We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Ixtapa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,167)
Filter reviews
3,167 results
Traveler rating
1,738
808
371
165
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,738
808
371
165
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon quixotepremium clubsanca barswim up barocean viewsunset restaurantlobstermexican familiesbreakfast and lunchsushi restaurantmexican fiestaflea marketa la carteoceanview roommain buffetmexican nightfelt very safe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 3,167 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2006

My husband and I, along with another couple booked with the Barcelo from April 29th through May 6th with a great 75th Anniversary special they were running. For the price we received it was a wonderful hotel, however there were kids everywhere. There was no escaping them in the pool area. For some quieter times we had to venture to the beach loungers under the umbrellas. Not too many American tourists there it seemed - which didn't bother us too much; we didn't really come to buddy around with strangers. Most of the hotel staff was very pleasant. The maids were very thorough and came through at the same time each day, so there was no guessing as to when your room would be cleaned. The hostesses in the dinning areas were nice, the desk clerks as well, and when we had a burned out light in our bathroom as well as problems with our safe, they immediately sent someone up to help us. The bartenders at the pool bar were not so great.... we sometimes had to ask for a drink 3 times before we'd get them. Maybe they needed another staffer on hand or the pool bar layout was bad. Either way, once you did get your drink, they were not stingy with the liquor. We actually found them too strong sometimes.
The buffet restaurants were alright, nothing too snazzy - I wish the outside buffet area was open for breakfasts, rather than being stuck inside every wonderfully nice morning.... but the reservation only place called Don Quijote was very nice. Great food and desserts.
Overall we did enjoy our stay at the Barcelo, and for the price it was very nice. However, I think that we'll try another warm and sandy destination next time, or perhaps go back to the Beach Palace resort in Cancun - unless the Barcelo is running another super cheap sale. Then maybe we'd go back.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Lanalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2006

We just got back from a wedding/vacation to Ixtapa and we stayed at the Barcelo. We absolutely loved the Barcelo and their all inclusive deal. The rooms were nothing to write home about, but they were clean and you had a beautiful ocean view. The staff at the Barcelo was extremely helpful and spoke very good English. This seems like a great place for couples and families, because the pools are somewhat separated and the couples stayed at one pool enjoying each others company and drinking while the kids had other pools and activities to keep them busy.

If you have the all-inclusive package, they offer you a wonderful selection of food and drink all day. They normally have at least one buffet at all times, along with the pool side restaurant from 11:00 to 6:00. at the restauarant you can order off the menu from a good selection of hamburgers, hotdogs, fish, octopus, or other items. They also give you one or two coupons depending on your stay, for their upper class restaurant, Don Quixote. Depending on what you get, you could be very pleased or very dissapointed. The Shrimp and rack of Goat was excellent, the Ribeye and Pork Medallions were not great.

They also provide a variety show every night with buffet. We only went to the Mexican Fiesta on Wednesday night, which is the most popular one to go to. The food was great and the entertainment was entertaining.

Within walking distance of the Hotel, you have many shops, and clubs like Senor Frogs and Carlos & Charlies.

I was also pleasantly surprised at the relatively low cost of activities around Ixtapa / Zihuatanejo. We got an hour massage for $25, rented a jet ski for 30 minutes for $30, and went to many bars where they had $1 beers. Golf at the Marina was a little pricey at $70, but it was an enjoyable course. Taxis from Ixtapa to Zihuatanejo will run you 5 bucks, however you will have to pay $29 from the airport to any hotel you stay at. The return to the airport is normally $15.

I read good things about Playa Linda, but it seemed like a trashy beach with a lot of locals and cheap trinkets. Wouldn't go back to Playa Linda.

Across the Way from Playa Linda is Isla Ixtapa. You take a ferry that costs $3 per person. Once over there you are hit up by many vendors attempting to sell you snorkel gear or get you to come into their restaurant. On the back part of the island they have good snorkeling and a nice ocean breeze to keep you a little cooler on a hot day.

Our friends stayed at Las Catalinas in Zihuatanejo, they had a beautiful porch on their room with beautiful views. Our other friends stayed at Club Intrawest, which was a very elegant, beautiful and expensive hotel. If we had to do all over again, we would go back The Barcelo Premium in Ixtapa, It was awesome. We didn't want to leave.

11  Thank Damieon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, Alberta Canada
19
Reviewed May 1, 2006

We vacationed at this hotel for a week in March 2006. The hotel was terrific! The hotel is well located near shopping, restaurants and very close to a craft market. We went with our one year old baby and grandma and grandpa came as well. The hotel accommodated us with adjoining rooms that were near the elevators. The hotel also provided us with a crib for the baby as well. We had a great view from our balcony and the staff were all very friendly and professional. This is a family friendly resort and the staff all seem to like children.

Ours was an all inclusive package so we seldom ate away from the hotel. However, the food was good, especially the breakfasts and lunches. Sometimes the supper buffet seemed a little mediocre but there was always good choices available. This resort has al a carte restaurants that you can visit once a week. Since one of these restaurants is adults only the hotel accommodated us with an extra pass for one of the other restaurants.

The beach is nice but the ocean can be a bit rough and the water is not as clear as what I have seen in the Caribbean. The Beach was wide and the sand was nice and we did not get hassled by beach vendors. For swimming the hotel has fantastic swimming pools. We took a day trip to visit nearby Ixtapa island for some good snorkelling. A water taxi ride was $3 each return. Once on the island a table, umbrella and chairs were provided in return for buying beverages and food for the day from the proprietor. We also took a taxi for a day trip to Zihuatenejo. Taxi fares are set by zone and there does not seem to be any need to dicker with the drivers. The taxis we rode in were all nice, clean and well maintained. There is a nice boardwalk there and access to more nice beaches.

The hotel has nightly entertainment that is part of the all inclusive package. The Mexican fiesta here is one of the best in Ixtapa. Guests come here from other hotels to see it. Aside from the Mexican fiesta, we took in a couple of other shows. They were all quite good.

This hotel provides a fair number of activities during the day. We only partook in a few of the activities available. There is a crafts area where you can paint your own ceramic vase, frame or ornament for a small fee. A talented crafts lady on staff fixes all your mistakes and fires the result so you can pick it up the next day. These made nice souvenirs.

The weather was great when we were there. Temperatures were in the high 80s in the day and the mid 70s at night. The hotel is airconditioned and our rooms were comfortable.

Overall this one of the best Mexican vacations my family and I have been on. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Barcelo. It was wondeful. Yes, it may show a few signs of aging but the staff and the facilities are great. Jesus and Victor at the swim up bar, Sergio for activities, just wonderful people. We had 7th floor balcony Great view , evening sunsets...........Food was good to great.....Don Quixote's was Excellent, ate there twice, very nice. Area is easy to get around, Ixtapa, Zihua just so pleasant.........We will go back every year............we have found heaven!

Stayed: April 2006
5  Thank nhtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2006

This was our first time to Ixtapa and first time to an all-inclusive resort. Ixtapa-Zihua is a quaint, quite and small town. Not must night-life. $5 cab rides to Ixtapa to Zihua. The beds at the resort are very hard and pillows to squishy and soft. Bring floaties for the pool to relax. The shops charge $10-$20 for a $2 float you could buy at Wal-Mart. The all-inclusive was great; it felt like you were on a cruise but better since Alcoholic drinks are included. Breakfast and lunch were good but dinner was not so good. We usually went out for dinner. Try Danielle's at the main beach in Zihua. Cell phones work in the area and the hotel has a business office for internet access. Souveniers are very expensive, no real good bargaining for Americans.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Justwant2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews