We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Azul Ixtapa - Same Great Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Azul Ixtapa - Same Great Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was our 3rd time at the Azul Ixtapa. The last time we stayed at the Azul Ixtapa, in 2010, the resort was called the Melia Azul Ixtapa. When we heard earlier this year that the resort had been sold and had no ties with the Melia chain we were worried. All of our worries were for nothing. To us the resort is unchanged, except you won't see anything to do with the Flintstones in the children's area. From what we could tell the staff and service levels have remained just as high as before. I will say that there were fewer people from the U.S. than the last time we stayed, however it might have been the time of year. I think an important point needs to be made about the web page for the Azul Ixtapa, that is that it is only in Spanish. There needs to be an option to view the web site in English also. I'm sure there are many people in the U.S. that when given a totally Spanish web site would reconsider their vacation choice. There were two conventions that were there during our stay but they caused little inconvenience.

Rooms:
We had a Jr. Suite in tower #2 on the 9th floor. We had an excellent view as do most of the rooms in the resort. The bed was comfortable, and housekeeping did a great job each day.

Food:
There are three buffet restaurant choices and two a la carte restaurants. We ate breakfast at Colores buffet each morning. There was always a good selection of food as well as well as an omelet station. We ate lunch by the pool at the snack bar each day. They had burgers and hot dogs, french fries, chicken and pizza. For dinner you are able to eat at one of the open buffets or at one of the ala carts. You are able to make several reservations at the a la carte's depending on the length of you stay. For our 7 night stay we were able to make 3 reservations. The choices for the a la carte's were the Costa Azul and the Oyster Bar. I prefer the food at Costa Azul but the Oyster bar is right on the water. The filet that was served at the Costa Azul rivals our filets in MN. The Oyster Bar has a Surf and Turf that is also excellent. You will not leave hungry from either. We were able to see our friend Julio who is now a waiter in Costa Azul.

Pools
The pools are large and clean. Never had a problem finding a chair for the day. The pool waiters do an excellent job. Much thanks to Ahonel, Salvador, Erick, Fernando and Francesco. These guys have a hard job but always seemed in good spirits. The bartenders were always happy to make drinks.

Playa Linda
If you are up for a beach walk you can visit Playa Linda which is about 1/2 mile from resort. Shopping and restaurants can be found there. We ate at La Palapa and found the food very good. Ask for Margarito. If you are thinking of going into Ixtapa and want to avoid the cab fare you can catch the bus down at Playa Linda for 9 pesos(less than 90 cents) each way.

We were lucky to meet a couple from CO., Lyle and Mary, and a rancher from MT., Buster. They made our vacation more enjoyable and we hope to see them again next year.

In closing I would just like to say if you are thinking about going to the Azul Ixtapa but are concerned about ownership changes or lack of reviews, don't worry about it the resort is great and you will have a great time.

Room Tip: Upper floors for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    266
    111
    31
    33
See reviews for
426
143
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Signal Hill, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wow, this resort was better than I expected. There's something for all age groups. I was here for a 4 day business trip and the convention and service set up was excellent. The variety of food, customer service, the guys at the bar were funny and entertaining, there was always something to do here and service was excellent! If you have kids, there's plenty of activities set up, if you have teenagers there's rifle shooting (safe), jet skiing (not included), fishing, clubs for the adults. A beautiful scenic restaurant by reservation only if you wanted a romantic dinner was open on certain days of the week. Drinks were great and club on site, so there was really no need to leave the hotel. In the morning you could enjoy the sunny weather by jumping into there swim up bar and order yourself a bloody mary.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyramirezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for three nights in October. I was impressed with the hotel. Food was better than I expected - good choices and everything seemed fresh. Went kayaking and snorkeling which was a lot of fun. Hotel was kept very clean and there were lots of activities going on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLC830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia A, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, and we would like to express our gratitude for your kindly preference.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, México
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I went to Azul Ixtapa on september from the 9th to the 16th, we had the master suite and it was beutiful, We're a family of 8 with teenagers between 17 and 19, they have a lot of fun and the hotel provides a lot of activities for them. We tried the kayak trip and even though the waves where so high we had a lot of fun. Socorro was the maid in charge of our room and all I have to say is that she's very hard working and she did her best to make us feel like home.
PROS:
Rooms with ocean view (I think most of the have ocean or pool view)
Lots of activities for everyone
Italian Restaurant is good, little lack of choices but it's pretty tasty (thanks to Roberto our waiter he was amazing)
The kids club and baby club is amazing for those with little babies and kids, they would have a lots to do, even a private area for swimming.

CONS:
The beach is not so beautiful like in other hotels on that area
Food is repetitive
They don't offer alcoholic drinks in the restaurants during the day (LOL I just wanted a mimosa with my breakfast, after all when you're on vacation you want a little boost)
The drinks are watered, the mixers they use to prepare them are good, nevertheless they don't taste like they have any alcohol.
Beds are too soft that I felt my back hurting during all week.
It's a little far for everything so you better ask for the all inclusive plan, the hotel and comercial zone it's at least 30 minutes walking.


Ricardo in the rappel area was a doll, he help the teens during the week to have fun and get a little exercise, thanks Ricardo!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher floors with ocean view, even when you're a little far from all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LIAN84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

It takes guts
Let me tell you a Secret, Ixtapa is the place to be, it is one of Mexico’s best kept secrets, mostly unknown to most people, it used to be a Small Fishing town, and still has this small town ambiance. It has been less affected by the Economic Downturn and a very safe place to visit, most people are Mexican Tourists from the center of Mexico. Although harder to get via Land from Morelia and the Center of Mexico, flying into the small newly remodeled Airport and doing the 15-25 minute drive to your hotel is a breeze. There is not a lot of night life action going on, but the Señor Frogs, will go the distance with its sister property in Cabo San Lucas.
It is very refreshing when a Property owner has the guts to take over their property from a Professional Spanish Operator and then open a new Premium “Grand” property, the traditional Family oriented Azul, has now an upscale Cousin Grand Azul. Do not be deceived by the name as part of the Cruz Azul Family (Cement & Soccer Team), operation is run by Family members who are very Professional & Proactive, they are looking to offer the best possible “Grand” experience not be found elsewhere in the Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa Location, it is Adult Couples Only. The Agave Specialty Restaurant will compete with Mexico’s City’s Trendies restaurants; do not miss the Lettuce Salad with Chipotle Dressing, the Robalo, or the Coconut Flan. The Asian Restaurant serves up to date Fusion Asian/Mexican, Sushi is OK but main courses are not to be missed. The Lobby Bar is huge has a lot of LCD’s and you can play Pool, nice. If you want to Party you may want to scoot over to the Sister Hotel’s Azul for their Sea Breeze Lounge directly on the Sea, you almost Partying over the Sea, felt more like a Cruise Ship Night Club. Too bad it closes at 1 a.m. it is still a Family oriented Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ramon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

You cannot get into this hotel unless you take a tour of their "club membership process" or are already a member. My boyfriend and I wanted to visit and see what it was all about so we went for the tour. The tour was $20 for both of us. Along the way a guy who was taking us there told us that we had to pay more but we didn't fall for that, as we have found that they will try to get as much money out of you as possible. With the $20 we were able to eat breakfast and lunch and lay around the pool. There were no seats available around a pool but a couple offered us their two chairs. (I never really figured out if there were saving the extra two for themselves or for someone else...I also don't really know if all the chairs were taken or if everyone was doing the same - Keeping extra seats by putting their stuff on it.) It clean but over crowded and loud! It was not a relaxing spot. This is the type of place to go with a large group or children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here with an 18month old child, and had a great experience. There is a lot of shallow pool space for children, and the entire hotel seemed family-focused. Most of the guests were national travelers, or central/south American. There were a few smaller Canadian and French-Canadian groups and American groups, as well as Europeans. Overall, the staff and other guests were friendly and considerate.

There is a market nearby, as well as a platform for viewing crocodiles - these are within a 10min walk. (Turn left as you exit the hotel and follow the sidewalk). There is also a 7km bike/hiking trail across the road from the hotel that we used daily. It's well traveled by lots of people, and it goes through some lovely forest area. We took a stroller on the path with no problems.

The beach is a bit small compared to other resorts, since you can't swim in about 1/3 of the beach are in front of the hotel - it has rocks under the surface that are dangerous. But the tide is long, so it's great for children, and it has great sand-castle sand! There were a few vendors along the beach, but no one was overly pushy.

The food was good overall. We ate in all the different restaurants and were always satisfied. The New Year's eve dinner was interesting, but because we were only 2 adults, we were seated at a banquet table with another family. It seemed that for this one meal, they had to fill every table, and all the tables were large 8-10 people. So it was a little awkward. The people we sat with were pleasant, but it was clear that this family of four had hoped to have their own table and not have to make small talk all night with a couple.

Overall - this is great for families, and we would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryjane333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia A, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your time, that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to host you again in the nearest future.

Sincerely:
Azul IXtapa Manager Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.8 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
1.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.7 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
3.6 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center

Property: Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Address: Boulevar Paseo Punta Ixtapa s/n Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Azul Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Sol Melia Azul Ixtapa
Sol Melia Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing