We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frank's Bar & Grill - A must when you are in Ixtapa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Frank's Bar & Grill - A must when you are in Ixtapa”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed at the Presidente from Dec 28 to Jan 11, 2011. The hotel is older, but the room have been updated, especially the bathrooms. When we did have any small problems (doors that didn't lock, safe that didn't work) the maintenance staff was incredibly quick at fixing whatever we needed. The only problem we had with the rooms was noise level. Our friends were given a room which faced the street and Senor Frogs, which has very loud music until very early in the morning. We were given a room which faced the courtyard, where the entertainment stage is located. They have entertainment every night from 9 to about 11:30. so if you like to go to bed early, then I would stay away from the 400 block of rooms. We asked to be moved but unfortunately the hotel was at capacity until after New Years. However, On January 1 we made arrangements to upgrade to a pool view room which was wonderful. It was quiet, and had a lovely view of both the pool and the ocean. Thank you to Erin at the front desk for your special attention to what we wanted.

The food at the resort is fine, but repetitive. This resort differs from others we have stayed in that it does not have one central buffet and then different al la carte restaurants. It has several restaraunts, which offer a variety of specialties in the evenings, however, not all are open all of the time. One difference we enjoyed was that no reservations were required at any of the restaurants, and no dress codes were imposed. Everything is Mexican casual, which means shorts and t-shirts are fine.

This resort appears to be a favorite with Mexican families. I would guess that during our time there the ratio was 80% Mexican to 20% Americans and Canadians. The funny thing was that although there are on-site time share representatives in the lobby, not once did they approach us. They only seemed to be interested in talking to Mexicans, and in fact had an entire area near the pool bar where they would take prospective clients and I never saw anyone who looked like they were from the US or Canada in there. We wondered if they are trying to sell off this resort into time shares for the locals.

The Mexican children were off school until January 10, so the resort was very full until then. On January 10 all of a sudden the pool was quiet, there were lots of deck chairs available, and no line ups at the restaurants. The downside to this was that some of the restaurants were actually closed because of the sudden decrease in guests. If we were to return, we would definitely time our trip to arrive after the crowds have left.

The resort hosts a beach night, where they set up tables and a buffet right on the beach, in the sand. It was very nice, as the weather was beautiful, and the food at this event was very good. On the other hand, the Mexican Fiesta night, which they hold in the courtyard, was not one which I would recommend. Much of the food was deep friend and very greasy. The night we arrived was Mexican Fiesta and there were no available tables, so we had to eat on our laps at a tiny bar table. After that, tjhey held two more Mexican Fiesta nights, at which time we went across the street for pizza.

Speaking of Pizza, across the street from the hotel is a large marketplace area where you can find everything from liquor stores, pharmacy, medical office, tequila shops, an open market, and tons of jewelry and clothing stores. In amongst this shopping area is a place called Frank's Bar and Grill. Frank is a Canadian from Windsor, Ontario, who has lived in Mexico for 13 years, 12 in Ixtapa. His bar has the largest tv screen in town, and he always has football or hockey going. He has a wood burning oven where he makes the most amazing pizza you have ever had. The place is always busy in the evenings, and you can always find Frank stopping at every table to make sure everything is ok, to take pictures, or just to have a chat. If you think there aren't many Canadians visiting Ixtapa, go to Franks - they all hang out there, with good reason. It's fantastic.

The beach at the Presidente, and all along that stretch, is beautiful, but the waves can be big. We had over a week of black flag, which means beach closed, although there were still lots of people in the water. Our kids spent hours in the water "wave bashing" - they are 11 and 13 - but for little kids it's a bit too rough. We all got tumbled by a wave or two. Remember, don't wear anything in the water you don't want to lose. We lost a pair of sunglasses and a favorite hat in the waves! You might also want to make sure your bathing suit fits snugly, if you know what I mean.. . . .

Our Westjet Representative, Wilbur, was a sweetheart and always had a wave and a smile for us. He had just started working for Westjet the week we arrived, but he did everything he could to help us out.

We only did two excursions. The first was a fishing trip which booked with a guy we met on the beach. His name is Benny and he calls himself Big Ben. If you encounter him, STAY AWAY. He gave us a great sales pitch, promising he would take us out on his big boat, fish for 2 or 3 hours, take us snorkelling and for lunch. We paid $300.00 (Canadian) for 6 of us. He told us he would pick us up in his vehicle, but he arrived with one cab, so had to get a second one for all of us. Then he took us to his boat and then left us with a crew who barely spoke English. The crew put out rods and we trolled for about an hour. They never gave us any information, told us what we were doing, where we were going, anything. When one of the rods got a bite, it was a matter of whoever got to that rod first. We caught one small black tuna and my 11 year old caught a very small fish. They took us snorkelling to a very busy spot with many other boats, didn't tell us when we could go. They simply stopped and they all disappeared. I finally asked one of them if we could get off the boat. They had no extra snorkelling gear on board (my son forgot his mask) and we had to ask them to dig out lifejackets, as none were visible or offered. We were only at this location for about 20 minutes so we didn't have time for all of us to go snorkelling. They then took us to Los Gatas Beach, which is supposed to be this secluded location for swimming and where they will cook up whatever fish you catch. The beach was incredibly crowded, hundreds of people. We were introduced to George, who worked at the restaurant, and he showed us to a table. We ordered drinks and were told we would be served lunch. We were not told that lunch would be in 2 hours or that we could go to the beach until lunch was ready, so we ended up sitting and waiting for the entire time. It was very disappointing. To cap off the day, while we were on the boat back to the marina Benny called the crew on a cell phone and told us that we would have to find our own way back to Ixtapa. We are not impressed. We saw Benny several times on the beach after that day, but whenever he saw us he would turn his head or go in the other direction. Lesson learned.

Our other excursion was to Ixtapa Island, which we booked through our Westjet rep. This is a trip worth taking, and you don't have to book it through an agent. We only paid $38.00 Canadian each and that included reliable transportation BOTH WAYS, an English speaking guide, snorkelling (with a guide - if you rent equipment, which was $12.00 per person) and lunch ane one cocktail or beer. The snorkelling was pretty good, although the visibility was not always very good. But the guides will take you to the best spots where the coral is alive and full of fish. The beach is lovely, not overly crowded, and there is shopping and massages. You can either book a tour here or simply take a cab to Playa Linda, and then jump on a water taxi and spend the day on the island.

Ixtapa is very safe, laid back and relaxed. There are no big name American chains like McDonalds and Starbuck, like we found in the Mayan Riviera last year (except for one Subway). It is charming and lovely.

I would recommend this resort to young people who enjoy nightlife, or to those who are looking for an affordable vacation experience. The staff are very pleasant and very efficient. We are undecided if we would return to this resort, but will definitely return to Ixtapa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    397
    230
    140
    129
See reviews for
462
358
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

3 couples along with my husband and I stayed here last Jan/Feb , 2010. We enjoyed the french & Italian al a cartes, they both had excellent food . The Italian was our favourite as you eat outside by the water in Ixtapa's perfect weather. The French was fancier with beautiful blue dinnerware and you felt spoiled while dining here. The hotel is very well located, u only have to walk across the road to shop for items like silver jewellry or the local markets, and yet while lounging around the pool and in the hotel grounds you felt like u were in a beautiful oasis. It is 1 of the few places that we have traveled were I will go for a walk on the beach by myself in the early moring. Our only disappointment was the nightly entertainment, the shows were not up to the standard we have encountered at other 4 star hotels. However the nighly dance(disco) with a D.J. was very enjoyable . We enjoyed ourselves so much that this year we are bringing our family (10 of us) back with us. Unfortunetly our contact Estelle has retired and we are unable to contact someone to help us to prearrange rooms togeather like we did last year, it was a nice perk and made travelling with a group that much easier. Notice general manager Stephan Coudon has been commenting on some of the reviews would be grateful if he would contact me.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

HOTEL GROUNDS:
Although the hotel is old (over 36 years), it is very well kept and maintained. The lobby has a great view of the pool and ocean. The bar near the lobby has live music at night. The pools are clean. There are plenty of launch chairs all around the pools.

ROOMS:
We stayed at one of the villas with a garden view and the location was incredible, pretty much the same as a villa with a pool view. It is very convenient, especially with small children, you can go back and forth to your room quickly. (see video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lL8SkxMGGS4). The only downside would be the beds, although I enjoy a firm bed, these were like the flintstones!

BEACH:
The hotel's beach front is great, over 200 meters in length. There are plenty of launch chairs to choose from, the beach towels are fantastic, very big, clean and comfortable. The ocean and beach are both very clean and the waves were perfect, my children (ages 7 and 9) spent numerous hours playing in the ocean. There are hardly any beach vendors and they do not disturb you at all, unless you want to buy something.

FOOD:
The food was fine. It is a buffet so expect repetition, which we did not mind at all. We always went to the same restaurant for breakfast and ordered the same meal each morning :-) The Sushi restaurant is great (once you find it), nice and cozy. Go early or expect a long line-up. They serve you a la carte with specialty Martinis. In most of the restaurants you may experience line-ups, you need to go early to avoid the crowds. The only inconvenience is that you have to eat at a restaurant. You cannot take food to the beach or by the pool like other hotels such as the Riu's.

SERVICE:
Incredible service, especially if you tip. The waiter got to knows us and would have our breakfast table ready each morning with coffee, orange juice and chocolate milks for the kids. He kept bringing pastries and hot tortillas throughout our breakfast. It was wonderful!

SECURITY:
We felt very safe in Mexico, in spite of the current situation. We ventured to Playa Linda to watch the crocodile show, and had no problems with the transportation. There is hardly any traffic and the city is extremely well kept and maintained with new roads, side-
walks, etc.

ENTERTAINMENT:
This is one of the areas for improvement. They do have a show, which starts at 9:15 PM every night and last about 45 minutes. It is very amateur, but the kids still enjoyed it. Just something for the hotel's management to consider. Not a big complain, just a comment. (This may impact families with teenagers or young adults more than us)

OVERALL:
Great experience. When we left, we all received a gift from the General Manager, it was a nice Mexican art craft. We would highly recommned this hotel and Ixtapa as well. If you have any questions, feel free to send me an email.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtompki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa and best wishes for 2011.

We would like to thank you for taking your time to post your detailed comments and give a full feedback of your stay and of Ixtapa. We have taken notes to your recommendations and will make the improvement necessary.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again at your Presidente InterContinental Ixtapa

Best regards,


Stephan Coudon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was our 2nd time at The Presidente . Very happy to see all the upgrades that have been made, rooms have new bathroom fixtures and beds. The Hotel has been painted on the outside and looks great !! Our 4 teenage & 1 tween grandkids , were never bored. They swam in the ocean ,snorkled , walked the long sandy beach, played beach volleyball(I think we ruled the court !!) released baby sea turtles, saw crocodiles eat raw chicken, swam in the pool, parasailed, swam with dolphins and bartered with the vendors by the beach.. We rarely sat still !!
The staff is so friendly. We truly feel like they are our friends. Especially Cleo at the towel booth, what a great front end man you have here, always happy and smiling.
We took in all the ala cartes, all of us love sushi !!. Loved turkey dinner Christmas eve and 2 Mexican nights !!
Our daughter and her husband had been to Mexico before and they liked Ixtapa because everything you want is so close at hand.

The young adults would have liked more Karoke time.
One of our rooms was right at the bottom of the stairs where the staff bring all the dishes etc to clean up and it was noisy at times til 4am. The rest of us slept well.
The bar is noisy but shuts down promptly at midnight so that isn't bad.
The Grandkids booked to go biking but on arrival found out they couldn't bike because they weren't 18, all very capable athletes so this was too bad (17,15,13).Their parents were going as well.
The biggest drawback was that 6 of us ended up with travelers diarrhea. Not sure why. Three did go on the sunset cruise sponsored by Nouitours other wise we did not eat or drink anything off resort. We have not had this issue before. None of us drank tape watered but did have water with our meal at the ala carte.

In spite of that we will return. We love your hotel we LOVE Ixtapa.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeezerAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

My husband and I visited Ixtapa for the first time Dec/10. What a great spot! It was so clean and safe and our hotel was across the street from tons of shops and restaurants. I would have no problem walking to a store by myself. Our hotel was great too! We requested a pool view room but not only could we see the pool but the ocean was not that far out of sight. It was noisy at night with the bar being only feet away but it did not bother us. The food was very good. We did eat off site a couple of times but for the most part, ate all our meals there. Beautiful beach that you could safely walk morning and night. Both my husband and I have decided Ixtapa is where we will travel to for our next Mexican holiday. We have been to Mayan Riveria and Puerto Vallarta but this is by far our favourite.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bas56_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and service. Thank you sincerely for posting this wonderful review. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

We hope to welcome you again at the Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa for your next stay.

Sincerely,

Stephan Coudon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We loved the Intercontinental. From the greeting at the front desk, to the friendly staff who always said 'hola' in passing, to the great bartenders and service staff. Every night there were flowers made into cute animals or hearts on the pillows. We were so surprised about how much we liked the experience, that we only left the hotel once. This was our first time to an all inclusive, and I must say, it rocked! There was also a mexican fiesta on Saturday night that was alot of fun, and also had great food. The pool was nice, although not very deep. Swim up bar was alot of fun, gracias Umberto! There were plenty of activities during the day from Aqua Aerobics, beach volley ball, water volleyball, etc.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend, with no hassles. It was like being on a cruise ship on a beautiful beach!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpn7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Dear Guest,

Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa wish you a Merry Christmas.

We would like to thank you to post your comments; your feedback is very important for us to improve our service!

I'm glad you enjoyed your room, our facilities and service; one of our purposes is to make your stay the most relaxing vacation ever!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again in a near future.

Cordially,

Stephan Coudon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

rooms were very clean and kept up. Very low key place. water is not pretty to look at and was very wavy ( we had a black flag up the whole time). You can not get up and get cokes ,juices etc. when you want to you have to ask a person at a bar to get it for you. Only 1 rest. open at a time for lunch ,dinner etc. Food is good , not a bunch to pick from. Nothing going on at the hotel during the day and if you are from the u.s. don't be looking for anyone else to be it's mostly locals. Room service cost $2 and bars don't open till 11;00 am. It's not 24/7 just get up and get what you want. This place I find mostly relies on tips. Would not stay again, boring and not easy access to drinks,food and things to do. I live in a boring place, I need life!!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kittylover05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you to take your time to share your experience at the resort. Your comments are very valuable, and we are taking note of your observations which I will discuss with my team.

We are sorry that we do not meet all your expectations. Generally we have a weekly schedule for the restaurant opening and we offer always more than one restaurant open for lunch and for dinner. And YES, everyday you can find at anytime a restaurant open: Caribeño, la Isla, Frutas & Flores and the Delli (11pm to 6:30am), plus room service...

We also offer Entertainment starting from 9am to 6pm (Beach volleyball, aqua arerobic, bike Tour, tennis lesson etc...) and at night we have Karaoke, dance shows, live music, etc…).

And about your comment about local people, you are in Ixtapa - Mexico, and it's normal that you will find mexican guest having vacation with their family in our resort as you have.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Cordially,

Stephan Coudon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly InterContinental Presidente)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing