We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new favorite place in mexico” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our new favorite place in mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed one week Jan 9-16/14,and wishing for more.Staff super friendly & helpful ,food good,resort & rooms spotless.The beach was uncrowded,very few venders,water warm,swam in ocean every day.Went fishing with captain Able on Gran Jeff & caught trophy 9' sailfish,along with 2 large dorado,very professional operation & lots of fun.We are planning to return in 2015 for 2 weeks.highly recommend sunscape dorado & fishing with Gran Jeff

Room Tip: Reserve deluxe ocean view room,views fantastic.we were on disco side and was a little loud on Saturd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear David T,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Staff and my own, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of us on TripAdvisor.

Your opinion is very important to us, that is why we appreciate the time you took to write your comments and let us know about your experience.

It is nice to know, that you enjoy our property and destination, we hope that you could come back soon at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    729
    265
    104
    77
See reviews for
761
728
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have stayed at the Sunscape for 2 weeks.Had a great time.Enjoy the entertainment every day.
Staff is excellent...all of them,,,housekeeping great,Coco Coffee lady makes awesome lattes and have a great smile.Restaurant staff excellent.
Rooms are beautiful and a view breathtaking.We stayed in room 1812 and were very happy.
Food -we were happy with all the restaurants.
Beach area wonderful...like it better then Waikiki in Hawaii.
We were looked after by by Sun wing representative Rodrigo-very knowledge and big help.Awesome!!!
Nothing to complaint.
Great place to spend holidays.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear elizabeth s,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a very nice comment of us on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. I would like to take advantage of this opportunity to thank you for choosing Ixtapa Zihuatanejo and specially our property to spend your vacation, we really wish to have you once again at this your home away from home, Sunscape Dorado Pacífico.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Dorado Sunscape is an excellent hotel. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly and quite attentive. Food was good and nice variety of choices. Pool was clean and has a nice swim up bar. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaSue68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear EmmaSue68,

Thank you so much for your nice review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your comments and we thank your for recommending us.
Everyday we work hard to have satisfied guests and make they stay comfortable and pleasant, and it is nice to know that we achieved one of our main goals with you.

We really hope that we can welcome you one more time and have the opportunity to assist you again, at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús Garcia.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Level Contributor
249 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We just returned from Ixtapa, after staying here for a week. We vacationed with our friends, who have spent quite a few weeks in the Riviera Maya area. They are convinced the January weather is much better here. Blue skies and high 80's every day! We never wore the light sweaters we took along. We had the deluxe ocean view rooms and they were very nice--just a great view. We walked the beach every day and it was wonderful. I was pleased that the complimentary WIFI worked quite well for me. The Oceana, Bluewater Grill and Da Mario restaurants were excellent. The buffet breakfasts were quite good with variety every day. We were impressed by how hard the staff worked in every area to keep us happy.

We were disappointed that beach chairs were hard to get. Elevators did not work real well. Having fans in the rooms might be helpful, because with the hot sun, it was hard to keep an even temperature. Avoid the "steak and wine" dinner and we wish the kebabs had been prepared before we arrived at the "kebab festival" lunch--they never got cooked to the point we could trust eating them.

Above all, if you have booked with Apple Vacations, do not fall for the "required" meeting the night you arrive. It turns out to be a pressured sales pitch for their version of timeshares. Also, do not fall for the $200 coupon promotion. You are given coupons that will partially apply to wine, massages or dinners. You cannot use them as you wish.

Room Tip: If you want to have a good beach/pool chair, you must get to the beach/pool area around 6 a.m. with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank klutzWestBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear klutzWestBend,

I would like to start by thanking you for the recognition on the hard work from our staff, and also for taking the time and give us your opinion about our resort and your experience here in Ixtapa.

It is nice to know that despite the drawbacks of the elevators and the beach chairs you had such a good time, we are working on those details to make all our guests stay comfortable and pleased.

We would love to have you back soon in the near future at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 1 week all-inclusive to Ixtapa Sunscape. We had booked a deluxe ocean view with a king bed and our first room was a non-ocean view with 2 doubles. After some discussion we were moved to a deluxe ocean view room. We went to the room happy...and then found out it was 2 double beds again. Apparently, 65% of the hotel is double beds, so there is a high chance of NOT getting a king. We stayed one night in the double room but the next day went to the manager and asked for a king ocean view. We were first told that there was nothing. After another discussion we we're told to give him 20 minutes. 45 min later we received a call that they had a king bed on the top floor with a gorgeous view. We took it and when we got there were stunned with the view. It was EXACTLY as we wanted!! Finally we were completely happy. We relaxed and started enjoying our vacation more. The staff are EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT! Marcello was our favourite restaurant waiter and he went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of. Daniel was another waiter at the disco who made sure we were having the time of our lives and that our drinks didn't run dry. These two made our stay extra special and we are truly thankful! Our housekeeper Maritza was great. The room was always cleaned at a decent time and on our last night she made us a swan with rose petals...a very special touch. The food at the buffet was hit and miss; like most buffets are. The a la cartes were good. We were always pleased except for one meal at the Bluewater one evening that was horrible. Poor service, long wait, and then horrible food. It turned us off of that restaurant, but the others were good. We really enjoyed the Italian restaurant, and it helped that we also had the most excellent waiter (Marcello). The beach here is beautiful! You cannot get a better location. If you are a beach person, you will LOVE it. You can walk for miles. The pools are great too. Nice and clean and a decent temperature. The only other complaint I have is the elevators. They are very slow and unreliable. In fact, during our stay, one elevator stopped working and then fell. Yes, it fell...I'm not sure how many floors (rumour was a "few") and there was a lady in it who was obviously shook up from the event and we heard they were assessing her arm (rumour was she broke it) but I am not sure the complete truth to the injuries. Regardless, after we heard of one of the elevators falling we were hesitant to get on them, but being on the 21st floor we didn't have much choice. All in all, it was a great trip. If we return it would be because of the excellent service we received from the staff...but I would hope they get new elevators!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank sarahlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear sarahlayne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s feedback in order for us to improve our service levels and maintain those who make us proud of in order to fulfill our guest’s expectations.

We are glad to know that you’ve enjoy the new location and view of your suite. It is always a pleasure for us to assist our guests in situation like this when availability permits us to. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff service; please be certain that Marcelo, Maritza and Daniel will receive your compliments and we thank you on their behalf.

We have taken note on your feedback on our highs and lows and review this with our Management. As we’ve mentioned your comments are very valuable to us.

In regards to the incident, we want to clarify that gladly we’ve not reported any incident where guests have become injured when using our elevators. We thank you for your concern and it is a pleasure to clarify this matter.

We hope to have you back in the near future at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Warm regards from sunny Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo.

Sincerely,
Jesús Garcia.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Overall this resort is good, friendly staff and clean. The food was good except our last night. My boyfriend sent back his tuna dinner as it wasn't right. Within hours he was extremely I'll. Upon complaining to the staff we got a generic email stating it likely wasn't their food. Funnily enough I spoke to another guest that morning who had the same problem and had also ordered the tuna. We watched a sea turtle come up on the beach to lay her eggs and the resort staff didn't discourage the guests from harassing her so she left without laying them which is too bad as they are on the endangered list. Overall the resort was good but the few issues we had seemed to go in cared about. I tapa itself and surrounding area are beautiful. I'd highly recommend visiting the area. As for the resort, I won't stay their again, like others complaints, the staff does nothing to stop people from claiming a spot by the pool or beach without returning to actually use it till late afternoon. It has great potential and hopefully the management looks after the few problems to make it a top notch resort.

Room Tip: Floor 15 and higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, Director General at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear jessica d,

first, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your vacation with us.
I would like also, to offer you an apology on behalf of the Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa staff and my own, for the incidents that occurred during your visit, these will be shared with the areas involved and take all necessary measures to solve them and prevent them from happening again .

I hope you can give us another chance in the future and allow us to give you the services and attention that you deserve, if so, we will be happily waiting for your visit at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We just returned from our second trip to Ixtapa. I must say that Ixtapa/Zihuantanejo is starting to grow on me and I liked it even more the second time. We stayed at the Park Royal two years ago and decided to try the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico this year. The Park Royal was fine, but the Sunscape was definitely better. The resort is meticulously clean and the staff is AWESOME! Especially the wait staff on the beach, please tip them well because they work so hard and they all deserve it. I'd say that the food at the Sunscape was better than average. They do have some weird dress code rules for the men; they have to wear shirts with sleeves in the restaurants, so pack a couple of decent t-shirts and short sleeved button up shirts with a collar. Women are able to wear a cover up or tank top over their suit. If you know in advance throwing a t-shirt in your beach bag is really no big deal. The only problem that we encountered at this hotel was trying to get a couple of chairs in the shade on the beach. The resort needs to add some more chairs and palapas to the beach area, but in all fairness to the resort some of the guests are just plain inconsiderate! They come down at the crack of dawn, save chairs, and then leave for the majority of the day and the chairs sit empty. People should just come when they plan to be there and vacate when they are done. When you return from your excursion or activity someone will undoubtedly have had enough sun and will have left, freeing up chairs. If everyone played by those rules I think that everyone would be a lot happier. Who wants to get up at the crack of dawn on vacation, not me! We rode the bus into Zihuantanejo, only 9 pesos each way, and it very safe and clean and it's fun to watch all of the people going about their day. In fact, the area in general is very safe and we've never encountered any problems or felt unsafe and the people are so friendly and happy. Make sure that you get off of the resort and enjoy some of the restaurants across the street and in Zihu. We really liked Emilio's Pizza and The Blue Shrimp in Ixtapa and Casa Arcadia on the beach in Zihu. I've already got a list of other restaurants that we want to try on our next visit. We really love the area and met some fabulous people on this trip. We definitely plan to go back to Ixtapa and hopefully to the Sunscape. Feel free to Msg me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank timetovacation45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear timetovacation45,


We want to thank you for taking a couple of minutes of your time to write a really nice review on TripAdvisor and give the opportunity to other people know our property through your experience. Thank you very much; it is very rewarding for us.

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation at our resort and know that you are considering visit us once again in the future, which make us happier, we would do everything possible to provide you the best service and accommodation.

We are looking forward to have you back at this your home away from home, Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
2.8 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Property: Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n | Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing