We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Choice for Ixtapa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
British Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great Choice for Ixtapa”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel is well situated in the centre of the beautiful beach. The food was very good and well presented. It seems to have improved since we were there last year. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was nice, and our waiter, Gersain, was exceptional - the best!

If I have one complaint, it's with the elevators. Feels like you're playing Russian Roulette every time you get in one - will you get locked in between floors and need to be rescued or will the door close on you as you're trying to get in - have them fixed already! The problem with the elevators has been going on for over a year at least, as there were issues when we were there last year also.

Room Tip: The music gets very loud at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear jaade ,

On behalf of Sunscape Ixtapa staff and y own I would like to thank you for taking the to write your comments about us on TripAdvisor.

I really like listening that you enjoy your stay, and that our staff fulfilled your expectations, friendly and efficient service is one of our philosophies, that is why I really like knowing that you enjoyed the service that you received.

As for the comment of the elevators issue, I would like to let you know that we are working very hard to optimize its service so that our guests can enjoy their stay one hundred percent.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    761
    274
    104
    77
See reviews for
782
762
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, very comfortable and relaxing for a vacation. Ixtapa is a beautiful location. Overall, a great hotel. One caveat: the maintenance on the elevators is hit or miss. I got stuck in one of the elevators and none of the buttons worked - had to pound on the doors to get someone's attention, from then on, I took the stairs. So, if you don't like elevators or can't take the stairs, they are the downside to this resort.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear B D,

On behalf of all my staff and my own I would like to let you know that I am infinitely grateful that you took the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor.

Your comments are of great importance to us and we thank you for letting us know your experience during your stay.
about elevators, rest assure that we are working to optimize its function.

Finally i wouId like to say goodbye sending you a warm greeting and hoping to have the opportunity to receive you again at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Madison, IA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The entire staff was wonderful and the resort itself was beautiful. The wait and bar staff were very well trained and attentive. We had a very relaxing vacation and enjoyed the week on the beach, sometimes under a thatch roof hut, sometimes in direct sunlight and other times in or around the pool. We only had a couple of complaints to warn future guests. The beds are extremely firm. The mattresses are old and are on a cement slab with an egg carton topper. So sleeping at night was restless. But no worries. We took a nap on the beach. :) Also, it was always 1 1/2-2 hour wait to get in the specialty restaurants. The buffet was excellent every night (and breakfast) so it didn't bother us to go there. I would recommend this resort and would return again. It was small enough to find your way around, yet had all the options of bigger ones.

Room Tip: The upgrade to oceanview is well worth it. The view is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fowlerFt_Madison_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear fowlerFt_Madison_IA,

thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your positive comments on TripAdvisor.
It is so nice to know that you enjoyed our property despite the inconvinients that you mentioned in your review.
Our biggest commitment is to accomplish our guest's expectations, that is why we are very interested in every detail of what you experienced during your stay. Rest assure that we will work on those details in order to improve our service and hospitality.

Finally I would like to let you know that we would love to see you back soon at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Warmest Regards.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

In the dozen plus times we have visited Mexico,this was the best example of their wonderful hospitality. Consistent friendly and helpful staff throughout the entire resort. We have stayed at the very high end all inclusive places a few times and they do not come close to the overall quality and care this staff gives. The property, pool, beach, restaurants, and rooms are very well kept. Ok, so the elevators were not always all running and the bed was hard. As someone that can be a bit of a resort critic, I will break my exception and go back to this resort twice. The town itself is also one of the friendliest I've experienced in Mexico. Just visit the General's bar and see for yourself. He is as warm and welcoming as it gets.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Jen S,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your expercience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you felt pampered and well attended during your stay, and also it is nice to know that you enjoy Ixtapa and and its surroundings. Our staff it's commited to provide a warm and attentive service just like you described it, that is one of our main goals.

We would love to have the oportunity to assist you again at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have gone to your resort now 2 times for new years. Last new years we invited my mom and sister and they had a blast too. The staff is awesome and they treated us like family. Food and drinks were good. The best thing about your resort is the way my kids are treated there. I personally spoke to Blanca Vasquez and told her that we have gone to other countries at more expensive resorts but the kids care has never been better than Sunscape! Muchas gracias a Carmen, Yuri, Ursula, y Lili! Mi mama les envios unas regalos. Also a big thanks to carlos, himer, alberto, blanca, Jorge, Fernando, Javier, martin, Daniel, fredy, don francis, and the lists goes on. My mom mailed the entertainment team some Canada t shirts. Blanca please email me when u get them? maupao@shaw.ca Muchas gracias por todo hermanos! Mauricio Ulloa

Room Tip: facing the beach and about 14 to 16 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauricio u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Mauricio u,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa staff and my own, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of us on TripAdvisor.

It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your time at the resort, and also, it is so nice to know that you made new friends here, please be completely sure that I will share this review with them.

We work hard every day to achieve our guest's fully satisfaction, and comments like yours make us think that we are on the right path, and we will continue working hard every day to be better.

We would love to have you back in the near future at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Kindest Regards from Suny Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is hands down in the top 3 on the beach if not #1. Service was exceptional and the staff go out of their way to meet your needs. Food was good, especially the Italian. Ive stayed at other all inclusives and you have to make reservations and are sometimes limited to visists. Here you just decide what you'd like to eat that evening and walk in, that simple. I was surprised to see no line ups and no wait time on any restaurant. They don't give huge portions but it is actually a nice thing as we all tend to over eat on vacation anyway. If you want more, order more dishes off the menu, they do not care... Great beach, we got up at 6:30 every day and went down for front row seating, wouldn't have it any other way. Very clean and comfortable rooms. As for the elevator issue you read about on these threads, people blow it way out of proportion. This hotel is not that large, the wait times are not that long. Yes a couple elevators did not work from day to day but there are 4 of them people! Walk 10 feet and use the next one. Absolutely unwarranted complaint. I would and will go back again. We were ther during New Years, and wow... what a party they put on. Good times.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear dclass ,

Thank you so much for your nice review of us on TripAdvisor, your comments are very important to us, as it is that your vacation time was excellent.

Everyday we work hard to make our guests stay enjoyable and fun, that is one of our main goals, and it is nice to know that we are achieving it by hearing such positive comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoy the hotel and the destination.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús Garcia.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Actually sitting in the Italian restaurant ask I am typing this. The vacation so far has been acceptable yet the dinning been horrible (very limited options even there are multiple restaurants) Tonight we have waited for over 2hrs to get into the restaurant then another 15min before anyone even acknowledged we had been seated. We did notice that there are 2 lists so can state that even though you get in the list less than 30min after the opening of the restaurant it is not first come first serve. Overall the hotel is ok. Not the best we have been at but what can you expect for paying only $3000 for the 2 of us (note the sarcasm). Not impressed and will definitely not be returning or recommending this hotel (not a resort) to family and friends. Might need to eat off property for the next 4days. Also the other reviews mention the issue with the elevators, they are correct and we have been one of the lucky 200 or so today.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Nlet,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated because they help us to improve our service, specially in the Italian restaurant where you had a major issue. Rest assured that we are already working on this case.

I am extremely sorry that I did not have the honor to meet you but I was not at the property while you were there, otherwise I would have liked to talk to you about this situation and make it up to you.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
689 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
1,740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
2.8 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Property: Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n | Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing