We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ixtapa
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,450)
Filter reviews
2,450 results
Traveler rating
1,246
561
322
166
155
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,246
561
322
166
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexican fiesta tower rooms pool view mary lou pool bar fiesta night cigarette butts directly across the street activities staff yogurt great vacation ocean front beautiful beach mexican food playa linda beach volleyball bike ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2,450 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The entertainment was by far the best part of this hotel. I learned how to play volleyball and they were very good. They are very talkative and nice. Never got bored with the entertainment. Highly recommended hotel.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 709ellaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVerones, Director General at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you 709ellaa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Entertainment es muy Bueno. Carlos y uriel are the best people ever and they are so funny. They are so muscular. Great view. Carlos saved us from a crocodile with a small rope. If it weren’t for his bravery I don’t think we would have survived.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank avatallarico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVerones, Director General at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you avatallarico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We arrived by coach to a lobby FILLED with suitcases, and many, MANY locals checking in. We went to grab lunch to wait for our rooms. Main buffet was good, but when locals got checked in, it was ridiculously crowded and not organized. We were then assigned to our garden view rooms, 4 in total. 3 of the rooms temperatures never got below 22-23C, even after many complaints and maintenance visits. All rooms felt damp. Rooms were adequate, and clean, with nice large balconies.
During our first 2 nights, you couldn't even move around the pool, no chairs, and lines to even get into the restaurants for lunch. They literally let the locals take over the place. Not enough restaurants for that many people. We had to eat across the street! Then 200 of the 300 occupied rooms checked out, and things improved. Food is good. Both buffet and a la carte. Breakfast was great. No place to get a soda or anything to drink before 11am, unless you are at a restaurant. Beach is fantastic! Wide and clean and water is clear, once you get past the break. Waves were fun! Carlos on the beach was the man, and took great care of us every day. He made our day! Had awful issues with the towels. They keep track of the serial #'s on the towels and somehow they never seemed to match up. Had to use dirty wet towels for 5 days!
Pros: Authentic Mexican style, perfect location, good quality food, amazing beach, staff was great.
Cons: Overcrowded with locals, not enough dining options, towel system, room temps, no mini bar, limited bottled water

Room tip: Garden view rooms were quiet, king bed rooms have big balconies.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVerones, Director General at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

dear Nikki H, There is no doubt that we are the best option with the largest surface property in the entire area, more than 6000 square meters, the huge beach, more than 300 linear meters, the largest pools and gardens, located just in front across the street of the ixtapa centers with all kinds of stores, just have a look in our live webcams 24 hours a day, is very easy going in this site: webcamsdemexico and choose: Webcams, then choose: Ixtapa and : Playa Poniente Or Center are our views, enjoy it all the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Was suspect going to a holiday inn for an all inclusive...but were pleasantly surprised. Hotel was clean...all of it. Washrooms, restaurants, public areas, beach...everything. we went with friends from Vancouver, and all in all had a great time.

The staff that made it more than worthwhile:

Carlos H. ( beach service). The happiest guy on the beach, friendly , fast and genuine.

Irving & Claudia ( sports bar). Friendly and extremely hard working. Never felt like a tourist, and was treated with genuine respect.

Jesus ( main restaurant) very accommodating, very polite, treated us very well.

Javier & Adolfo ( beach bar), these guys looked out for us, and made us feel welcome. If there was no room in their section(s), we would wait or come back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVerones, Director General at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thank you Rick A for sharing such nice comments, this is your home in this Mexican pacific paradise and we will welcome you whenever you want

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

We waited over 1 hour and 30 minutes to check in after a long day of travel. The hotel staff did nothing to speed up the process. Some people were very rude, leaving the line for over 1/2 an hour to eat and then jumping back into queue after someone held a spot for them.

We stayed in a garden room view, and I agree with another reviewer about the noise. The noise, the noise, the noise every night from the open air stage and centre square, until about midnight made it impossible to sleep. Then in the morning before 8 am we'd get awoken by construction in a room across the hallway. If you have kids, they will be miserable in the evenings. And the quality of the shows was very poor compared to trips to other Mexican resorts.

Amazing beach and warm water temperatures. Food ok. Gym ok, but dirty and run down.

Would stay somewhere else in this hotel zone next time.

Room tip: Based on discussion with others and other reviews, all rooms are noisy. Avoid garden view rooms in proximity to the open air stage.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank YYCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVerones, Director General at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thank you for your valuable opinion of this your home in the paradise of the Mexican Pacific. I appreciate your time in sharing them. I wish you the best of years in this 2020.
I invite you to live the wonderful views from our hotel, It is very easy to use, just go to this website: webcamsdemexico and choose: Webcams and then look for: Ixtapa and you will find Playa Poniente and Centro, enjoy this paradise all the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews