We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort with some pros & cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great resort with some pros & cons”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We just got home from seven wonderful days (Mar 21 to Mar 28) at the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico in Ixtapa. Of course there are pros and cons with every hotel, this being no exception.

Pros:
We were greeted at the airport by Jorge (WestJet rep) Great personality with a charming personality. (Note: Go straight outstide and look for your hotel rep and bus or you will get bombarded by time share sales people! ) The bus ride was approximately 30 minutes and there was cold beer available for $3.00 on the bus.

The arrival at the hotel went very smooth. We were greeted with a cold cocktail and a warm washcloth to wipe and refresh our hand and faces. Check in took only a few moments and we were up to our room. We requested a full ocean view with a king size bed however we were initially given a partial ocean view and two doubles. A call to the front desk and within minutes there was a gentleman at the door and taking us to a different room. Can’t complain about that service! Although another couple on our plane didn’t get the same quick service that we got and it was three sleepless nights before they were switched. (the first room I believe ends in 7 is very noisy with the service elevator next to it)

The room was very nice. The bed was quite firm, however, considering the mattress is literally on a concrete base, it wasn’t as bad as I first thought when we sat on it. The décor of the room is tasteful, simple & very clean. We were in a room number ending in 10 which gave a fairly good view of the grounds and ocean. Overall the décor of the hotel was quite modern and very nice and apparently was recently renovated. The grounds are very well maintained and clean.(Could use some flowers…) Washrooms were constantly being cleaned, however the one set of washrooms by the kids pool were under maintenance but it didn’t seem to pose too much of a problem with the shortage of washrooms.

The one buffet was very nice with typical Mexican buffet type food. The buffet is only open for breakfast and the occasionally for lunch. Otherwise you can eat at one of the many al-la-carts. We really never had a bad meal there except the Mexican Fiesta night the buffet was just barely okay. Contrary what some reviews said, we had an amazing dinner and the service was fantastic at the Italian restaurant. Get there early (around 7:00) or you may have to wait a long time. This is an adult only restaurant and men must wear a collared shirt and long pants while women can wear anything except a swim suit. Kind of a double standard but those are the rules.

I didn’t use the spa (very expensive) but I wandered around it and it was very beautiful. The gym seemed very good with very modern equipment too and felt air conditioned. (Unfortunately I don’t go to Mexico to work out!)

The entertainment was okay. They didn’t have shows every night, but the few we saw very pretty good with elaborate costumes. The daytime pool staff was very entertaining as well.

Cons:
Those time share people in the hotel will drive you insane. Ignore them and stand your ground and show no interest in them or the will not leave you alone.

The beach is fantastic, but the waves are very high. Swimming in the ocean is only for the experienced and for most of the trip the black or red flags were flying. You could play around in the ocean but the waves can easily catch you off guard and toss you around. Believe it or not we did get a brief glimpse of dolphins only once but the constant motor boats pulling parasailers scared them off and never saw them again.

My biggest complaint was this hotel doesn’t use the wrist band policy similar to Dream’s as I believe this hotel is of the same chain. Anyone off the street could come in and they apparently sell day passes to the locals especially on the weekends. This is Mexico and the nationals have every right to stay at this hotel as we do. However, on the weekends this hotel is packed beyond belief! There was not a lounge chair or towel to be had by 9:00. It is disgusting and frustrating that people go out at the crack of dawn and place towels and phony decoys to save a chair. I paid good money to enjoy my vacation and not to have to get up a 6:00 am to grab a chair. A group from Minnesota even went so far to reserve a bunch of chairs in the shade and a bunch in the sun so they could move back and forth! I like the rules of some of the resorts I have been at that one towel per person and you only get a clean one when you return a soiled one. Not here, you can take as many towels as you like and you are not required to return them or be held accountable for them. I think some people left towels on chairs and left the resort to go shopping or move to a different location and too lazy to go back to their original reserved chairs and remove the towel. Finally on our second last day, when the resort wasn’t nearly as busy as the weekend, the staff were monitoring the chairs and if no one claimed it after one hour, then the towel was removed. This is the way it should be. Sure a person should be able to go for lunch and come back to their chairs, however, lunch or breakfast shouldn’t take three or four hours! Unfortunately you are damned if you do and damned if you don’t which is such a shame.

Secondly, although this is not the fault of the hotel, but the guests need to pay closer attention to their children. Excuse me for feeling this way but, the swim up bar and that section of the pool should be for adults only. Why do I need to fend off kids on a flotation device while I’m enjoying the aqua-exercise. It is a very big pool, so I think it’s reasonable that the kids and families should have 2/3’s of the pool and leave that 1/3 to the aduts! If the parents want to sit at the swim up bar all day and have their kids in close proximity then leave the kids at home or go to another section of the pool and have the waiter bring you your drink!

Finally and I’m sure I will get many thumbs down for this, but to my fellow Canadian’s from the Province of Quebec. Can you talk in your little resort voices? Why do some French Canadian’s have to be so loud? It was this reason we quit going to the Myan Riviera side. There was a large group from Quebec here that were clearly getting drunk could be heard through out the entire resort.

Room Tip: Room number ending in 10 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hey-Airdrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    779
    281
    105
    82
See reviews for
878
792
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The all inclusive was pretty nice and fun. Very limited room service menu but good cheeseburgers and cesaer salad. The pool and water slides are great. Beach waves were very rough. The Italian restauarant is the worst in the resort. The Oceana is great. Good location.
Avoid the blue restaurant across the street called Tabasco Ribs like the plague. Margaritas tasted like floor cleaner (and were sent back for warm cans of diet coke), burger was poorly cooked (like raw) and the french fries werent even good. Charged full price for uneaten food. It was one of the more expensive restaurants we went to and we should have left after noticing it was empty and their tortilla chips came from a bag.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2117! Best in the resort!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessica255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We (10 of us - 11 with the baby) just returned from a 9 day stay. Everything went smooth primarily because of the staff. Spoke at length with Mr. Osorio and expressed our satisfaction with the change to all inclusive. He commended his employees for their efforts in making the change a success. And he is correct. The food was great, and the activities ran by Salvatore were well received. Pool side service by Antonio was superb. A special thanks to Yeimy in reservations. That combined with great weather made it a perfect spot for our family. All of us truly were able to relax and enjoy ourselves. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandpenny1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, South Dakota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

HOTEL: The hotel is very nice. however like some of the other reviews be careful when it says partial ocean view. my parents room was mostly blocked by the next hotel over. The mini fridge in the rooms are very nice, and they refil them each day you are there. You can even ask for more water, coke etc from the front desk and they will get it to you quickly. Rooms are kept clean. One thing we had problems with was the shower turning off sometimes or it getting really hot or cold. I would go back for sure as the Hotel is overall very clean and from what i saw of the others, the best on that strip of hotels.
RESTAURANTS: The food was good to very good depending on where you were going. The breakfast was always a buffet and that was good. some of the dishes were on the small side, but with all inclusive you can get as many as you want. Hint, find what you like and stick with it.
ENTERTAINMENT: The shows were pretty good, the dancing seemed like it was the same thing every time but with different costumes. The games and activities played throughout the day were always fun to do, however the timing was a problem many times as they give you a program the night before of the times of each activity, these times usually didnt match up. Making us miss some of the games we were wanting to play. I was told it was and i quote 'Mexican Time' One of the entertainers and game coordinators name is Roberto. I HIGHLY suggest going to any game/activity he is a part of as he makes each of them more fun.
BARS: great bartenders and waiters/waitress(was only 1 when i was there) they were all prompt on drinks and orders. However i did find it frustrating that the manatee(swim up bar) closed at 6pm, while it was still light outside. KEEP IT OPEN LONGER PLEASE! :D
OFFSITE ACTIVITIES: If you go through apple vacations the tour guide will try to get you to buy trips to different areas in ixtapa through him. however you can easily just take a cab to destinations and go from there. its cheaper that way.

OVERALL I HAD A LOT OF FUN DOWN THERE. THE PEOPLE THERE ARE VERY NICE AND LOVE THE TOURISTS

Room Tip: I would choose rooms from 14th floor up and btwn 07 and 20 as these give you the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brittany Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doradoixtapa, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Guest:

First of all on behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Resort and Spa and myself we would like to thank you for your nice comments.

Our main goal is customers satisfaction please assure that your comments will be shared with our co-worker.

It is a pleasure to receive this kind comments like yours because we appreciate very much for taking the time to send it to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family next year in this hotel, your home away from home.

Personal kind regards,

Jesus Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

First of all, anyone who hasn't been to Ixtapa should go - it's amazing. The weather was hot and sunny EVERY DAY - not even a cloud! It's close enough to other things that you can leave the resort, but not so close that you feel like you're not getting away. The sand was soft just like in the Caribbean and the water was warm enough to play in.

This resort recently went All Inclusive (November 2011) and I can say what a great decision. I had read that many were not happy about it as they enjoyed it while it was not AI but we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Then again we like All Inclusive resorts.

The place was immaculately clean and someone was always tidying or cleaning something. Our room was spotless with a great view of the ocean. The hotel ammenities (gym/spa) were also spotless and well maintained.

The food was the BEST part of the trip - the Italian restaurant was our favourite - we went twice. If you are used to Denny's then this won't be for you - but if you enjoy delicious food in reasonable portions then you will enjoy. The food at the resort in general was very very good. The lobby bar had great live music two or three nights we were there. We NEVER had to wait in line for dinner or drinks - contrary to what some reviews stated. However we also went to dinner right at 7pm (since that was 9pm our time) and never once has to wait in line.

The staff and the service were amazing - we never wanted for anything. The staff are friendly and make an effort to make your stay anjoyable.

One drawback was maybe the age of the guests - as we are in our late 30s/early 40s - but the majority of guests were much much older than us. That wasn't really an issue as they went to bed early leaving the younger people to eat and drink and enjoy the resort lol. Also, there was in incredible amount of people who came in just for the weekend stay so everything got much much busier on the weekend. Monday to Thursday we had no problems getting chairs by the pool, but the weekend was a bit harder.

Overall this was probably my favourite trip to Mexico all things combined - and I have been all over Mexico to many resorts. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atrevanseaprobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Okay, the good, the not so good and the bad:
The Good:
The staff is excellent as everyone has said. They go out of their way to help you. Always with a smile on their face.
The hotel is very clean.
Pool is great; clean, warm
Beach is great: clean, warm water but very strong undertow!
Breakfast is/was delicious. Eggs made to order, fresh fruit, mimosas, good coffee etc.
The CoCo cafe was great; the barista there is excellent, friendly and makes a great cup of coffee, they always had some sort of treat there, sandwiches, the MOST delicious donuts, chocolate covered marshmellows..yum

The not so good:
The food in general is very sub-par
Italian restaurant was the best out of the options but slooow service, out of white wine, only had one red wine available and only a small glass of the sparkling was available, very small portions

The bad:
It gets VERY crowed from Friday to Monday mornings as they give out day passes to families from Mexico. Nice for them not so nice for the people who are paying thousands of dollars to come from the US. Every chair taken, all palapas gone, really crowed pool.
They do a water aerobics class every day at Noon. Nice but the music is WAY too loud.
Bars ran out of white wine, some days couldn't make mojitos?

Misc:
Swimming with the dolphins was GREAT!! Highly reccommend this. But please note: you need to bring your own towels.

All in all a great trip.

Room Tip: Get a room on the South side of the hotel and ask for an upgrade to a Full Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freckledsmile99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We just finished a great week at the Sunscape. Overall, the check in process went smooth. We were in room 1401 and it was a partial ocean view. We could see the ocean from the balcony. It was nice that you didn't need to wear a plastic wristband at this resort. The maid service was a poor experience. Each morning we left a tip on the bed however it did not improve the cleaning of the room. There was hair left in the drain every day, two times we needed to ask for shower soap, and there were chip crumbs on the floor that were not swept up. There was a mini bar in the room however the fridge was not very cold. We tried to tell them there was a problem with the fridge but the language barrrier. The food was some of the best food we've had at all inclusives. Room service was included and also very good. During the weekend when the locals were there I did notice there were a few people at dinner with wristband around their ankles having dinner at the restaurants. It was apparent they must have known someone that was staying at the Sunscape. Early during our arrival there was a holiday that brought lots of locals. During this time it was really hard to get a drink as there didn't seem to be enough bartenders. It was disappointing that there were kids at the swimup bar and adults couldn't get access and that appeared to be acceptable. The beach was wonderful and when the local lefts there were plenty of chairs at the beach and the pool. The beach and pool areas were kept very clean.
Other negatives on this property are that you cannot access the pool area without going past the people that sell the vacation club. I wasn't interested in this and actually had one person grab me by the arm when I said no. They were very pushy and it was multiple times per day. The other disappointing factor is there was suppose to be an "anniversary package" and we asked about it and provided the required documentation and didn't receive anything for this special. I don't know if I'd want to stay here again when there's a Mexican Holdiay.
Favorite staff: Jaimie on the bell staff, Jorge at the Lobby Bar and I think it was "Veronica" pool wait staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiesta0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
410 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Royal Ixtapa
Park Royal Ixtapa
#13 of 22 in Ixtapa
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Property: Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n | Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing