We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A week at Pacifica Resort, Ixtapa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifica Resort Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A week at Pacifica Resort, Ixtapa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Booked here on a RCI exchange and had booked the optional All- Inclusive. We are not the AI type of travelers.
At check-in they asked for payment for AI. Fortunately, I had written confirmation for the optional so proceeded to a week in the sun.
This was the last week before the big Christmas rush season so workmen were very busy all over the resort, especially at Club 12, the building right next door to us with a shared stairway of 75 steps. We appreciate progress and didn't mind saying ola to all the friendly construction team we met on the stairs but Aftera few days of hammering, sanding and paint fumes, we asked to move to another location. No problem, and with bellhop assistance quickly got settled into Club 2.
Awesome view again, I think all units have this panoramic advantage.
This place worked well for us, having the freedom to hop a bus to downtown Zihua for 9 pesos, taking two sepaertae tours of the surrounding areas and bike riding the wonderful ciclopista to Playa Linda through the ecological reserve, a 10 km trip to enjoy the beach there and great food at Palapa restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RosemaryRonalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    203
    55
    35
    41
See reviews for
464
169
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We, a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids 10 and 12 years old) stayed in a 2 bedroom Master Sands unit (room 4150) and it was spectacular. We did an exchange through RCI and had the obligatory All-Inclusive package.

Suite: The suite consists of 2 bedrooms with great views of the bay - one room has a large king size bed, bathroom, balcony, closets and AC. The second has limited windows, 2 double beds, AC and is good for kids. There is a third room with a washer / dryer which does have a bunk bed but really appears to be more for family staff. There is AC in that room as well. In the main living area, there is a infinity plunge pool which is not heated (very refreshing - heating is not necessary), several couches and a dining table. This section is open air as it does not have windows facing out but has spectacular views. While there were mosquitoes by the beach (primarily ankle biters) there were none anywhere in our suite.

Food: The main eating area by the beach is buffet style and decent - breakfast is the same everyday, the dinners are themed. There are a number of restaurants you can go to - we were restricted to Il Faro for one dinner. Il Faro has great views and going once is probably enough. There are other restaurants including a bar on the beach which is Asian themed with Sushi at night. No restrictions there and worth a try. We also at a restaurant by the reception - it was good also. During the day - if you are an RCI member you have a reserved palapa for the week at no additional charge and there are waiters who walk up and down the beach providing a snack menu which includes sandwiches, nachos, drinks etc.. This is included as well. All drinks including bottled water and domestic alcohol are included in unlimited amounts. In general where ever you eat, you do receive a bill with a zero'd out balance on it and room for a tip. As the service in general was quite good, we left tips. We did notice that the bills were not always accurate - sometimes more than what we ate, but it really didn't matter as the balance was zero'd out. When we checked out at the end the week - all was in order in terms of what we owed, no mysterious charges. They do seem to want to charge if anything is missing including room keys (just hotel cards) or wrist bracelets for the all-inclusive - we returned everything.

We didn't have problems with theft - but it is Mexico and use common sense - that is we generally locked everything in the room safe when we were out, especially during the day when the workers come through.

We had a couple maintenance issues were resolved promptly.

This was our first time to Ixtapa. We have been to Cabo once before. Ixtapa is much nicer - people are more laid back and prices tend to be more reasonable. That said, I felt like I was nickeled and dimes in overcharges for most things outside the resort, whether it be taxis, food, tours etc. Oh ya, be sure to have exact change in whatever you do - everybody mysteriously never has any change.

Taxis from the airport cost the most. Taxis from the resort cost marginally more than outside but it is worth it. Always agree on a price before you get in or go anywhere as nobody has meters.

If you take a taxi from the airport, ignore all the guys inside waiting at the gate and go outside to the taxi stand. At taxi to Pacific when we went cost 280 pesos and takes about 20 minutes.

As the resort is on a hillside it is a good workout to get back to your room which I didn't mind as this was most of my exercise for the week. You can take the gondola as well which drops near the Master Sands.

The Master Sands is on a point at the end of the bay and does have good access to the beach.

Massages at the resort cost 400 pesos or about US$30 for 1 hour and are worth it!

We visited in late Sept 2012.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bholzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have been traveling here for years and own a week. We like many things about the setting and the resort - it's on a great beach, the food is plentiful and decent, it's low key and casual. We always struggle with the housekeeping staff who seem desperate to clean our room. We like to make our own bed, tidy up after ourselves and enjoy our privacy. So we always inform the staff at the start of our annual stay that we will not be needing any housekeeping services. We also keep the "do not disturb" tag on our doorknob.

On our last trip, despite our precautions, housekeeping came into the room one day. The bed was made, we had fresh towels, everything vacuumed and tidy. The only problem was that my wife's Kindle was missing, along with its charger which had been stored inside a suitcase. It was the last night of our stay and we didn't have time to deal with it before we had to leave for the airport. We've been trying to work this out with management since the beginning of June. Despite some promises of resort credit no one has followed through and now they don't return our calls.

We're bummed because we have enjoyed our trips there. But it's hard to stomach this kind of treatment. We still haven't decided if we will ever return. We have always told our friends that we've never had a problem with theft (or any type of crime) in Mexico. Pacifica Ixtapa has changed our tune.

Room Tip: Lock everything up in the room safe, even if you think no one is coming into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been a member here since 2000. Loved it initially, but things have turned progressively worse. We purchased a 3 week time share at Junior Sands. The world was promised. Easily transferable via RCI (not), cruise benefits via their ICE incentive (completely mislead), assured availability - i.e. we would be able to book dates with reasonable lead times and be assured of a spot, not oversold (BS). In 2007 stepped on a sting ray in the water just off the restaurant. They said it happens now and then and proceeded to do the exact opposite of what is needed to treat the toxins from a sting ray sting. Agony. Called the local Dr. - he shows up and looks like the Dr from the movie Cannonball Run. Again, wrong treatment. I go to my room and WebMd which I should have done in the first place. Unbeleiveable. Pacifica Sands is now in disrepair. I had to call maintenance 3x for A/C, plumbing, sliding glass doors not working. My dues have gone from a few hundred $$ to over $2k while beautiful new buildings are erected. Mexicana Airlines declares bankruptcy. We could travel to Europe in the amount of time it takes to get there from San Francisco. Seriously. And very expensive airfare due to little competition. We visited Thanksgiving 2011. Saw more sting rays - SHUFFLE YOUR FEET while entering water! 2012 - Pacifica says they will charge an additional $2500 surcharge for maintenance/worker benefits. I go to discuss in the office in person since we were already there. EXTREMELY RUDE and disrespectful folks in that office. They told me take it or leave it, basically get lost.I told them what they could do with their timeshare and proceeded to tell every prosepect in that office what to expect - and that if anyone would like to hear about my experiences at Pacifica, I would gladly join them at the bar to discuss over a cerveza. A number of folks took me up on it and they were being sold on the exact same things mentioned above - to which I shared my experiences. They (Pacifica) were not pleased, but folks need to be forewarned about the egregious money grab by these people. I walked away from this timeshare with 17 years still left on it and after sinking at least $30-35k on this painful experience. Save your $$ - DO NOT PURCHASE A TIMESHARE HERE. One last thing, like many of the reviewers mentioned earlier, you will find all sorts of charges on your check out bill that are not yours. They know everyone is in a hurry to check out at the same time and will stall you with excuses and poor communication until you are stressed about your flight and just pay. It has happened all 6 of our visits without fail. Stay in Zihua.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank EZD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a nice hotel but you need to be aware of a couple of things that are not clear in the description.....travelsites show you pictures of all their pools highlighting the thalasso spa but you are only allowed into ONE of the pools onsite (the main pool by the bar), the thalasso pool closest to the hotel is approximately an additional $90 us per person per day to use. Do not attempt to stand, sit or dip your toes into any other pool as you will immediately be told it's off limits. During your stay will receive a daily phone call asking to attend a time share - typical for mexico but still annoying, and the food service is slow, expensive and of average quality. You have to take a taxi everywhere because it's too far to walk unless you take the golf cart ride to the beach and then cut through the walkway to the main strip in ixtapa. The golf cart is a 4x4 and is a rough ride, not recommended if you have back, neck or any other problems. The beach area is nice but small and there aren't always loungers available. The rooms are beautiful but lots of stairs to get to and from pool, office and room. If you get the rooms in portal 4 next to the cliff expect to hear machines running and an occassional foul odor as well as a lot of ants and bugs. Also you will run out of hot water in the shower, barely enough for 2 people to shower. There are no loungers on the patios, only regular chairs. Rooms have a nice kitchen but they don't supply you with any mugs or pots so the coffee maker and the stove don't help you unless you bring or buy your own supplies. Wifi is hard to get in the room, works okay on the patios but is slow. Overall the hotel is beautiful but I wish someone would have posted all the extra expenses and what to expect, especially since you are paying luxury hotel prices. I've stayed at various places over the past 5 visits to Zihau/Ixtapa and work in the travel industry, this wouldn't be my first choice for the price.

Room Tip: choose rooms away from the cliff towards the golf course. The cliff and jungle attract ants and bug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank RSF1455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband, adult son and I spent a week at Pacifica Master Sands. Loved Loved Loved it!!! Check-in was very quick and in our room in no time. The suite definately had a WOW factor. Everything was very clean and comfortable...everything we could have asked for. The view...what can I say...simply fabulous!! Stairs were really no big deal, but if you wanted, the shuttles were available. Location of the resort was great. Great access to the beach & our own private cabana, which we were able to reserve for the entire week at check-in. The massage at the Massage Shack on the beach was amazing. My husband even went back for "seconds". Very short walk into town for shopping. Everything at the resort and the town of Ixtapa was exactly what we had hoped for...and more. Will definately go back!! The buffet was good, but have had better. They need to have more daily variety. Pretty much the same thing all week. That's ok though...everything else certainly made up for it.

Room Tip: wouldn't have a room next to the gondola. people on the gondola can see right into your suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank recotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I along with my parents just got back a week ago from Ixtapa. We stayed in the Master Sands room through an RCI exchange (2 bed/2 bath) and it was amazing! The view was to die for and it was HUGE. Plenty of room to spread out for the 4 of us. Yes there's a bit of stairs to climb here, but it was good excercise after all the food we ate! On the days we were a bit tired we would take the tram which was neat to do.

The resort is large, but really beautiful and clean. We loved where the resort is located at the end of the beach which seemed more private and less beach vendors. The waves crashing on the rocks was serene and breathtaking (Hurricane Bud was up north and we had some large crashing waves). Gorgeous sunsets too! We also loved going over the lagoon bridge to the buffet/beach and seeing all the beautiful birds and iguanas in the trees! The grounds were always kept up and we had such fun on the pretty, soft sand beach. All the palms were great for extra shade too. Antonio was the best beach waiter, as we never had to wait long for drinks/food. The buffet was right there too which was convenient. We were able to reserve a palapa for the week which was sure a nice change from the "towel game" we've had to play elsewhere. All resorts should have this option.

We usually don't like All Inclusive as we like to sample the local restaurants, but we were really happy with the food here. Always a nice variety at the buffet and the other restaurants were good too. We did splurge our last night out at a restaurant in Zih called Tentaciones (see my review) but we enjoyed all the food at the resort.

The service was amazing, very helpful people always with a smile. There are a lot of (very friendly) Mexican citizens that vacation here but that's what we actually loved. It made us feel like we were in Mexico and not Miami.

This was our first time in Ixtapa/Zih and we loved it so much it is our new favorite spot in Mexico. We loved the beautiful scenery of the ocean and mountains and the friendly people. The Pacifica Resort is lovely and we highly recommend it. I have heard the best rooms are in Aqua, Master Sands and Senior Sands so if you can, try to stay in one of these buildings.

All in all, we loved our stay here and are "homesick" to be back there already!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beagirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.4 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 24 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.9 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 24 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifica Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Resort Ixtapa

Property: Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Address: Paseo de la Colina s/n - Colina Vista Hermosa | Secc. Prolong. Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacifica Resort Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa our tourist development "All Inclusive", a unique and privileged area of ​​Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, on the coast of Guerrero, and recognized for the quality of its facilities and warm service. Two bedroom suites located in Playa El Palmar Ixtapa just 17.3 Km. Airport and 2.8 Km from shopping area, 4 Km from Marina Ixtapa, 3.55 Km from Marina Ixtapa Golf Club with beach access via funicular center. Wi-Fi in public areas, parking, air conditioning, restaurants, SPA and Thalasso Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pacifica Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Pacifica Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Pacifica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing