We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit just as great as the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second visit just as great as the first!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is the first time we have returned to any Mexican resort. The Sunscape in Ixtapa impressed us on our vacation last year, and when it came time to escape the cold and snow again, we went with what we knew would be a great week! It was hot, hot, hot this year! 32˚ to 38˚, blue skies everyday.

Many of the staff remembered us from last year when we arrived and Yuri at the Kids' Explorer Club had a big welcoming hug for our daughter as soon as she walked through the door. If you're travelling with kids under 12, then this resort is fabulous. They have programs running from 10AM through to 9:30PM and will even take the kids out for dinner. Yuri, Lilianna and Karen are wonderful with the kids; they make lots of crafts, take them for games in the pool, play outdoor games in the evening; and retreat to air conditioned coolness in the extreme heat of the afternoon.

The elevators worked fine the week we stayed - and they even had a staff members posted for 12 hours a day in the elevators to make sure everything was working fine. I can't imagine spending a 12 hour shift inside an elevator - but kudos to the young man that was there! He was pleasant from the start of his shift right to the end.

We enjoyed the bar drinks and restaurants.We prefer to not go to the buffet, and ate at the Oceana, Gohan and Bluewater Grill restaurants. The food is generally good - however, more steaks on the menu would be preferred.

The rooms are kept spotless. This year they've added eggshell crate foams to the hard mattresses. They are still quite hard to sleep on - but passable. My suggestion for upgrades at this hotel are new mattresses throughout!

Looking for a massage? Head down the beach to the huts located a 10 minute walk to your right. Charlie in hut number 5 (green posters) was incredible. Definitely worth $20.

We also went on a 3 hour fishing excursion and had lots of action (tuna fish). We only wanted a short morning trip so we shared with another couple from the resort and it cost $150 total. We booked directly with Maximo at the Zihua pier.

The snorkelling at Playa Las Gatas is great too. Take a taxi to the pier and then a water taxi to Playa Las Gatas. (Taxi trip is 180 pesos return and the water taxi is 40 pesos per person). Once there if you didn't bring snorkelling equipment, you can rent 2 sets for 70 pesos). Beware of the Mexican prices and the "tourist" prices on the menus though. We stopped at the first restaurant beside the snorkelling rental place, and when we added up what we ordered off the menu (180 pesos worth - the owner told us no, we owed 230 pesos). Therefore, no tip for him!!

Overall, we love Ixtapa. It's clean, safe, small, the beach is great to walk along, and the people are great. We will be back again!

Room Tip: Definitely get a partial or deluxe ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Kari W,

First of all i would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of us on TripAdvisor. Your time and opinion are very valuable to us.

It is always nice to read that our repeated guests feel even better that the firts time when they are back, we get very excited to see that they have chosen Ixtapa and Sunscape for a second, third or more that a fourth time to spend their vacation for us is a clear sign that our warmth and efficiency make them come back and live one more time the sunscape experience.

it would be an honor to have you back in the not too distant future at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    762
    274
    104
    78
See reviews for
783
762
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We were told that this place had just become an all inclusive in the past couple years, thus the title.it seems that this place was not mean to be a A.I. Hotel , however they are doing pretty well.
Rooms are nice, our bed was Rock Hard...but sometimes that is not a bad thing..toughen you up!! The mini bar was always stocked with beer , pop, etc...all good
The workers in the ala carte restaurants were fine, but so many mistakes were made with orders,however it really wasn't a bad thing as all the food was good...so maybe the waiters ar just learning, takes time to perfect.I am on holidays so when someone is bringing me good food , rightor wrong..I am not going to complain
breakfasts were good, always had a fresh supply of my favorite vegetable..bacon!!!
The buffets could have had a better , greater selection of salads
Booze was not good,any of it ...whiskey, vodka, beer etc we like a shot of baileys at night or in our coffee...good luck..hit and miss.. We are in Mexico ,,!, we like a good shot of sipping tequila.... Good luck, cheapest rot gut stuff...ughhh
Here's a tip for booze which I wish we would have had learned about earlier in our trip...across the street is a liquor store , go buy your favorite booze, cheap and drink it at the hotel, we spent over 4 g Canadian for our trip, should have spent another 100 bucks fo top shelf tequila and beer etc, would have lasted the trip fo sure...
Elevators not a big deal when we were there... They are glass , so make sure you are well ..ahemmm! Dressed from the bottom side when u ride the elevators...
Beach is wonderful!! All in all a great trip




Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear John S ,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor, we value your time and opinion.

It is always nice to read that our guests enjoyed our facilities during their stay as you did even if there were some things that you did not feel entirely happy about, which by the way I would like to let you know that I will share them with all the areas involved in order to make the necessary improvements.

It would be an honor to have you back in the not too distant future at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince albert sk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is our 2nd time to the sunscape and will definitely come back. Michelle checked us in and we felt like VIPs. The staff is extremely helpful and go out of their way to ensure your holiday is great. Ixtapa and zihua are easy to get around and felt very safe. Went to ixtapa island to snorkel and had a fun time.

Rooms are comfortable. We were on the 20th floor overlooking the main garden. The food was probably the best we have ever had at an all inclusive. No reservations required at a la cartes.

No towel cards , no wristbands which we liked.

We are here right now enjoying our last week. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: You want ocean view overlooking the pool and main garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear KarRic,

I would like to start my response by thanking you so much for giving us the opinion of your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is very rewarding to read that our staff made your vacation great and comfortable by helping in a timely and satisfactory manner as it is to know tat you enjoyed Ixtapa and its surroundings.

It would be an honor to have you back at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here with our two teenage sons, 18 and 15, mid February. Overall, the hotel[ its not a resort] was a little dated. Its location is ideal. Its difficult to get beach or pool chairs, so be warned. The crowd was equal parts Canadians and Americans, with a few locals as well. Its an older crowd at the resort, with foreign guests mostly older than 55; very few children or teenagers.

Food was good, not great. Al a carte meal service was slow, and the meals were frequently over seasoned. The main buffet had good selection, but not great again. Its physical set up sometimes led to long lines or crowded, bunched patrons. Our sons made liberal use of room service, which they reported was good. Lobby coffee bar is excellent

All service was excellent, in the restaurants, bars, rooms and front desk.

The elevators always broke down; it became a running joke with the passengers every time you got in whether they would work. Got stuck twice, but only briefly. Took the stairs lots, which worked off the cerveza.

Weather was fantastic, 30 every day. Beach is wide. Water is safe to play in, as the surf only occasionally gets large enough for concern. Keep an eye out and you will be fine.

Not a ton of activities in the Ixtapa area. We took a cab/water taxi to Isla Ixtapa. Good snorkelling. I would recommend a day trip out to the island. Stop and look at the crocs before you get on the water taxi.

Frequently, the pool and lobby bar would not have non-Mexican alcohol such as Bacardi or Absolute, which was odd. House wine is Chilean and is drinkable.

A 5 minute walk north on the beach leads to several massage huts, and 1 hour, 200 peso massages;great value.

In summary, a good hotel. If you are used to the resort experience Mexico offers in the Mayan, PV or Cabo, this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parliefferschuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear parliefferschuk ,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa staff and my own, I would like to thank you so much for the time that you took to write a review of us on TripAdvisor.

Your opinion is very important to us as it helps us to identify the areas that need special attention and where we have to make improvements and work harder.
It is nice to know that even if you struggle with some things you enjoyed our resort and services.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa and assist you as you deserve.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

we were supossed to get a king bed instead we got 2 full finally switched rooms on 3rd night beds are really hard, need new lobby furniture, bars need to be supplied better w good booze staff was excelant they made up for the down falls of the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Bernie V,

Thank you so much for giving us your comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your time and opinion.

It is sad to know that you didn't enjoy at all your vacation with us. We will share all your comments with the areas tat are involved in order to make the necessary adjustments to provide a better service and fulfill the expectations from all of our guests.

we would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again and try to change the impression that you had from this trip and our resort.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our first time at the Sunscape Dorado in Ixtapa; have stayed previously at the Fontan and the Barceló. Every hotel has it's good qualities and each hotel is different in many ways. We loved the Sunscape!! From the moment we got off the bus to the departure time, there wasn't one thing that wasn't perfect. The staff are incredible; the restaurants are excellent; the pool areas are very nice, and of course, the beach area is incredible. The evening shows were quite good also. The only complaint I would have is that people seem to get up so early to 'save' pool chairs. But I guess that goes with the territory when the hotel is good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Dianne F,

To me it is always a pleasure to read comments from guests on TripAdvisor, I personally appreciate so much the time that you have taken to write your comments and share them with us and the community.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed our property and services. As for the comment of the pool saving chairs situation, we know that it is causing an issue among our guests, that is why we have now a Pool Concierge who is in charge of organize and control the pool area to make our guests be comfortable and have a nice spot to spend the day.

We would love welcome you back in the near future at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We had great time at this hotel. Service is really great. Hotel personel is very kind and service oriented. Food is very good. Everything was perfect. We will dfinitely come back. Thank you very much.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vahe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Vahe A ,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa staff and my own, I would like to thank you so much for your nice comments on TripAdvisor. We value your time and opinion.

Our biggest commitment is to provide a quality service with a warm and nice attitude every day to make our guests leave the property with happy faces and great memories.

We would love to welcome you back in the not too distant future to this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
2.8 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Property: Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n | Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing