We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I don't know where you'all other reviewers were but it wasn't the same resort we were at.We stayed at the Presidente for two weeks and never ate anywhere else-not once. The property is a bit dated, we were advised to avoid the tower so we took a "garden view" on the quiet side of the property and really liked it.On the second day I asked the maid to scrub around the bathtub because of some mold there-the caulking was removed and replaced within the hour. There was constant maintenance of the property, including installation of wifi for the rooms.
We loved the variety of mexican food and I had the best piece of beef in recent memory( I buy my meat at local butcher shops) at the French dining night. Addmitedly the French, Italian,and sushi meals were not as good as the Mexican meals we had,the beach B.B.Q. was great!
The staff was great and did not expect to be tipped. Because Ixtapa is a Federal Tourist Zone, you can feel confident the area to be safe, clean, green,and staff and vendors to be polite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DMDSJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your comments in TA. Your feedback is very important for us to improve our service day by day. I will work with the Chef and his team to make some change in the menu of the A la Carte Restaurant.

We truly appreciate your support and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

SMC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been to Mexico 10 years in a row - we have never experienced anything like this before. We are not picky people by any means. My husband and I work very hard all year round to enjoy a warm vacation. We have been to Riviera Maya, Cancun, Playa Del Carmen, Mazatlan, Cozumel, Puerto Vallarta, and Ixtapa (at the Azul). This by far was the worst food we have ever eaten! There was only one restaurant open for each meal which was ridiculous. I have never been to a hotel where there was no guacamole offered at any of the restaurants. I had to ask for guacamole, one day I was given it, another day, I was told there were no more avocados! SERIOUSLY??? We are in Mexico - how do you run out of avocado? The breakfast buffet - AWFUL! There was never a variety. Same thing everyday and it was not good. You had to ask for bacon - never before did we ever have to ask for bacon! There was no toaster or bread available except for dinner rolls to eat. There was no cereal except once in a great while - depending on which restaurant happened to be open that morning. We had our 11 year old son along this time and he could only eat pancakes because there was nothing else to choose from. I think they had sausage maybe two days, other than that - no protein other than eggs! Lunch - well, pretty much the same thing - AWFUL! No variety - same thing everyday. Once in a while we would head over to the hamburger/hotdog area just to have something that tasted edible. I do have to say the french fries were really good - but who can live on that grease? Dinner - honestly, not sure what to say about that. If they had the sit down meals - switched between Italian/French they weren't bad - the steak (or as my husband called it shoe leather) was not edible. He used a steak knife and could not get through it. One night at the French restaurant he had pork chops, it was ice cold and tough! The nights they did not offer the menu meals they had a bar-b-que on the beach - nothing edible again. Steak - shoe leather and the rest of the food was awful! The Mexican buffet night was a complete disappointment. We really thought hmmmm, we are in Mexico this has to be good -NOPE! the food was a total disappointment. We went back upstairs to our room and ate our snacks we brought with us. The last night we finally decided we needed to eat something edible. We called Dominos across the street just to get something we could eat (we don't even eat Dominsos at home) but we were so hungry. This was the best meal of the entire week - thank you Dominos!!!!! To add insult to injury, we checked out the next day and were charged $1.40 for making a local call - to Dominos across the street!

Entertainment - the kids aren't allowed to play beach volleyball???? Really??? This is supposed to be a family resort and the kids can't play? I'm not bragging but my kid is actually a pretty good athlete and could keep up with any one of those players - it's not a professional game people.

The music skipped constantly so that sucked! When they actually played music!

We asked for some change from the front desk (we had pesos) we wanted to be able to tip the pool waiters because they are actually great - Carlos in particular - love him! They didn't have change to offer us! Then, I asked on the last day if I could get change for my $5.00 bill, they didn't even have change for that!

Obviously, this resort is hurting - they must make a deal for the local people on Friday - Sunday. It is impossible to find a spot to sit by the pool and the pool bar is always full (even with children)!

Air conditioner ran continuously and if it got about 75 that's pushing it.

It is really sad we had to upgrade and pay an extra $500.00 just to get a balcony and fridge. We have never had to do this before. We were told before booking you could either get a balcony OR a fridge - REALLY????

It's really too bad. The place was nice and pretty clean for the most part. We didn't have hot water much but oh well - I complained enough on this - I think you get the idea. If you are going to spend the money to enjoy your trip, don't go here.

We obviously were really disappointed on our week vacation - we both feel like we were ripped off of a nice family vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you publish your first comments in TripAdvisor. For us your feedback is very important to improve our service and our installation.

Regarding your comments, basically the food and beverage were an issue. Our buffets are scheduled on 10 days to give to our guest a better selection of food. Of course our buffets are based on: fish, beef, pork, chicken, vegetables, rice, beans, pasta … And the chef and his team work hard to prepare theses basic ingredients in different hot dishes. As well you will find the salad buffet, an a la minute dish (every days) and a selection of desserts. And sometimes when we have some guest with special diet, we prepare their food a la minute… So maybe if during your stay, you had share to our F&B department your inconformity, it will be a pleasure to assist you!!!

The kids have a Kids Club with specials activities all the day long and in our Chiqui Club they have their own Volleyball court, minigolf, playground etc… If you want play beach volleyball with your kids you are more than welcome (our Activity Team will provide you a ball) but we must respect also the schedule of the activities for the adults guest. I am sure you will understand that sometime it is better to split the adult activities from the kids ‘activities to avoid any accident…

About your upgrade, you do not have to pay for the balcony or for the fridge, you just have to pay because you decided to have an upper category of room which is quite normal in any resort or hotel in the world. And generally when a hotel is with high occupancy, it is complicated to find your spot even if the hotel has more than 100 palapas... And as a hotel for family, it is normal to find some kids at the pool bar where they can order their drinks!!!

We are very sorry that you and your friends do not enjoy our resort and be sure I will work with my team to give a better impression to our guests.

Best regards,

SMC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed in the Riviera Maya area 3 times, Puerto Vallarta once and the Dominican once. All were far better than this place.
Anybody who says this is a great resort must have never been anywhere else. It might have been good years ago but the occupancy rate was about 30 percent so there was only one restaurant open each night. Friday, Sunday and Tuesday were Italian nights with the same exact menu. Saturday and Monday were French. Same menu. The buffets consisted of about 8 metal warming pans which held about the same thing every day. How many ways can you serve beef? Lunch buffets were no better. Breakfast buffet only had sausage 2 days of the week. We didn't know they had bacon until the second day we were there. Come to find out they keep it hidden under the counter and only give it to you if you ask. Bottled water has to be delivered to your room where they expect a tip. Maximum of 4 bottles per day.
Want ice? Good luck if the bars aren't open.
We heard many people talking about "worst resort ever".
Because they are only at 30 percent occupancy it isn't our fault. Maybe they should put it on their website that they have only one restaurant open per day.
Pool bar was full of kids sitting at the bar everyday. Anyplace we have ever been before, the kids were not allowed at the pool bar.
When we got to he resort our sliding door didn't lock. 3 mornings in a row we had no hot water. Luke warm only. We would just turn the hot water on, no cold, and take a quick shower. When we talked to the front desk they had maintenance come. They said we had to leave it run longer. The next day we let it run for 40 minutes. No hot water yet. I guess they meant longer than that. Some people in our group had mold in their A/C, sliding door wouldn't open. When we asked about a room upgrade they told us it would be an additional $60.00 per night. I would have thought with the low occupancy they would be happy to accommodate people. Not so. Entertainment was poor. Karaoke in Spanish. A guy playing a saxophone to background music??
All in all it reminded us of a hotel going downhill. Probably because of the economy but we were misled to believe it was a top notch place. Not so. If they were totally honest on their website, they would have few people staying there.
The grounds were clean and the staff was friendly but wanted tips got everything they did. We ended up eating off the resort which cost us extra money. For the money we spent off the resort we could have went to the Riviera Maya area and had a really nice place. Oh well, live and learn.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SSIYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you take your time to post your first feedback in TA. Your comments are very important for us. As you can see a lot of our guest who put their feedback has the opportunity to stay in other hotel in Mexico and in the world, and they have a different point of view. But the most important for us is to improve our service and our installation with all the comments we received.

As your group of friends, you had an issue with our selection of food and with the flavor of our dishes. Our buffets are designed with 8 chaffing dish and generally 4 are for the meat (beef, chicken, pork, fish or seafood) and the other 4 are for the side dish (vegetables, pasta, rice, potatoes, beans etc…). We offer also a la minute dish, the salad bar, 2 soups and a choice a delicious dessert. The restaurants a la carte (French restaurant, Italian restaurant and Sushi & Martini) are opened with a special schedule so our guest will not be complaining to have always the same restaurant a la carte opened during all the week. One thing you maybe forget, it is you do not have to make any reservation for the a la carte restaurant and you are not limited the number of time you want to go…

The occupancy of the resort had nothing to do with our level of service and neither with any upgrade. We always work to keep our level of service and offer the same quality.
We are truly sorry that you do not enjoy your stay in our hotel and we hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to show you our improvement.

Best regards,

SMC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wonderful vacation planned with friends, too bad worst resort ever stayed in. Very low occupency so the resort closes restaurants and bars. Evening dining was Italian, then French, then Italian, then French. One night they didn't even bother with opening a restaurant, only one bad buffet was open. I really thought it was a bad joke. It didn't take too long to decide we better eat out. This seems ridiculous since we already paid for "all inclusive".

So many things were crazy: asking for matches at the front desk, "come back in an hour"; ordering Kahlua on the rocks, "can only have Kahlua with vodka and cream," (After checking with the bartender, she would not serve Kahlua alone, but I could have Bailey's on the rocks????); no syrup with breakfast pancakes and again had to ask and then one single serving packet was brought with six of us eating together. It sounds ridiulous, but it the stories go on and on.

We were the lucky ones tho, we had functioning AC, usually hot water and doors that locked.

Crazy place, will never return. First time I ever wrote a review, completed an Apple questionnaire, or complained to our travel agent. NEVER EVER AGAIN.

We have travelled extensively and stayed in all-inclusive resorts. We are reasonable people and started our week with our "vacation attitude". We were all so very disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear K H.

Thanks for taking the time to contribute your feedback, we are always eager to find out our guests opinion. We are deeply sorry you did not receive consistently good service from our hotel staff. We will ensure this feedback is passed on to the relevant team for improvements.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from our 9th year of staying at the Presidente in Ixtapa. We had a great trip staying for 2 weeks with the friendly staff here. The weather here is pretty much always nice and warm.The rooms are always kept nice and clean. The only thing we would like to see is a fridge put in the rooms. The breakfasts are very good with omelettes made to your liking, bacon, toast and a variety of fruit. The staff are always cleaning. Always nice to go off resort and feel very safe. rented bikes agin this year and did the great ride out to Playa Linda. We will be returning next year as long as they is travel from Toronto to Ixtapa.

Room Tip: There are a lot of great rooms at this hotel if you choose poolview. we have never stayed in the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzochurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE.....food is terrible. Where are the restaurants they advertise. Change the menu, add table cloths and the restaurant changes? Give me a break.

Noisy air conditioner, no bar fridge in room, no make-up mirrors, always short of towels...................booked this property because it is part of the Inter-continental group. Never again, worst holiday ever. Breakfast & Lunch were awful everyday, speciality dinners were OK. Oh and be sure to bring lots of cash to the pool/beach if you want service. They wait for the weekends, the best part is all the Mexicans arriving to belly-flop into the pools, where they disregard the no smoking rules.

NEVER, EVER WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PROPERY.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyDanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear JoyDanner,

Thank you for staying with us and writing our property a review. I am happy to know that our location was convenient for your needs. However, allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced with the food served. Thank you for letting us know about this unsatisfactory circumstance as this is our best means of enhancing our service that we offer.

Again, thank you for the candid feedback and my apologies for the inconvenience experienced.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our 9th year in a row @ the Presidente in Ixtapa. Once again the staff and weather were awesome. We have never ever had a rainy day during our years of vacationing there and the weather is always nice and warm.The hotel staff from top to bottom are wonderful,the pool bar is a great hang out for everyone to meet new friends. The beach games are also wonderful,The entertainment crew are the best around also.
The only Problem we had was with American Airlines. We missed our 1st day stay there because the plane did not leave on time so we missed our connecting flight.
The hotel room we stayed in which have had for the past 6 years was clean and well kept up to date.
We will be there for our 10th year god willing that is. Only he will stop me from this wonderful paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brybs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.5 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 23 in Ixtapa
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,910 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly InterContinental Presidente)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $142 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing