We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were put up at this "all-inclusive" hotel by UA after a trying day at the airport and a cancelled flight. Knowing that I was already not in the best of moods, I put that all aside and was happy that UA was putting us up in an all-inclusive that was just a stroll from my original accomodations and looked appealing from the outside. Not so much inside. No in-room WiFi available, not even for purchase. Only WiFi available was in the lobby and that wasn't working when we got there. Once we got to the room, the toilet was leaking and the floor soaking wet. We called and they came up with towels, did some trouble shooting and couldn't find anything wrong. The room was double occupancy with 2 double beds (not queen) and very hard...not firm...hard. The food was average. The Margarita I had was so sour I couldn't drink it. We left the property to get dinner (good thing) and when we returned after a long day, just wanting to sleep, we were kept awake by a show that was so loud even the air conditioner didn't drown out the sound, and it went on until close to midnight.

Room Tip: I don't know of any
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Karen C,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. We are sincerely sorry if we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion especially with the condition of your room and if your dining experience was sub par. Your comments have been noted and will be addressed specifically with the appropriate departments to ensure similar incidents do not happen again in the future.

Again, we thank you for your review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    398
    232
    141
    129
See reviews for
467
359
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The entertainment was poor. It is not a family oriented hotel. If you have ever stayed at an all inclusive before you will be dissapointed with this one. The children's club activities were planned each day but were not often followed. The adult activites repeated everyday. Not much variety. The food was ok. The rooms in the tower were old and need to be upgraded. We would not stay here again nor would we recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwonderingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear bwonderingg,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Presidente family is simply the best Zhiau/Ixtapa has to offer . From the gracious Bell Captain and his Bellatones ,the incredible Concierge Jorge and the front desk who all treat the guests with respect ,honour and grace.True warm friendly service and hospitality. No request is too much for the dedicated staff ,they really make one feel at home .
The new renovations and constant care of the grounds and pool make the Presidente the best hotel for that real Mexican feel . Situated on the largest beachfront with beautiful views and sunsets ,the beach is easy to walk and safe.
The food was top notch with a new Chef Rafael who has updated and refined the menus with great success and reviews .The room service and restaurant staff are very professional and provide 5 star service at all levels.
I would highly recommend this destination to the baby boomers,who are looking for variety and a relaxing safe holiday on the Pacific coast where the weather is beautiful and the people amazing. To my many friends at the Presidente ,Gracias for your dedication and excellent service. God willing we will definitely return to our Ixtapa home and Presidente family.

Room Tip: Superior pool/ocean view is best for us more seasoned travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was my second trip to Ixtapa (Feb 21-28, 2014), my girlfriend and friends I traveled with have been to Ixtapa a lot more times than me (7-12 times each). We stayed at the Park Royal last year and loved it, but it was too expensive this year so my group decided on the Presidente, since two of them stayed there before. We had pool view rooms that also had a great view of the ocean. The rooms were updated. The staff was just overall friendlier then what we experienced last year, and we were impressed with the staff at the other resort. I enjoyed the food; another couple said the food has gotten a lot better since a few years ago. We still went out 5/7 nights to eat, but of the two nights we stayed on resort to eat dinner the food was amazing. There was a dinner in the courtyard and one on the beach. The pool bar staff is great; you treat them well they will treat you even better. A huge thank you to Humberto, Victor, Carlos, and Thomas for their excellent service. The ladies at the lobby bar (Carmen and Maribell) also go above and beyond the expected service. If you need something the concierges will do their best to get it for you; the front desk staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. I feel bad we can’t remember the name of one of the managers/supervisors (maybe Juan) who talked with me a few times and was very informational. The activity staff kept everyone entertained. Also a big thanks to Teodore for a friendly greeting and big smile everyday as we enter and left the resort. We miss the resort and staff and look forward to seeing you all next year!

Room Tip: A pool view room is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Had an amazing vacation at the Presidente! Have been to Ixtapa several times, and absolutely loved staying at this resort! Got our room upgraded (thanks to Isabel) to an amazing ocean view with giant balcony, our maid went above and beyond our expectations, she even gave us homemade bracelets and cleaned my pants! The staff is beyond compare, helpful, fun and friendly. Carmen in the lobby bar, the towel guy, waitstaff (Thomas and Carlos), bartenders (Umberto and Victor) were the best, always there with a smile and always remembered our names. Food was good, room service was great, they even had a great Mexican fiesta and dinner on the beach. Resort was spotless, pool was great, location was perfect! Definitely would stay here again! LOVED IT!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRISHIE06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eganville
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I always check trip advisor for reviews on any place we decide to go and the good reviews of this place are spot on. This resort was an overall great experience for a week and the service was great, the weather in Ixtapa was wicked awesome the entire week we were there February 17 to the 24, 2014. It is very well kept and cleaned no issues with the maid service or the cleanliness of the washrooms around the resort. The resort is small and easy to get around so easy to access to food and bars. It has an older vibe to it as most of the people there were 65+ the week we were there, but not just our resort we noticed that as we walked the beach and streets everyday, I would say because Ixtapa is a very safe area. They are a family friendly resort as we saw a lot of couples with kids and also had lots of daily activities for young and old to do during the day.
A few things we did not like were the lack of bars open on certain days(sometimes only one), no dedicated disco area (used the sports bar) that shut down at midnight, no money exchange at front desk and coffee in the morning for early risers. No matter how late we stayed up my internal alarm got me up at 5:30, and it was hit and miss if there was coffee available in the sports bar so you had to bug the people trying to set up the morning buffet.
They put on a couple of special dinner services that were great, one was on the beach very nice and the other was a Mexican fiesta in the parking lot that I thought was outstanding lots of bright vibrant colours, music, and tons of delicious Mexican dishes as I love hot spicy foods I was in my glory.
As far as food at this resort it was good you will not go hungry, they always had fresh fruit and salads at all meals as well as a few Mexican dishes.
I do recommend this resort we were not disappointed with our stay and they go out of there way to get you what you need.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Can
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent a week at the Presidente from Feb 17 to 24 with 9 family members ranging in age from 20yrs to 75ys. We have travelled to many Caribbean Islands including Jamaica, Antigua, St. Lucia, Cuba and other parts of Mexico ie Huatulco, Cozumel and Mayan, as well as other destinations such as Costa Rica , Hawaii, Europe, Peru, Africa to name a few. We did our research, asked questions on Trip Advisor and decided this place would be perfect for our family vacation. We were looking for a smaller resort, guaranteed good weather, access to bars and shopping, 24 hr food and drinks and a nice beach. We were not disappointed ! We all enjoyed this hotel and felt we got good value for our money. The plus for this resort is staff (which provide fantastic customer service) as well as the location on the beach and market area. And of course the PLUS for Ixtapa is the weather.

In Summary: If you are looking for great weather in a relaxed setting, with great service and good Mexican style food you will enjoy this place. If you are looking for a 5 star with fancy rooms, 5 star dining and a beach with calm crystal clear water – this is not the place for you.
For more details on this resort read on.
Arrival and transportation from airport
• On the plane we completed a form for each person which we handed in at the security check in – this was well organized and moved fast
• Airport was small but clean – we were quickly able to find our bus – they were selling beer on the bus for $3.00
• Check in at the resort seemed to be very slow and took longer than expected given there were only about 10 of us checking in at once.
• There was no welcome cocktail or music upon arrive
Resort overall
• Loved the location and the fact that it is a smaller resort where everything is close – you can see the ocean from the front lobby
• There is a tower as well as 2 story villas around the pools – I would suggest a superior poolview room and not the tower
• I’d guess the mixture of guests was about 50% Can and 50% American and on weekends it was more list 20% Mexicans. 40% Can and 40% American
• The average age was between 50 and 60 – no rowdy college kids that is for sure
Rooms
• I had emailed ahead of time for a ground floor pool – we had 3 rooms in our party and all were located on the ground floor facing the pool. We paid for superior poolside room
• Where we had 3 in a room they brought a cot and they brought it immediately( we had 3 rooms in total)
• Our best room was 3140 which was pool view but also just steps from the ocean – it was a superior pool view
• Other rooms we had were 3130 and 3134 – which were a great location on ground floor and central to everything – we could hear the ocean all night
• Rooms are not fancy but have a tv, alarm, lots of closet space, iron ,fridge, hot water, lots of towels, hairdryer, shampoo and lotion that was replaced daily – even face clothes – no coffee maker
• Maids were excellent cleaning everyday and replacing towels
• Fridge – was stocked when we got there but not after – with water and pop
• We had a patio with chairs and a table just outside the sliding doors
• The lighting in the room was not great and the mirror is in the bathroom and in the dressing area – but there is no mirror in the bedroom area
• The beds were fantastic!! Comfy duvets and huge pillows – the best beds we have ever had at a resort!
• Our air conditioner was very loud – but in other rooms they did not even hear it
• Rooms are basic but clean and ours was the perfect location
Pools and Grounds
• Pools were cleaned daily – there is a kids pool and another adult pool that sort of weaves through the deck area – with one main pool and then a smaller one with a swim up bar – we spent the last day by the pool and the rest of the time by the beach
• Grounds are lush and lots of greenery – they work constantly to keep the place clean
• Lots of chairs around the pool and on the beach – you don’t have to get up at 7 to play the towel game – loungers are in good shape and comfy
Towels
• Towel cards are given and traded for HUGE soft towels
• They never ran out of towels and the towel hut was open from 9 am to 8 pm which was nice – the guy at the towel hut is very friendly – they also have a book exchange there
Beach
• Long , wide and flat beach – great for walking or running
• There is lots of wave action and a lot of the time they are very stong – if you are looking for calm waters for snorkeling you need to go to Ixapa Island
• There were lots of fish just out front
• The beach is cleaned daily – sand get very hot by about 11
• There are lots of loungers and shade huts which look like new
• Try parasailing – a great price at $20.00
• One thing we did miss was water sports – they did not have any catamarans, or paddle boats, or sea kayaks , paddle boats etc…
Bars and Bar Service
• Pool bar is open from 11 am to 6 pm
• Sports bar is open from 6pm to 12pm
• Room Service is 24 hrs and cost $3.00
• Food (tacos, pizza, sandwiches) and beer only after 12 pm was available at snack bar
• If you want drink and bar is not open , order room service and for $3.00 you can get drinks and food BUT you will have to pay for water at $1.65 – hence the saying beer is cheaper than water in Mexico - people were ordering beers and bloody mary’s at 7 am and by 715 they were at the room
• A HUGE thank you to Carlos who looked after us on the beach and made sure our glasses were always full! We never had to get up for a drink! Not only did he make sure we were well hydrated – one day when my daughter was not feeling fell he made sure he took special care of her – THANK YOU Dr Carols!! Carlos looks after the huts on the beach to the right of the pool( if you are facing the ocean) Go say HI to him
• My husband lost his prescription sun glass in the ocean – Carols got the beach guys that do the parasailing to look for them and they found them way out on the reef – needless to say they got a tip that made their day
• At night in the Sports Bar, Carman and MaryLou always made sure we had a table and that we had drinks – again outstanding service here
• No Irish Cream, Spanish Coffee or Champagne put they did have some top shelf liquor like Smirnoff vodka ad Bacardi rum
• Because they have such good table service there was NEVER a line up at the bar
Internet
• They had WIFI in the lobby and sometimes you could get it on the patio at the room or by the pool – but it was not consistent except for in the lobby
Restaurants
• It was a bit of a guessing game as to where they would serve the meals but everything was very close it did not matter
• Breakfast was the buffet with typical selection of fruit, pastries, Mexican style dishes, eggs and bacon( fri to sun you need to as for bacon from omelet lady)
• Lunch was buffet or snack bar
• Snack bar had wonderful hamburgers, tacos, nachos and cheese, fresh salsa, hot dogs and French fries
• Buffet has sub like sandwiches, soup, salade , fish , veggies – more of a healthier choise
• My sister that was with us is a vegetarian and while she found enough to eat there were not vegetarian defined dishes – she often found meat in dishes she thought were meatless
• Dinner – buffet and ala cart
• Tues was Beach BBQ night – they spend the entire day setting up for this – what a great dinner and set up right on the beach
• Sat was Mexican night – again they spend all day setting up in the front parking lot – this was a great meal with authentic Mexican food – this night you could also get suchi – which was not well know but we did know this and were able to order a couple plates for our table – this might they had vendors set up in the front square
• Italian and french – we ate at both of these and both were good
• For ala carts you do not make reservations – just show up
• Dinner Buffet was excellent as well – service was good and there was rarely a line
• We all enjoyed the red and white wine and it flowed freely at both the buffet and ala carte
Money Exchange
• The hotel only exchanges Canadian to Pesos – If you have American you need to go to the bank – there is often a line and you need a photocopy of your passport and a 2nd piece of ID
Location of the Hotel
• Central located in the hotel zone with one of the best beach fronts in the area
• Right across the street from bars, shopping and resultants and just down the street from the market
Getting Off resort
• The Olympics were on when we were there so we watched 3 hockey games Generals Sports Bar – what a great place – we felt like we were in his home – great atmosphere and wonderful hospitality – he opened up at 6 am on Sun morning for the mens gold metal hockey game. The owner walked about serving drinks and wearing a Canada hat ( with a beaver on it )
• We went to the market and did a bunch of shopping
• Ixapa Island – a great trip if you want to snorkel - $1.00 bus ride
• La Ropa Beach in Zihautango – get on the bus and head to Zihautango and check out the fish market, shopping and other wonderful beaches
• It is safe to walk around both of these areas
Activities and Entertainment Staff
• There was always something going on – not as much as at other resorts we have been to ie no dance lessons or Spanish lessons , but they had zumba, beach Vball, water aerobics, bingo – the activities staff were not in your face but almost too distant. They were not involved in the shows at night dancing or doing skits like at some resorts.

Some opportunities for improvement
• The Front Lobby needs some comfy chair and tables so people can gather here to play cards, check email , or have drinks before dinner – there is a huge area just screaming for comfy chairs
• Beach Sports – would be nice to have access to paddle boards or kayaks but I think they are limited due to the current and red flags
• More options for vegetarians – or improved labeling for vegetarian dishes
• Activities Staff – need to give the guests the opportunity to get more involved – I know there were at least 4 or 5 staff – but at other resort there could be up to 20 – and these resorts are comparable in size to this one.
• Seemed to be a lack of communication on what ala cart were when and where they would be – maybe posting this at the activities board would help . For example a the Mexican night you could also get the suchi. We just happened to find this out and were able to get some, but other had no idea it was available.
• Getting morning coffee to take back to the room was always a challenge. They did have coffee available at the sports bar from 12 pm to 6 am but they should leave it there for those that want coffee between 6 am and the time they go for breakfast. Many people including us would go to the servers at the restaurant and they would have to get it for us.
• WIFI – we were fine with it just in the lobby, but at time we could get it from our rooms or by the pool. This seemed to be random - either have it available just in the lobby or make it accessible consistently in other places.

In summary – Although the resort is showing it’s age the service at this resort is outstanding, weather was fantastic , food was good and plentiful( 24 hrs) and location on beach and strip is perfect which makes it great value for your money. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for this type of vacation.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Room Tip: upgrade to superior pool view and ask for villa - not tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVETOTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 22 in Ixtapa
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly InterContinental Presidente)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing