We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Place and would go back tomorrow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qualton Club Ixtapa
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We just got back from a very nice vacation at the Qualton club. The rooms were a little dated but we only were in them to sleep. The water was hot and lots of it so they must have tixed the problem. The food was ok not the best but lots of stuff to pick from. Lots of activities and to find internet service made me really happy. The staff is really frendly and they work very hard. The place is very clean and i would go back. There was 6 of us and a 3 month old and everyone had a good time. They were very accomodating. So don't be shyed away from the reviews if you want sun and relaxation and a cheap holiday this place is for you. Our tour operator had a desk in the lobbie and Laura was very good to deal with and answered all of our questions. She is a good assest to the place. Good job and maybe see ya next year

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 287 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed in Qualton Club from Jan 7 to 10, 2008.
It is a decent resort. The weather was gorgeous. Rooms though need renovations were clean. Every day we had fresh bedding and towels and flowers on the bed. Meals were pretty good but not everyday. Hotel offered nightly entertainment (dancing group). Not very professional but still O.K. Restaurants offered variety of beverages and fruit. The beach is dark. I guess it is a volcanic sand. You can find palapas on the beach. We did not look for white sandy beach, therefore we were completely satisfied. The water is clean excluding first few steps where waves bring sand to the beach. The beach is clean, no garbage. We went to the Ixtapa island on Kayaks. It took only 20 minutes. You can find white sand and coral reef there and enjoy snorkeling. You can also reach the island from local marina. You pay 3.50 USD for round trip on motorboat. It takes 5-6 minutes to reach the island. We were on a very interesting guided tour to Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. You can request other tours (e.g. ec0-tour) at the tour desk or with your Tour operator representative. The hotel has Internet connection and small shop for tourists. Few steps from the hotel you can find reserve with aligators, iguanas and turtles and a market with a dozen small shops. The territory of the hotel is green and very clean. It is absolutely safe. The beach is private. The hotel offers some special activities to children.
Also there are few sport activities like volley-ball, tennis, table tennis, and games. If you like to read you can take a book at a small library at the reception desk.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank oldwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

We were at the Qualton from Jan 3rd to Jan 10th 2008. We took two rooms with double beds. The rooms are pretty old and in need of remodeling, the food was great when it was served outdoors in front of the performance stage, You ate, had a few drinks, enjoy the show without having to move and the 'ambiance' was great. when we had to eat at the main restaurant, it was like being in a huge cafeteria, too much light & very impersonal. The staff are some of the nicest people you will meet. We had our two kids 9 & 11 and they had the best time ever. Lots of things to do, the beach is very wide so you can play all kinds of games without being in the way of other people. The crocodiles were a blast. Shopping is very good and you have easy access to the town of Ixtapa. We all did Parasailing, snorkling on the isla Ixtapa, horse back riding, seadoos, Catamaran, Zip line at Park Aventura and the people giving massages on the beach (between our hotel & the Melia) were the best massages I ever had and cheap (25$/Hour) There were many other activities that were available. This is a family oriented hotel and is mainly spanish speaking, lots of kids.
The view from our rooms was breathtaking and I would get up every morning at around 5am to open the patio door, shut the air conditioner and go back to sleep with the sound of the waves. Overall we had a fabulous time with the kids and would recommend it for it's size and vast activities. There were a few couples without children and they were very happy with the place if you are not picky about your room & buffet food.
Hope this helps, we do travel alot and this is my second time at Ixtapa, I was at the Presidente Hotel (5*) & I prefered the Qualton (3*) for the kids.

Stayed: January 2008
11  Thank MeklMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Please do not waste your money on this "resort". It was horrible!! We stayed there from November 11-18 and referred to it as "the hood" and "the ghetto". The food was horrible, our room was infested with biting ants, we only had hot water for 2 days, we were discriminated against by the staff (only the Mexican tourists staying there received service -- we are caucasian and were pointedly ignored), and we were assaulted every day by the stench wafting over from the neighbouring crocodile sanctuary. Quite honestly, we didn't even step into the ocean near Qualton Club as the water looked (and smelled!) unsafe and we were worried about disease. We'd highly recommend spending a bit of extra money to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Justusniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We have just returned form a week stay at the Qualton Club. It is definetly a get what you pay for resort. We were on a budget, and we only paid $797 plus tax for our six nghts.

The resort is located away from the strip in Ixtapa so there is really no where you can go for a stroll thru shops and restuarants without taking a bus or taxi. The little market located next to the resort has most of the trinket sort of things, if that is what you are into.

I really enjoyed walking on the public beach and watching the local people having their picnics or whatever. The beach the resort is on is affected by tides, so there are very few palapas, and they are high up on the beach, The resort is in the middle of replacing these so they have lovely new ones. The chairs for use on the beach are just broken down wood frames and mildewy mattresses. Let's hope with the new umbrellas that they will invest in new chairs.

The rooms were adequate, clean and no problems with things not working. However, getting sufficient towels etc., was a daily problem. The hot water, is never hot, tepid at best and if you shower at peak times sometimes there is no water, just a drizzle. The housekeeping staff are fabulous, and do a great job and with asmall tip each day you get a few little extras.

I found all the staff to be wonderful. We do not speak much Spanish, so we had a small language barrier, but they seemed to appreaciate that we tried and we could mostly get by altho we had to resort to charades at times, which was fun for all.

The grounds are magnificent. Beautifully kept and the flowers at this time of year were amazing.

The entertainment left a lot to be desired. I couldn;t be bothered to even try after a couple of nights is was so awful. They have some lewd parts and they also have some acts that are politically incorrect. However, some people seemed to enjoy it. The costumes were very professinal looking.

Now for the food. Was there enough, yes, the breakfasts were good, altho only two types of fruit to choose from which I found dissappointing. The snack shack on the beach had great tortilla chips, and salsa . .and guac . however, often they seemed to be out of both the salsa and guac . . if you like fries and warmed up burgers, this is the place for you. The rest of the meals were awful in my opinion. They did a great job of setting up in different places and on Mexican night I loved the decorations, but the food all seemed the same with different name . . desserts were good. No ala carte places to eat.

They do spray with something each evening to keep the bugs down . . that was okay however, some nights they had something . .maybe kerosene burrning, right where the tables are set up and it was so bad my clothes smelled of it.

My family all had mixed feelings about the Qualton Club . . . .I won;t go back, next time I will spend a little more money and stay at a better resort.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

This resort was okay for the money we paid, the place is old but very well kept and clean. The food is awful, every day the same , it seems that it is recycle from one meal to the next. The drinks are wonderful, no shortage of alcohol. We stayed 4 nights and that's all we could handle, if you stay here longer than a week, break it up and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

The rooms were a major disappointment. Clean and functional..well...almost. Once and only once...there was no water in the hot water tap...The rest of the time we had water. Mostly it was cool, but if it was left to run for 10 min., it would get lukewarm..once it was actually warm, but tricked down to almost a fast drip quickly. All guests said much the same thing. If you happened to have water that was warmish, you didn't waste time getting in the shower!

The staff were the most pleasant, helpful people anywhere on the planet, bar none! I asked for the safety latch to be repaired the first night..and it was..within 15 minutes. English is sparse, but so is our Spanish and we were on their turf. We managed wonderfully.

Food was not bad. Breakfasts were a disappointment in that one cook could not meet the demand. Many theme dinners were served in front of the show stage, so everyone sat in place for the show. Very few complained about the food anymore than they would at home. Everyone knew we were not at a 4 or 5 star resort and we didn't expect more than we had. We did have many wonderful surprises.

The drinks were what you aked for, and full strength.

The grounds were imaculate, expansive and beautiful. The pools were bathtub warm, as was the ocean. Mosquitoes were a concern due to previous posters, and we went armed with Deet and mosquito coils. We needed nothing. They spray 1/2 hour before dinner...smelled like diesel fuel...and it took care of the problem.

Buses are just outside the gate and cost 7 pesos to Ixtapa or Zihua...and the last bus to the resort from town is at 5 p.m.

Recent posters say the kayaks are free to use to Ixtapa Island. Not any more. New mgmt. Liability became an issue. We did see kayakers out but we don't know the arrangement. Boat rides to Ixtapa Island are still 35 pesos per person return. .Save your ticket.

I would say if you are o.k. with a little less of a room, and want a budget vacation with plenty of room at every turn..you would likely enjoy the Qualton. The weekend swelled with Mexican Nationals, and their families...what wonderful families they are! Still...there was no shortage of room at the pools or beach. Breakfast was snug at times...but we didn't all HAVE to eat at the same time!

I personally like a better room, so we might never return to The Qualton as she stands today. I cannot say enough about the staff and the service they provided for us. We paid $747.00 CDN. plus tax. A good deal. More than $800.00 is too much in my opinion.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank retiringsoon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.7 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
430 reviews
2.9 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
858 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 22 in Ixtapa
853 reviews
3.8 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,455 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qualton Club Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualton Club Ixtapa

Address: Carretera Escenica, Playa Linda | Zihuatanejo, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $94 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Qualton Club Ixtapa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qualton Club Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qualton Club Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Qualton Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Qualton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing