We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$242
$169
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$301
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$375
$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$321
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$123
$118
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,357)
Filter reviews
1,357 results
Traveler rating
383
443
256
144
131
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
443
256
144
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsintercontinental presidentemexican fiestasports barpool viewtowel manmary loufiesta nightcigarette buttsdirectly across the streetactivities staffblue shrimpyogurtwater aerobicsmexican foodmake reservationsbeach volleyballocean front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
557 - 562 of 1,357 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Hotel has a bad habit of over booking, and even if you had paid for an upgrade, they will stick you in there Ocean View room (20 storyTower Building) that they call an upgrade, but the building is a dump, and should have been remodeled 10 years ago, the bathroom has mold, mildew and stinks, and we wouldn't even take a shower there, when we immediately went down to complain about the room, they said they would try to move us the next afternoon, after some people checked out, which they did, since some of us decided we would checkout of the resort rather then spend another night there, even though we had booked this thru Apple Vacations, and we made them all a where of this.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

we have stayed at other resorts and presidente inter-continental in ixtapa has to be one of the best, great staff, no time share people to bug you, lots of entertainment and superb talent by the staff of the hotel. releaxed and enjoyed the disco every night. met lots of new freinds from around the world. we took a "troll" doll named "chucky" , met and took pics of alot of people with chucky clutching him. then on our 2nd last day, someone stole him, announcments and verbal enquires did not produce him. sad day but memories live forever. all the staff at the resort were very pleasing and doing a 5 star rating service. on monday when we arrived , the resort was at 30% capacity, by friday night it was 100% full and the service was still very quick and efficiant, too much fun and laughter. beaches were clean and the ocean and sunsets were a kodak moment. saw whales from the lobby level and never had starving moment. too much to tell you, just have to experience this resort yourselves. great for the economy vacationer. i highly recomend this reosrt for a fun and exciting vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lockman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you regard our hotel to be one of the best hotels. Thank you sincerely for commending our service performance in this regard. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again in a near future; this is “su casa” in Mexico.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Coudon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We just returned from Presidente and had a wonderful time. We needed to change our rooms as my mom could not walk well and they had put us on the top floor pool view. We had requested a pool view so I went down the next morning and explained it was very hard for my mom to keep walking up and down the ramps and without question we were moved to the ground floor to accomadate our need. The service was great and we really enjoy the staff as some remembered us from the prior trip. The food was fine and so was the weather. There were no problems in town at all either as we felt very safe. Thanks Presidente for a great trip! Hope to see you next year. Our only concern is there won't be any rooms with the time share stuff that is happening.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkd322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We loved our 2 weeks here. An escape from our very cold Alberta winter. We never vacation to party - we go to relax & that's what we did here (see important note below)The weather doesn't get any better .... low to mid 30's everyday & the best sunsets you'll ever capture on your digital.... We did change rooms - had a garden view the 1st week & were moved to pool/ocean view for the 2nd week...both very nice rooms - clean & spacious. Thank-you Jorge. Most staff were friendly & helpful & room service is 2nd to none! Pool & beach activities were there if you chose to participate. The music played @ the pool area was good (not too loud) & even a bit of country.... Beach & garden are areas very well kept. Highlight of the trip was seeing the turtles hatch & releasing them after dark... awesome!!!
The hotel does not supply water sports - such as the kayaks, float boards, paddle boats, small catamarans etc. The locals offer para-sailing, banana boat rides etc which will cost you......
The food - well - it was oaky. Lacked variety most days .... Poor buffet set up in the 1 area - U shape & is congested.
NOTE: If you plan to go here - make sure you check to see if there are any graduating classes booked on the same dates - if so, be prepared to spend 3 sleepless nights & 3 days of head banging music @ the pool.
If we were the kind of people that go to the same place year after year - I think we would stay @ the Intercontinental - but with so many wonderful places to see in this world. Thanks Presidente Intercontinental Hotel - Ixtapa 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frogladyAlberta_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Totally disagree with Longboat9 's comments and that's before i have even been there . - But i will be in 2 days .!
Longboat9 ,Don't go to Mexico if you don't like the 'local style of food " - thought you would have learned this with your extensive travelling experience.
Go to the Barcelo and experience the same, i know this from good contact.
I thought vacations were to get away from " the Norm" meet other people with different cultures and enjoy the isolation . 75% Mexicans in the hotel is a GOOD thing .!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
Thank AlbertaBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews