We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better and cheaper options in Ixtapa and Zihua” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisher's

Fisher's
Ranked #31 of 115 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Seafood excellence since 1989® Avant-garde mexican cuisine, all of our dishes are cooked at the moment. Come to visit us and get to know our world famous and absolutely exclusive Bar a la Vista service.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Better and cheaper options in Ixtapa and Zihua”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited this Fishers since it was close to our apartment, the location is quite nice in front of the marina, but the food and service are not the best, considering the high prices you pay (over 300 pesos p/p). The food is not bad itself, but the portions are small, and the service is very generic. If you want to try good seafood in Ixtapa/Zihua there are better options such as La Sirena Gorda, mi Arbolito, Chendos, Lety´s, etc. Wouldn´t come back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank velezmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    13
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“48 Pesos for a beer !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Yea, that's right 48 pesos for a beer! ALL drinks are way overpriced here and no drink prices are shown --- so beware!

Having said that;

Food was tasty, well cooked and presented nicely. Grilled (BBQ) chicken breasts (3 halves) came with zuchinni, onions, tomato and mini corn cob pieces ..... all grilled. A tasty light sauce finished the dish. It was very good and priced at only $P 140. Finshed with Lattes @ $P 44 each. Service was good as the restaurant only had a few tables occupied - can be slow when busy. Most staff speak or at least understand english and are very pleased if you try to speak a little spanish.

Nice setting at the Marina, usually with a cooling sea breeze.

Worth a visit to this 'chain restaurant' because of it's setting and good food value but don't go thirsty becayse it will be very expensive for drinks of any kind!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PappaChorizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous Seafood and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Okay, you’ve been looking for good seafood restaurants in Zihuatanejo and Ixtapa for a good price. Finally you find Fisher’s at the marina in Ixtapa (next to boat ramp). Wow, what a huge selection menu. And they start by bringing you a small glass of hot fish broth that it absolutely wonderful. You order your drinks and scan the menu… so many choices. Whether you think appetizers, oyster bar or main courses everything is great. You can sit outside or undercover by the A/C. It can get very busy at peak season. The restaurant is very well managed with very attentive staff. I also enjoyed the wine selections depending on my mood. I ate there twice and although I was staying in Zihuatanejo I thought it was well worth the 70 pesos taxi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChewelahBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have been to Fisher's several times. I like their fish stock which they serve as a drink and i eat the grilled vegetables. Other than that... nothing else. I tried eating there a few times and the food is not to my liking and my friends did not like their food either. It is pricey restaurant for no reason. I ordered wine a few times, not anymore, do not like their wine. However, the place is usually busy so some people like it. The service... oh well, it is a hit and miss, actually it depends on the server, usually, the servers are not attentive. I go there when i go buy wine from the wine store next door and then i go to Fisher's. I like their fish stock and the atmosphere is nice, it is righ by the marina, it is nice sitting by the water.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 618Mashael618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
145 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“AVOID!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ordered Oysters and they brought room temperature Clams.

The expensive clam chowder was literally 5 TBPS and the worst!

Large shrimp upgrade was a joke - shrimp as small as my small thumb.

Decent CL Sauvignon Blanc for MXN$250.

They must have sensed our irritation as when the currency conversion was made on my CC this AM they gave 14.12 instead of the the 12.65/66 (international interbank rate) I have been getting for the LAST10 days or so.

i WOULD NOT RETURN IF THEY COMPED ME ALL FOOD!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank psmsmdagreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisher's also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Fisher's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing