We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How AI beverages work”
Review of Posada Real Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Real Ixtapa
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Another great trip to Ixtapa (March 14-19, 2008)! We stayed at the Posada Real for the 3rd time. Great price and decent hotel. The way the All Inclusive domestic beverages works is you get a wristband (you need to turn this in at the end of your stay or you have to pay a replacement fee) and you can drink all the free soda, juice, tap beer (Modelo & Corona) and rail cocktails you want. If you want premium liquor, you can purchase it. There are tip jars to leave tips for your bartenders. You cannot get bottled water, but they do have water coolers set up with filtered water so you can get glasses of water, which was very nice. We refilled our plastic water bottles so as not to waste all the plastic glasses. You must drink the beverages on the grounds (bar, pool, beach area, etc). We didn't use this option as much as some people might because we are out and about a lot, but it was nice to have the option when we were there. We did go down to the bar a couple of times to have cocktails before we went out for the night.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank corinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 437 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2008

Best Western Posada Real (Ixtapa)
March 9,2008 Bev from Vancouver, B.C., Canada

We recently arrived back home from spending 2 weeks at the Posada Real. Had a fantastic time and recommend it highly. This is a smaller, four-storey hotel, situated on the best location of the beach. From the incredible infinity pool, you can see up and down the entire beach, filled with para-sailing, sky-diving, bannana boats, massages right next door (on the beach), swimming with the dolphins (next door to the hotel). We met all kinds of friendly people, who come to this hotel every year at the same time and just love it. The food at the hotel restaurant was so good, we had breakfast and lunch there everyday. We tried a different restaurant every night for dinner, since there are so many of them just a short walk down the street. Try "Bogarts" for a romantic gourmet meal or "Rossy"s"( in Z town) for the best seafood platter. Recommend "Bandidos" restaurant and bar (in "Z" town) for a night of dancing salsa to a live band.
Take the local bus (7 pesos)(on the main street, in front of the hotel) to "Z" town, walk to the pier, and take a water taxi ($3.50) to Las Gatos beach for lunch and swimming (in crystal clear water)
The next day, walk out to where the road branches off, and take the bus (7 pesos) to Playa Linda. There is a crocodile sanctuary there. Then walk to the pier and take the water taxi ($3.50) to Ixtapa Island, where there are four separate beaches. You can have a lobster lunch on the beach and snorkel all day. (fantastic) You don't have to book any tours, when you can do all this yourself (much more fun and adventurous) Parasailing is only $25 and one hour massages as well. Life doesn't get any better than this. We really did not want to leave this hotel and it's friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mercgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

My wife, son, and I spent the second week of Jan. at the Posada and found that the only thing that was not as good as other properties Raddison,Emporio, was the lack of height and balcony.We have been to Ixtapa four times, Cancun/Riviera Maya once each never again,and Manzanillo wich was great although not as hot. I think the Ixtapa area bar none is the best place to go, fishing is great ,climate is great, the people are great, the natives as well as the midwestern tourists.About the hotel, the staff was great, this was the first hotel in Mexico that everything in the room worked flawlessly without repairs,the pool, location,people all great. Only got one no the whole trip and that was for free premium Tequilla, oh well can't win em all.For people who want to have a good time in Mexico please make it a point to meet local tourists as they are very nice intresting people who love to breach the language barrier to make American freinds

Stayed: January 2008
3  Thank fishinfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

Don,t know how the Posada got its low three star rating. The rooms were clean, well maintained and the bathrooms were the same. This being the smallest hotel on hotel row made for a quieter less hectic (less floors to go up and down) and always relaxing atmosphere. Although we had the drinks inclusive plan, there were never any obnoxious drunks around the pool, bar or beach. The beach is extremely large, absolutely clean and the infinity pool has a spectacular view of the ocean and offshore islands. The staff is excellent ,very friendly and they kept the grounds extremely clean.
We ate in the hotel restaurant a few time (there are lots of excellent restaurants in Ixtapa within easy walking distance of the hotel) and the food was good and relatively inexpensive. The restaurant even prepared a meal which included fish we caught that day. We think the Best Western Posada Real is an unsung gem and we are booked for a return in Feb of 2008.

Cashreno

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank Cashreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2007

We had a blast at this hotel. We had the all-inclusive drink plan which was well worth the money. I do agree with previously written reviews regarding the beds - not too comfy! But, after the first few nights, I didn't seem to mind. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank northmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

The location, staff, restaurant, pool and room furnishings were fine. The poor AC and ventilation system were bad. We had water dripping from the ceiling and coming through the walls because of the inadequate AC system. They tried to mask the musty, moldy smell with bleach sprayed on the walls and floors. The bedding smelled rotten and the mattress was disgusting. We reported the problem as did others, and they said they would move us to another room. When we inspected the other rooms, they were the same. We have reported this to Best Western.

4  Thank IowaAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007

This is a great little beachfront property with a fantastic pool! The beach is fantastic and the water WARM. Lots of fish swimming here including baby rays and sea turtles.
The hotel is a little run down and definately needs some TLC. The staff was friendly but reserved. The BEDS however........SUCK! It was like sleeping on a piece of plywood with a mattress cover on it. ARGH. The lounge chairs by the pool are more comfortable.The other note of caution would be that it is next to the very loud Carlos and Charlies which rages all night until 2am. This is only a problem if you open your windows at night. If you close them and turn on the fan on high..you're safe.
Good value if you can deal with the beds.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank psyderGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 23 in Ixtapa
872 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
874 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n | Zona Hotelera 1, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $80 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posada Real Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Best Western Ixtapa
Ixtapa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing