We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We travel to Mexico once to twice a year usually to an All Inclusive. We're in our early 30's and don't have children. This resort was nice however it is showing its age. Not to say is not clean, they clean non-stop, literally scrubbing every inch of the entire resort. But the age is very easy to see especially if your tour their sister hotel next door (Azul Grand). I want to make this extremely clear. Ixtapa/ Zihua is a huge vacation spot for residents of Mexico City. Its a 45 minute flight for them and its a big bus tour destination. This resort and the majority of the others is 95% nationals with 5% Americans/ Canadians. Not a bad thing at all but almost everyone will attempt to speak to you in Spanish first, also most of the music, entertainment and signage is geared to the nationals. But I'm telling you right now it refreshing to not get hounded like other Mexico areas especially the cruise ship towns. Keep in mind couples that this is a family resort. 95%+ is there with kids.
WIFI is available for free at all of the restaurants, pool, and lobby. Rooms they charge you but we found if you go out on your balcony you generally could pick up a signal.

Food:
Good, to Very Good. Buffets were pretty good, I'd say you should always be able to find something. Their ala-carte restaurants are good if to order correctly. Order local food! When was the last time you saw a salmon in Mexico? :) Get shrimp, ocean fish, chicken, etc. You won't be disappointed. The cooks and staff take a great deal of pride in their food/ presentation. This alone added greatly to the food experience. The cocktails are great, they have an awesome selection of high end liquor depending on which bar you go to at the resort. We're talking Don Julio, Black Label, etc. Just ask and they'll get your cocktail the way you like it.
Staff:
Extremely kind and helpful with one exception (I'll explain in a minute). Everyone is very nice throughout the resort. Constant greetings, house keeping stops by with mints every night, great servers, etc. We had an issue and heard it from several others. Their time share "Points" people are all over the lobby, up and downstairs. They know you are coming and that is no joke. Literally they know when they Americans are coming and "Bill" will be waiting. So you might be friends with Bill until its Points time. We were gilted into the presentation, its not that bad, not really a hard sell. However after you say no you need to start to avoid the lobby. You'll get hounded by Bill and then he turns on you even though he's supposed to be your guide.

I'd recommend the below if you stay:
1. If you are staying at this resort don't take a transfer! They use buses and its the last hotel as it the farthest from the airport. It will take between 1-1/2 hours to get to the resort, 20 minutes by taxi. The taxi is a set rate at 320 pesos each way. (You might be able to talk them down but it won't be higher)
2. Go to the island, the boat is 40 pesos per person round trip. Its extremely well organized and very enjoyable. Every little restaurant will try to convince you to eat at their place. I'd check them all out and pick but I don't think you can go wrong.
3. If you decide to charter a fishing boat here's some advise. They'll cut you a deal at your travel desk, if you pay with cash. Don't be afraid to talk them down we paid $270 and $290 for 7 hours including everything, they asked $375. Google the boat to make sure its really everything you want. When you get dropped off at the marina walk to the table in front of the little store front (she was our favorite). You can get Sopas (stuffed sandwiches) for 15 pesos each. Great for breakfast and lunch on the boat. This one seems weird but if you decide to charter a fishing boat don't go during a full moon! We went two days in a row and only caught 2 fish. All of the boats coming in didn't have anything.
4. If you decide to do the Points talk. I'd try for one of your last days as you'll get a little bit of cold treatment from your "guides"

Overall I personally don't plan on staying here again. Not because I wouldn't recommend it but because we don't have children.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that the standard room doesn't have a balcony. You need to pay extra. Also try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kickassbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    229
    93
    29
    28
See reviews for
367
131
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has amazing staff and amenities. I am a first time all inclusive patron but certainly a fan now. The hotel room was clean and everyday there were flower sculture in the room. It is a large hotel though easy access. Childrens facilities are extraordinary with a water park and designated play area. There were plenty of chairs around the pool and I didn't see the hated towel saving chairs dilemma. Activities for adults and children abound. Kayaking, catamaran, biking, target shooting, ceramics were all busy. The shows were fun with one show, cinema review was outstanding. The dancing was enchanting. Most of the restaurant staff were very accommodating though we did one into one waiter at Costa Azul who wanted to ignore us. The staff attending the beach activities were helpful and well trained.

Room Tip: Different rooms have different prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The word that most comes to my mind when thinking back on my experience at Azul Ixtapa is clean. The staff does a wonderful job of keeping the resort very clean. Housekeeping did an amazing job! Each day they would design fresh, tropical flowers on the bed and in the bathroom. Such a nice touch! The resort is very family friendly, perhaps too much so for a couple with no kids. Kids are everywhere! The all inclusive price is cheap compared to other places that we have traveled. The result is not very much variety and lots of Mexican buffets, but it also gives you the opportunity to get out and explore the tastes of Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo! I suggest Villa del Selva in Ixtapa. Wonderful meal and ambience, especially at sunset! With the all inclusive plan you are limited to only three specialty dinners for a one week stay at the resort (something that was not publicized until we arrived at the resort). There are only two choices, a Mediterranean themed restaurant,which was okay, and a waterfront seafood restaurant, which was pretty good. Again, the all inclusive is cheap, so no big deal to go out and grab some tacos on the beach! The timeshare salesmen are not too pushy, but that was a downside to my experience. We already own timeshare so we were not interested in their program, but our guy, Bill, had been so helpful and nice that we agreed to listen to the presentation as a favor for him. He had to have known we were not going to purchase anything. Luckily we did this on our last day, because as we were leaving the resort our friendly Bill was suddenly very rude and unpleasant. Not enough to leave an unpleasant taste, but had this happened earlier in the week, it would have made for an awkward and uneasy resort experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jench2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 10 days, the service was excellent, even with the language barrier. The beach was clean and grounds well maintained. The pools were not crowded, you could swim up to the bar at one of the pools. We ferried across to the island for 40 pesos round trip and snorkeled. I cannot swim, so I used a guide with a boogy board for 30 pesos. I cannot say enough about this place, and we will both definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beached22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Both myself and my wife stayed at this resort from Feb. 16th to Feb. 23rd. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was not in the main building, but in an adjacent building on the 9th floor with a great view of the resort, beach and ocean. Good size balcony with two chairs. The room was very spacious with an extra large king size bed. Nice bathroom with tub and shower. The houskeeping staff did a VERY good job. Everything was very clean. The resort is very spacious with two big pools, one lower and one upper. You will have to walk around these pools to get to the beach. Plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. I think they should consider placing some chairs around the pool areas to accomodate people who would rather sit than recline. Very good drink service around the pools, but none on the beach. Bars were easily reached in the pool areas. The restaurants were good to very good. I would suggest going to the Oyster Bar restaurant and the Costa Azul resturants for you reservation dinners. Costa Azul is currently being refurbished. We went to the Oyster Bar twice and found the food to be very good, and so was the wine. Fabiano and Thomas gave us great service. We found the buffets to be very tasty, but I would like to see more desserts made available. We ate most of our breakfasts at Colores with a terrace that sits on the ocean. Great coffee and the food was very good with a nice selection. Service was excellent. Great entertainment, which was very professional. Have a drink at sunset in the El Palmar lobby bar. Be sure to get a tiquela with an sangrita chaser. Carlos was a very good and helpful waiter. Walk along the beach past the peer into Playa Linda. Beautiful beach with no one on the beach except weekends. The tiny shops make for good tourist shopping. Local bus ride into Ixtapa (10 minutes) is nine pesos, into Zihuatanejo (25 minutes) is ten pesos. A peso is less than a US dollar. Be sure to get on the bus that says Playa Linda, Ixtapa, Zihau. In Zihau tell the bus driver to let you off on Ave Cinco de Mayo and walk down to the bay. You can catch the return bus on the opposit corner. Many shops along Cinco de Mayo and in the bay district. We did notice more people at this resort on the weekends, with families. Everyone was friendly. We would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeJeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Couldn't have had a better experience. Room was great, service was outstanding, drinks were excellent, and food was good (especially in the ala carte venues.. There were lots of kids, but this did not bother my wife and I. Above all, the weather in Ixtapa is the best in Mexico; everyday was sunny and 87. The only drawback is the beach area where it is a bit rocky and the sand is dark.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views. A kayak trip to Ixtapa Island was fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first time to Ixtapa, Mexico. We are absolutely in love with this hotel! the oceanview is breathtaking! The staff were friendly and happy all the time. The room was beautiful and we would absolutely go back! We are planning another trip to Ixtapa for November and this is the hotel we are definitely going back to!

Room Tip: We found that staying on the side tower was best for us after being in the sun all day, it was a wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabrina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.8 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
1.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
2.5 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
3.1 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center

Property: Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Address: Boulevar Paseo Punta Ixtapa s/n Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Azul Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Sol Melia Azul Ixtapa
Sol Melia Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing