We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faboulus beach and very clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited here q few years ago and were very pleased.
The room was lovely and the staff were very accomdating.
The beach is long and lovely to walk on.
The food was tasty and we hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the beach,we moved and it was not a problem. Both rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francesderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

It has been such an amazing experience here in Ixtapa. The hotel inter-continental Presidente is such a beautiful hotel it's very comfortable, the environment it's very interesting and attractive. The employees such as the Concierge, the guys in reception, the guys at the restaurant are very polite and they're always taking care of anything that you need, the bell boys are very nice and very respectful.I had a good time staying here in this hotel, I totally recommend this amazing hotel to anybody who likes to spend a good and relaxing vacations. I'll defenetly come back soon! Thank you inter-continental Presidente hotel for the good service you have provided me. :D

Room Tip: The ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank veronica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our family's second time to the Presidente in Ixtapa and we had a great time. We were there for 13 nights and stayed in the ocean-beach front room. The room was perfect being 3 steps to the beach. On some mornings, I just laid on the hammock (on the patio of the room) reading while my kids were within reach on the beach playing. We were greeted by new towel creatures every time we returned to our room.

One of the things we loved about this resort is that it's very family friendly. The majority of guests are families from other parts of Mexico. My kids (even without knowing a word of spanish) made plenty of friends. All pool activities are inclusive of everyone from little toddlers to grandmas and grandpas. These activities included water polo, pool volleyball, water balloon fights, and aqua-aerobics.

What my husband and i love most about this resort is the friendlieness and special attention the staff pays to the guests. Because of my many food allergies, the staff was very accommodating and had the chef prepare dishes specifically for me (when there wasn't food I was able to eat). Stefan (Manager) and Jorge (Concierge) also were extremely helpful in coordinating diving trips for my husband, who was just certified on this trip. (Just a side note: CarlosScuba is awesome!). From lending us an umbrella when it rained, to arranging a car from the airport... I just can't say enough about the wonderful staff at this resort.

The resort itself is located in a very safe area with shopping, grocery stores and a Citibank (Banamex) across the road. I felt safe walking out of the resort by myself during any time of day. The beach is also very safe and clean.

Overall, the Presidente in Ixtapa is a great place to relax and have fun. The weather is beautiful in Ixtapa and the staff really takes care of you - what more can you ask for?!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank WestchesterNY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our fourth visit to El Presidente in Ixtapa and as always, we had a wonderful time. Rainy season in Ixtapa pretty much means you will experience lovely soaking shower/storms at night while you sleep, and hot, hot sunny days in which to enjoy tanning by the ocean and the swimming pools. The hotel building itself is one of the first resorts built in the area, and because of that it has a beautifully authentic feel, with terra cotta floors, flower-filled grounds, and open-air lobbies & restaurants. The staff clearly prides itself on keeping rooms updated and impeccably clean. The location of El Presidente is PRIME, right in the middle of the beach within the main hotel zone of Ixtapa. You can walk across the street and access numerous shops, restaurants and bars, in less than 5 minutes. The beach is a spotless, perfect walking beach that runs about 3 miles long if you walked the length of it and back. There are some beach vendors who periodically walk by and sell their silver or various wares if you are interested, but not so many that you would ever get annoyed by them. We got to know several of them by name and enjoyed seeing them pass by every day. Everyone who works at the resort, from top level management all the way to maintenance and pool/beach staff, are hard-working, friendly, and go out of their way to help meet your every need. You cannot walk by a Presidente staff member without receiving a big smile and a greeting from each one of them. Jorge, the Chief Concierge, is a wonderful, helpful man of great integrity who invests his heart and soul into caring for hotel guests day in and day out. We have developed a close friendship with him over the years, as well as with so many others (Anabelle at the front desk; Carlos, Sylvester, Jesus, Juan, Armando who all take great care of us down on the beach and at the pools, Beatrice in the restaurants, Mary Lou in the Lobby Bar, all of the wonderful bellmen at the front door, Miguel who keeps the beach & pool area clean by picking up empty cups and garbage all day long, and the amazing Security Staff who constantly kept watch over us and made sure we were comfortable) - it is truly a blessing that the same people we have grown to know and love consistently remain working at this hotel year after year. Jorge helped us arrange for every outing we wanted to go on, from a family ATV tour, to visiting Ixtapa Island, Las Gatas Island, hanging out for a day on the surfing beach of Troncones, or just simply going out to eat at night - he found us drivers with large vehicles to seat our family of 7, and always called the establishments we needed reservations for, to ensure they would be ready for us. The food at the restaurants in El Presidente was excellent and was always provided with the best service from a clearly well-trained waitstaff, morning, noon and night. Sometimes, when the hotel was quite full of guests and we knew we may have trouble fitting our large family at a table, Jorge and the Executive Chef, Chef Gabriel Villavicencio, would actually come out and visit us as we lay out in the sun on the beach during the day, and ask us what we wanted to eat for dinner later, and then they would set up an elaborate table just for us, right on our patio outside our room, and serve our family everything their hearts could desire, all orchestrated perfectly by our wonderful friend Abail (Abel?) who was in charge of the restaurant management and his staff- everything was delicious and amazing, right down to the elaborately prepared bananas flambe' and Italian coffee. Unbelievable!! We truly cannot say enough about this hotel. It doesnt matter which year or what room we stay in, we consistently receive top notch treatment, warm smiles, and deepening friendships every time we visit. The rooms we have occupied vary between the beachfront rooms, a junior suite up in the tower, and this last time was a grand stay in the Presidential Suite in order to fit all of our family. Every room is beautiful and immaculate. The maids are outstanding and gifted in the art of adorable bedtop towel/floral arrangements placed just so, to make you feel pampered every time the room is cleaned. I dont know what else to say about this hotel, other than that the staff are really what make our vacations fabulous and memorable. We have stayed at many many hotels in Mexico over the past 13 years and this hotel is by far our favorite. Thank you SOOO much Jorge!! You are the best! Thank you as well to Chef Gabriel, your food and recipes made our family absolutely delighted! Thank you everyone at El Presidente for all of your dedicated hard work and kind smiling faces. We always have a great, great vacation while in your care! Warmest Regards, TODD & MIRANDA DARLING & FAMILY

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are outstanding - the waves are practically under your nose, they have nice bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Miranda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have been going to Ixtapa for years and always stay at this hotel. The location is awesome super good beach but the best part of the hotel is the staff. From the front desk to the servers and everything else inbetween. There were six of us some with special dietary restrictions and just no problem. We are looking forward to going there again next year and everyone wants to go again! Can't thank the hotel staff enough with special thanks to Jorge Luis Sanchez at the front desk who was exceptional! !! AlsoJesus and Lucilla who kept us so well watered!! You are all wonderful and so good at what you do. You made our stay wonderful.
The Lubin Family

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lubinstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Getting to Ixtapa

My partner and I journeyed from the UK via Miami and Mexico City to the international airport which covers Ixtapa. We decided to have two days in Miami, breaking the journey which amounted to four flights in total.

Upon our arrival in Ixtapa, we managed to locate a taxi to the Intercontinental at 380 MEX Pesos about 20.00 (GBP), the taxi back to the airport from the hotel was 320 Pesos.

Arrival and first impression

The hotel is getting on, it is about 34 years old and does look tired in places, however, we received a most gracious welcome and were escorted to our suite, which we were delighted with. From the start of our trip to the end the staff could not have been more welcoming and hospitable.

Accommodation

Our suite on the 14th floor was spotless and kept that way every day by a very conscientious and dedicated staff. Every day, towels were arranged in different designs. The room had excellent Wi-Fi provision and a great balcony and view across the beach and Pacific Ocean

Breakfast

Breakfast was 95% Mexican and thanks to reviews i read on Trip Advisor I was able to ask for bacon which was kept hidden under the hotplate where eggs are prepared. The hotel provided a fair choice of cereal; toast had to be ordered together with fruit juice. The quality of the food on offer was of an excellent standard with good quality provision.

Room Service

During the weekend part of our stay we ordered room service on the Friday and Saturday evenings, the quality of the food and presentation left a lot to be desired on the first night, the second night it had improved to a significant level. All other aspects related to this area were good and very attentive to our needs.

French Restaurant

An excellent restaurant, the quality of the food would equal any top hotel in the UK or US. Service was very attentive; the main host Abel was very conscientious to what was going on to the point where your next course was served within a very reasonable time following the preceding course.

Lunch

At lunch time, one has a choice of different venues, all of which were of a buffet nature or fast food. The hotel delivered very high quality food. The salads on offer were exceptional and the hot plate offer changed every day. If you did not fancy anything, the hotel staff were always pleased to prepare something for you. This was especially helpful to my partner who has dietary needs.

Snack bar & pool area

This was okay, the food offer was burgers and hot dogs, not of the greatest quality, but very satisfying, especially for families and children who you would see making various trips throughout the day. As the hotel did not allow food to be consumed outside the designated eating areas, it ensured that the deck chair and seating areas around the pools where kept clean and tidy

Sports bar (Lobby bar)

This is the main bar in the hotel which comes alive each evening. The hotel team are very attentive and very good humoured. My only critique regarding this experience is that 90% of all alcohol beverages served were from locally sourced providers in plastic tumblers. If requested you could get premium brands, however, you need to request these each time and to be safe, I went to the bar to order my own drinks until the bar staff. Beer was a good quality, we were served Sol and a darker beer called Victoria, both of which were very acceptable.

Overall Comments

We had a fantastic time, the following critique and comments should not be viewed as criticism but areas to improve the overall experience of ones stay:

1. As the hotel receives every weekend a great number of the indigenous population who arrive on a Friday lunch-time and depart by lunch-time on a Sunday, greater resources are needed to deliver what is a first class service outside of these times.

2. Areas of the lobby and walkways to the rooms need to be regenerated as parts of the hotel look quite tired

3. The food offered is amongst the highest quality I have experienced at any hotel. By far the French restaurant was a great experience.

4. The staff made our trip, if we did not like anything on the menu the staff would sort something out for you. Our room was cleaned to a very high standard each day, with our maid adding her own little touches. We left the hotel having had a wonderful break, from the General Manager and Chief Concierge down, all the team were great, we were made most welcome and secure during the entire duration of our stay.

5. The beach area and ocean was one of the best I have ever experienced. The beach is about 2miles end-to-end, which you can walk without any shoes, not a stone or pebble in sight. The waves of the ocean can look a little foreboding, however, great water, watch the current, very strong but did not deter great numbers from trying it out every day.

6. Getting out and about from the hotel is very easy, you have opposite the hotel, shops, banks and all other amenities to serve your needs. If you want to journey to different locations within a 10 to 20 mile radius, you can catch a number of busses which operate from outside the main entrance to the hotel. To travel to the main town about 8 miles from the hotel a bus will charge 9 MEX Pesos about 50p (GBP). I would avoid taxis, they are expensive, and the bus allows you to get into the culture on the local people.

Finally, a big thank you for making our trip to Ixtapa very memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flying-Dove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just left this amazing hotel.......and very sad to do so. We had an 8 night dream.
The staff are so FRIENDLY , HELPFULL & courteous. Having an eating disorder ,the chef RICARDO made every effort to my diet, Thank you so much.
You should not really point out individual staff, but ADRIANA and ABAIL in the restaurant so happy and HELPFULL, a pleasure to meet.George concierge most HELPFULL on helping us get around the area, full of information.

THE HOTEL.
has many rooms in the grounds, but also has the MAIN building with 2 glass elevators, the views from the main building are astounding.we had a suite on the 16th floor and it was like being at home sofa,dinning table, 2 tvs , hifi unit, 2 bathrooms, 1 with jacuzzi . The balcony had the most amazing view of the beach

Breakfast.
A whole assortment of fruits, cereal, yogurts,hot buffet ,fresh breads and an EGG STATION made to your order.

Lunch.
You can choose from either the hamburger/hot dog n fries station freshly cooked or from the lunch time buffet with hot n cold buffet with a chef cooking food on the grill.

Dinner.
A choice of the buffet once gain hot or cold to choose from OR there is a choice on different evenings from FRENCH, ITALIAN or SUSHI, EVERY MEAL was cooked to perfection.

Evening entertainment varies ,but they do have A MEXICAN EVENING at the weekend, you actually think you are in a little Mexican village.

We travelled by local bus 9pesos to PLAYA LINDA, when you get off the bus look for the ALLIGATORS,BIRDS and IGUANARS.walk through the artisan centre and you will find the local beach with a couple of places to eat.

We also went to the town of Zihuatanejo,again 9pesos each way, a great place to visit for a half day shopping and browsing.a little beach with plenty of shops on the front or walk around the market in the centre.
On our second visit we WALKED back to IXTAPA took us around 90mins, but it was a cloudy day !!!!!

Overall we had an amazing vacation, we have travelled around the world and stayed in many top hotels but the INTERCONTINANTAL IXTAPA has come into the top 3 of THE BEST.

THANK YOU SO MUCH TO ALL THE STAFF FOR MAKING OUR VACATION A MEMORY WE WILL NEVER FORGET.

STEVEN your the best, thank you for your time, you should be VERY PROUD of an AMAZING TEAM.
Hopefully we may return

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Buxtonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 23 in Ixtapa
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly InterContinental Presidente)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $139 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing