We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$272
$185
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$143
$121
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$66
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$120
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$152
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$123
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$197
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$328
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$323
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,745)
Filter reviews
2,745 results
Traveler rating
1,330
880
320
121
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,330
880
320
121
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun clubbluewater grillda mariothe blue water grillcoco cafeswim up barwindows buffetitalian restaurantentertainment teambarracuda barpartial ocean viewbig benking bedsmaller resortdress codegreat vacationrecommend this resort
Filter
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 2,745 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

first I would like to thank Michelle for our vip check-in service, unexpected and so appreciated she is truly a professional, also Raul the reservation manager what outstanding service, Yesena the omelette lady who is the best we have ever seen, and then there is Mario in the elevator who will always make you laugh.....actually we could probably name everyone that works at this resort as they are so service oriented, helpful, and always have a smile.....the Sunscape is a fabulous resort with a perfect location, you can walk the beautiful beach or stroll around town and feel safe and comfortable.....this was our second stay since Dec. and we had a fabulous holiday both times .....the food was excellent at all the a la cartes and buffets, mini fridge always full, and excellent service at all the bars.....our room was deluxe ocean view with a king bed and very spacious.....lots of towels, tissue, soaps and hot water...this resort is very well maintained and easy to get around, including the elevators...our holiday was a ten and we are looking forward to our next visit....

Room Tip: deluxe ocean view..
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear kcir,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa staff and my own I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of us on TripAdvisor. Your opinion is very important to us.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us, and that you felt identified with some members of our staff just like Michelle, Raúl and Yesenia, we will share your review with them and I definitely will give them your compliments, for them it is always nice to know that their names appear on TripAdvisor on a positive way.

It would be an honor to have you back, be completely sure that we will be waiting for you, and we will give you a warm welcome back to this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had high expectations of this trip but it far exceeded them. Everything about it was fantastic. From food to our great bartender, Ramundo! He was awesome!! The beach was the best one we have ever played in,no shells just pure sand and it was awesome! The rooms are not huge but you have everything you need and quite honestly u aren't in it that much. Can't wait to go back. We had massages on the beach and went parasailing. Deep sea fishing and bike riding. We loved it! Definitely on my to go back to list!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room that has a full front view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Lauri H,

To start my reply I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of us on TripAdvisor. We value your time and opinion.

It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your trip and all the services of our resort, our biggest compromise to our clients is to provide an aexcellent service that will make memories that last.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you once more at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just back from Ixtapa on Sunday and I must say - we have nothing to complain about when it comes to staying at the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico.
The resort is small but everything about it was awesome: food, cleanliness, staff, comfort, all surpassed our expectations.
You will always find people who just complain about anything just for the sake of being heard but if you don't like the Sunscape then you should be staying at home!!!!!!!
We have stayed at several resorts but this by far was the best. Thank you Sunscape for caring enough to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The elevators are going to be replaced in May, but other than having to wait sometimes, we had no complaints or problems. If you worry about being in a "hurry" then book one of the lower floors.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedicineHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear MedicineHat,

It is an honor for me to read the reviews of our guests because it makes me think on the valuable time that they took just to let us know how was your vacation with us, and because your opinions shows us our strengths and our opportunity areas.

To me it is very nice to read how much you enjoyed Ixtapa and the resort, be completely sure that every time you come back the staff will go beyond their limits just to put on a big smile on your face and fulfill your expectations, we are completely committed to provide an excellent service and achieve our guests satisfaction.

It would be an honor to give you a warm welcome back soon with our cheerful spirit to this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a great place to go if you want to relax; the atmosphere is incredibly peaceful. They offer an array of delicious food, a decent assortment of drinks, epic evening entertainment, and a dedicated staff that will go the extra mile for you. The hotel and all the grounds are very well kept up; always clean. The pool entertainment staff keep you entertained throughout the day with beach volleyball, water polo, hilarious skits, and much more. But if you're like me and would rather relax on your chair with a good book, in the sun all day, fear not, you will not be bothered by the activities. Plus there are severs that work the pool and beach areas if you desire a drink as you soak in that sun.
The overall environment is pretty relaxed. The majority is couples and groups aging in their 40s-60s. Do not come here if you want to party or be obnoxious. The guest are usually kind but you would feel very out of place. The town is safe and offers boutiques and markets if you get the inclination to meaner.

Room Tip: I've been here twice and had different rooms each time. The presidential suite offers the best views of the ocean (3 balconies) but only has 1 king size bed and not very exuberant amenities. The junior suite offers 2 balconies a king size bed and a day bed. If you get a junior suite, make sure you get a room on the 15th floor or higher as trees may be in your view of the ocean. Also, if you get a junior suite, get a room facing the south east corner. The ocean view in rooms facing south west are partially blocked from the next door resort.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Ashley F,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of us on TripAdvisor, we value your time and opinion.

It is very nice to know that you enjoy your time and that you felt pleased with the service that we provided. Our main goal is to fulfill our guests expectations since we are a company that is fully committed to provide a quality service in a charm and relax atmosphere.

For us it would be an honor to give you a warm welcome back to this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

March 2014 via Air Canada: Excellent food, wonderful staff, especially Freddy the bellman, great rooms, perfect vacation if sleep is not all that important. We paid extra for a sea view, which was a mistake, since it overlooked the sparsely-attended "entertainment". Problem: The emcee loved the sound of his voice, turned up his voice mike much louder than the music, and preferred long speeches rather than entertainment. Only discourteous staff were bicycle staff: One took one look at my 70 year old body and suggested I would not fit it. I had cycled 80 km two days prior to arrival and sometimes do 100+km on a ride. We rented great bikes across the street in Ixtapa.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't let you escape the noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Deear James S ,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa staff and my own I would like to thank you so much for your time and review on TripAdvisor.

It is nice to read that you had a good time even if there were some drawbacks of which I apologize and please be completely sure that we will take care of them, our compromise is to provide an excellent service and care about the needs and requirements of our guests in order to make their stay completely comfortable.

hopefully you will give us the opportunity to have you back soon and assist you as you deserve at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews