabana was still saved for us. The waiter service on the beach was great!
The buffet was not bad. We had grilled steaks on the beach the first night, a little thin, but the t-bones were really good. The fiesta night at the buffet was pretty good, so much to choose from, but my husband was not feeling the best--not sure if dehydration or something he ate--so we did not eat too much. Breakfasts were good, you have to ask for bacon. And they seemed to vary items day to day. Lunches were okay, there were always different salads. We ate at the three fancy restaurants, including El Faro twice. We did not go to the one off-site. Each was a little different but very nice. Such wonderful atmosphere and great service. We got the second El Faro night because we prepaid our AI fees, but on our last day we could not get a reservation BECAUSE we were AI. I had to argue with two managers and give the restaurant a copy of our paperwork to get our second meal....our friends did not get their second meal, but they did not argue like we did. Again, this seemed odd.
Booked on fishing trip on-line before hand, the other we booked on the beach at the resort from Mario, guys in the white uniforms. They picked us up at the beach right there and we had an exceptional time. We had free massages at the spa at the resort and did venture down the beach to the "huts". We were able to get 1 hours each for 300 pesos, because you can bargain. It was great hearing the ocean waves the whole time.
Everyone is very nice, service was really good, but it helps if you can speak some Spanish and understand that Americans are a minority. Lots of families, but everyone was involved in the activities, dancing, just having a good time. We did not venture out much from the resort, but that was our plan, just to relax and enjoy the resort.
Checkout: they gave us our bill the night before to speed up the process. There was a dollar for the children? five dollars for the staff we do not see (gardeners, maintenance, etc.) and 3% tax on maybe the all-inclusive fees. It was like $30.00 total, so we just paid it. We turned in our keys, armbands, remotes for the tv's and air conditioners, and, we were done. They would hold our luggage until we left for the airport, too. We did get breakfast the last morning, but we asked, so I assume some do not, so you might want to double check. Their were a lot of different colors of the armbands, so I assume each means something different.
We had booked through RCI, so the all-inclusive was manadatory, we we don't mind being waited on and not having to worrying about anything. AFTER we got back, I looked at the RCI website and they have added a disclaimer about construction going on during the time we were there. There was also a note under the all-inclusive fees about "plus tax", so I guess that is what we paid. We had booked this back in February 2012, and although I had checked the web site multiple times, these changes I had not seen before.
Would we go back? Most likely, but with family. So, I would like if they can get the room reservations sorted out. I would hate to go back with family and not get the rooms we were planning on.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hottubwlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked our room through our vacation club and were in the Golf section of the resort. The sulfur smell from the bathroom was terrible, the smell of mildew consumed the rest of our room. We asked for a different room and were told none were available and to, "check back tomorrow." After the room was cleaned the next day, it did smell a little better but the underlying sulfur and mildew smell remained throughout our stay. We met another couple who were booked in the Sands, and they had the same complaint, so it wasn't just the lower end rooms that smelled bad. If dishes were not immediately rinsed, small ants consumed them within minutes. It was disturbing to see ants on our toothbrushes and other toiletries. There was some kind of dung on our balcony, it looked like rodent dung. It was on the ledge and in the corners on the floor. I can guarantee the maids never set foot on the balcony during our stay. We specifically asked not be contacted by the time share people. However, our phone rang at 9:00 every morning, including Christmas day, wanting to know if we were coming to their breakfast. This was our sixth trip to Mexico. We enjoy it so much! We really are not people who complain and look for problems, but this particular resort was disappointing and we cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews