We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Poolside Experience Left Us Frustrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Brodhead, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Poolside Experience Left Us Frustrated”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We received the best customer service from every single employee we encountered the week of 3/9/13 to 3/16/13. Customer service is very important to us and we were so thankful for the consistent above and beyond service we received. We especially enjoyed Syrie (?spelling?) in the CoCo Café, Simon who always had a smile on his face in the swim up bar area and Antonio who provided superior poolside service. Antonio was always hustling trying to keep people hydrated. We very much enjoyed the food at Sunscape. We did not eat at the sit down restaurants at night because we were usually still full from our lunch at the Blue Water Grill. The Chef Salad at the Blue Water Grill was awesome and my husband loved the fish with mushroom sauce. Even with those positives we will not be returning to the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico. The poolside and beach chaise/chair situation was so frustrating!!! It created such a tense and negative environment for guests. Some people were outwardly upset and directed their frustration toward other guests because they didn’t get the same chairs as the day before, didn’t get a chair at all or they didn’t get a table or umbrella. There are not enough chaise lounge/chairs by the pool or on the beach nor do they have room to add additional chairs. You practically were sitting on top of each other as it is. I do recognize they asked us for our room number in the morning to document which seats we were using. Beyond that there was no validation if the chairs that were saved were used or not. It was evident that some of the chairs saved with towels were empty the first 3-4 hours of the morning if used at all. Since Sunscape became an all-inclusive resort, people are sticking around to eat/drink more than when it was not all-inclusive. My husband went down to the pool each day at 6:45 am so he was there for 7:00 am when he could get us two chairs. It was amazing how many chairs were saved. One day my husband couldn’t sleep so he went for a walk about 5:15 am. He was shocked at the number of chairs that were saved already. We relaxed by the side of the pool the night before until 10:30 pm. There were no chairs saved when we went back to the room so when are people saving these chairs. Not a great situation and it pits one guest against another and not our idea of a relaxing vacation. We will; however, return to Ixtapa. It was our first trip and we felt very safe. The Sunscape Dorado Pacifico is blessed to have such caring, kind and dedicated employees. They were amazing. We found a great sports bar, The Generals. The Generals was very clean and the food was exceptional. We enjoyed shrimp and lobster pizza one visit and the shrimp and lobster tacos the second visit. Both meals arrived timely, the temperature of the food was warm and the quality of food was tasty. We went back a third time to drink some cold beers and watch the Wisconsin Badgers basketball game. There were so many TVs to choose from we had no problems seeing the game. We especially appreciate the service we received by Freddy, Noah and the General.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpicedogDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    774
    280
    104
    81
See reviews for
838
785
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

You can not go wrong staying at this hotel. The staff are very friendly, the food was very good, the room was great, the pool area is very nice, and the beach is clean and wide. The only area of improvement would be that it's difficult to get deck lounge chairs if you're not up early, especially if you want a few chairs together. Other than that I'd give this property 5 stars. I would for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe if you wanted to get an ocean view room you could pay the little extra for that. But I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ont
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were at this resort from March 9 to 16, 2013. Front and centre are the great staff. They make this resort what it is. The food is great, the premises are spotless. Even the shower water pressure is above average!
This is the only resort that I can recall visiting that has Adirondack style chairs on the beach. My suggestion would be to do away with these and replace them with more reclining lounge chairs.
The wifi leaves something to be desired. We found it to be intermittent and with the location of our room we could not obtain a signal unless we were on the balcony.
Lastly, we attended an orientation meeting with a representative of our tour company on the second day of our stay. Before the meeting was complete, a representative of the hotel arrived and we were encouraged to attend a 90 minute meeting about their vacation club. To sweeten the deal, we were offered $100 cash to attend. We declined but I resented having to listen to this additional pitch. Later on in the week, we were approached again, but this time the "presentation" would only take 20 minutes. We declined again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we stayed march 1-8th.the weather was wonderful.beautiful,newly updated property.we usually stayed at RIU properties,and this place put them to shame.the rooms were so nice and bright,furniture all over was modern and pleasant.food was good.normally i get a bit gaggy after a few days from the smells,but i did not get that here.the best bartender was george in the lobby bar.lots of of fun.most bartenders liked to have fun here.some have a language barrier,although there is someone else right away if they don't understand.we went across the street to 'franchescas' italian for pizza.AWFUL,FILTHY,YUCH.don't go there!we were told to go to 'mario's,but it was noon-ish and was closed.we did have a great meal at the 'blue shrimp'.shrimp wrapped lobster.yum!
we have been to ixtapa b4,and this was our fav property.have fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twocats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have - literally - just landed after spending a week at the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico and I did not want to waste a moment waiting to sing the praises of this resort. From the second we arrived to a warm welcome from the front end staff and bellboys the tone was set for excellent service.

The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, the maids were never later than 11 am every day, providing a fully stocked mini bar from beer to soft drinks. The hotel had several restaurants all providing a great variety of choices from lobster in the Oceania to Italian with full silver service and the casual Bluewater Grill. If you want it, room service is available 24/7.

The staff are lovely and seem to genuinely want to please and impress their guests. We did not have nor hear of a single negative experience the week we were there.

We are pretty sophisticated travelers taking several trips a year to different locations throughout the world and we were so impressed with the quality of the Dorado we will definitely be returning with friends and family very shortly.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet but partial view gives a limited view of the ocean. However rooms are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShazM_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We just returned from a week stay at the Sunscape with a group of about 40 people. What a great trip. The place was great. We couldn't have asked for better service. We have gone as a group to many different all inclusives and I think this one was the best so far. It is very hard to please everybody, but this place did. Many fine restaurants and great bars. All staff were very nice and couldn't do enough to please us. We walked down town, which was only a couple blocks from the resort and felt very safe. The only thing that I feel they could improve in is that they should have stairs that we could use instead of the elevators. I don't feel comfortable in elevators and these elevators were not dependable. The doors didn't always open and they would sometimes go all the way up and then come back down to the lobby. The only staircase they had was for emergencies, which I used a couple times, but don't think I was supposed to. Other than that, our experience was great.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean side, but the higher up you are, the better view you have
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiebohman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our 3rd time visiting Mexico. 1st visit was excellent, 2nd visit sucked and this last time was great!
This resort was very clean from the minute you stepped foot on the resort.
Staff could not have been any nicer or more accommodating.
The food was great and you were never without a drink.
I got a massage on the beach (Ana). First massage ever and it was great. Off the bucket list!
Great thing about this resort...no wrist bands and no need to make reservations!
I would HIGHLY recommend eating at the Italian Restaraunt. Excellent!
If I was to say anything negative....it would be the pool chair situation. Yes, there is a "no reserving seat" policy. BUT, let's face it, people reserve seats. It happens at every single resort. So, you either rise early and get a seat, or you hangout on the island by the swimup bar. Famous saying is "Early bird gets the worm". Either way, your going to have somewhere to sit and your going to hang out with great people! Of couse, unless your from Seattle, WA. Those people are so used to walking with their heads down, they don't know how to socialize or turn a negative into a positive!
Shopping is close and there's excellent restaraunts (The General's Sports Bar & Restaurant, and the Blue Shrimp).
If your going to spend all your time in your bed, ordering room service, or anything but enjoying what's right outside your door....then you shouldn't be coming to Mexico to vacation.
I would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillieJo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Royal Ixtapa
Park Royal Ixtapa
#13 of 22 in Ixtapa
865 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Property: Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n | Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing