We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$272
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$120
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$143
$121
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$66
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$219
$151
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$151
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$152
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$197
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$321
$289
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$323
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,389 results
Traveler rating
850
337
96
48
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
850
337
96
48
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoon barmaster sandsthrough rciel suspirospa poolgolf sectiondinner reservationsel faro restaurantreserved palapaall inclusive feetimeshare presentationmini poolreception arealike coming homepersonal conciergebeach waitermeal plan
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 1,389 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked our room through our vacation club and were in the Golf section of the resort. The sulfur smell from the bathroom was terrible, the smell of mildew consumed the rest of our room. We asked for a different room and were told none were available and to, "check back tomorrow." After the room was cleaned the next day, it did smell a little better but the underlying sulfur and mildew smell remained throughout our stay. We met another couple who were booked in the Sands, and they had the same complaint, so it wasn't just the lower end rooms that smelled bad. If dishes were not immediately rinsed, small ants consumed them within minutes. It was disturbing to see ants on our toothbrushes and other toiletries. There was some kind of dung on our balcony, it looked like rodent dung. It was on the ledge and in the corners on the floor. I can guarantee the maids never set foot on the balcony during our stay. We specifically asked not be contacted by the time share people. However, our phone rang at 9:00 every morning, including Christmas day, wanting to know if we were coming to their breakfast. This was our sixth trip to Mexico. We enjoy it so much! We really are not people who complain and look for problems, but this particular resort was disappointing and we cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Booked here on a RCI exchange and had booked the optional All- Inclusive. We are not the AI type of travelers.
At check-in they asked for payment for AI. Fortunately, I had written confirmation for the optional so proceeded to a week in the sun.
This was the last week before the big Christmas rush season so workmen were very busy all over the resort, especially at Club 12, the building right next door to us with a shared stairway of 75 steps. We appreciate progress and didn't mind saying ola to all the friendly construction team we met on the stairs but Aftera few days of hammering, sanding and paint fumes, we asked to move to another location. No problem, and with bellhop assistance quickly got settled into Club 2.
Awesome view again, I think all units have this panoramic advantage.
This place worked well for us, having the freedom to hop a bus to downtown Zihua for 9 pesos, taking two sepaertae tours of the surrounding areas and bike riding the wonderful ciclopista to Playa Linda through the ecological reserve, a 10 km trip to enjoy the beach there and great food at Palapa restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RosemaryRonalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We, a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids 10 and 12 years old) stayed in a 2 bedroom Master Sands unit (room 4150) and it was spectacular. We did an exchange through RCI and had the obligatory All-Inclusive package.

Suite: The suite consists of 2 bedrooms with great views of the bay - one room has a large king size bed, bathroom, balcony, closets and AC. The second has limited windows, 2 double beds, AC and is good for kids. There is a third room with a washer / dryer which does have a bunk bed but really appears to be more for family staff. There is AC in that room as well. In the main living area, there is a infinity plunge pool which is not heated (very refreshing - heating is not necessary), several couches and a dining table. This section is open air as it does not have windows facing out but has spectacular views. While there were mosquitoes by the beach (primarily ankle biters) there were none anywhere in our suite.

Food: The main eating area by the beach is buffet style and decent - breakfast is the same everyday, the dinners are themed. There are a number of restaurants you can go to - we were restricted to Il Faro for one dinner. Il Faro has great views and going once is probably enough. There are other restaurants including a bar on the beach which is Asian themed with Sushi at night. No restrictions there and worth a try. We also at a restaurant by the reception - it was good also. During the day - if you are an RCI member you have a reserved palapa for the week at no additional charge and there are waiters who walk up and down the beach providing a snack menu which includes sandwiches, nachos, drinks etc.. This is included as well. All drinks including bottled water and domestic alcohol are included in unlimited amounts. In general where ever you eat, you do receive a bill with a zero'd out balance on it and room for a tip. As the service in general was quite good, we left tips. We did notice that the bills were not always accurate - sometimes more than what we ate, but it really didn't matter as the balance was zero'd out. When we checked out at the end the week - all was in order in terms of what we owed, no mysterious charges. They do seem to want to charge if anything is missing including room keys (just hotel cards) or wrist bracelets for the all-inclusive - we returned everything.

We didn't have problems with theft - but it is Mexico and use common sense - that is we generally locked everything in the room safe when we were out, especially during the day when the workers come through.

We had a couple maintenance issues were resolved promptly.

This was our first time to Ixtapa. We have been to Cabo once before. Ixtapa is much nicer - people are more laid back and prices tend to be more reasonable. That said, I felt like I was nickeled and dimes in overcharges for most things outside the resort, whether it be taxis, food, tours etc. Oh ya, be sure to have exact change in whatever you do - everybody mysteriously never has any change.

Taxis from the airport cost the most. Taxis from the resort cost marginally more than outside but it is worth it. Always agree on a price before you get in or go anywhere as nobody has meters.

If you take a taxi from the airport, ignore all the guys inside waiting at the gate and go outside to the taxi stand. At taxi to Pacific when we went cost 280 pesos and takes about 20 minutes.

As the resort is on a hillside it is a good workout to get back to your room which I didn't mind as this was most of my exercise for the week. You can take the gondola as well which drops near the Master Sands.

The Master Sands is on a point at the end of the bay and does have good access to the beach.

Massages at the resort cost 400 pesos or about US$30 for 1 hour and are worth it!

We visited in late Sept 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bholzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have been traveling here for years and own a week. We like many things about the setting and the resort - it's on a great beach, the food is plentiful and decent, it's low key and casual. We always struggle with the housekeeping staff who seem desperate to clean our room. We like to make our own bed, tidy up after ourselves and enjoy our privacy. So we always inform the staff at the start of our annual stay that we will not be needing any housekeeping services. We also keep the "do not disturb" tag on our doorknob.

On our last trip, despite our precautions, housekeeping came into the room one day. The bed was made, we had fresh towels, everything vacuumed and tidy. The only problem was that my wife's Kindle was missing, along with its charger which had been stored inside a suitcase. It was the last night of our stay and we didn't have time to deal with it before we had to leave for the airport. We've been trying to work this out with management since the beginning of June. Despite some promises of resort credit no one has followed through and now they don't return our calls.

We're bummed because we have enjoyed our trips there. But it's hard to stomach this kind of treatment. We still haven't decided if we will ever return. We have always told our friends that we've never had a problem with theft (or any type of crime) in Mexico. Pacifica Ixtapa has changed our tune.

Room Tip: Lock everything up in the room safe, even if you think no one is coming into the room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been a member here since 2000. Loved it initially, but things have turned progressively worse. We purchased a 3 week time share at Junior Sands. The world was promised. Easily transferable via RCI (not), cruise benefits via their ICE incentive (completely mislead), assured availability - i.e. we would be able to book dates with reasonable lead times and be assured of a spot, not oversold (BS). In 2007 stepped on a sting ray in the water just off the restaurant. They said it happens now and then and proceeded to do the exact opposite of what is needed to treat the toxins from a sting ray sting. Agony. Called the local Dr. - he shows up and looks like the Dr from the movie Cannonball Run. Again, wrong treatment. I go to my room and WebMd which I should have done in the first place. Unbeleiveable. Pacifica Sands is now in disrepair. I had to call maintenance 3x for A/C, plumbing, sliding glass doors not working. My dues have gone from a few hundred $$ to over $2k while beautiful new buildings are erected. Mexicana Airlines declares bankruptcy. We could travel to Europe in the amount of time it takes to get there from San Francisco. Seriously. And very expensive airfare due to little competition. We visited Thanksgiving 2011. Saw more sting rays - SHUFFLE YOUR FEET while entering water! 2012 - Pacifica says they will charge an additional $2500 surcharge for maintenance/worker benefits. I go to discuss in the office in person since we were already there. EXTREMELY RUDE and disrespectful folks in that office. They told me take it or leave it, basically get lost.I told them what they could do with their timeshare and proceeded to tell every prosepect in that office what to expect - and that if anyone would like to hear about my experiences at Pacifica, I would gladly join them at the bar to discuss over a cerveza. A number of folks took me up on it and they were being sold on the exact same things mentioned above - to which I shared my experiences. They (Pacifica) were not pleased, but folks need to be forewarned about the egregious money grab by these people. I walked away from this timeshare with 17 years still left on it and after sinking at least $30-35k on this painful experience. Save your $$ - DO NOT PURCHASE A TIMESHARE HERE. One last thing, like many of the reviewers mentioned earlier, you will find all sorts of charges on your check out bill that are not yours. They know everyone is in a hurry to check out at the same time and will stall you with excuses and poor communication until you are stressed about your flight and just pay. It has happened all 6 of our visits without fail. Stay in Zihua.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank EZD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews