We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It was okay; i would stay somewhere else if i went back to ixtapa.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Ixtapa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was okay; i would stay somewhere else if i went back to ixtapa.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The resort is outdated. The room we requested was nothing like the pics on the website. The first room we got was down a dark dank hall and was musty with no balcony as we had requested. The mgmt did move us to a somewhat better room....still dark halls and hardly any lighting. Bathrooms are small and dark with leaky tub and had to request towels everytime we bathed. ONE person at the resort spoke enough english that we could go to him for help.
BEWARE of all the time share people loitering around everywhere!! You cannot walk 5 feet without being bothered by someone trying to con you into buying something or misleading you into agreeing to visit another resort for a "free" breakfast.
If you are going as a couple, there are children everywhere..this is a more family-style resort than a couples get away.
Food was ok; drinks were small and waiters were scarce.
Guess that what we should have expected from an all-inclusive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurensyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    340
    189
    116
    119
See reviews for
401
301
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed last November at this hotel and I was very pleased with the friendly staff and service provided.
The room was great, clean, large and the housekeeping services were always done on time.
The variety of food was great and the snack bar makes delicious hamburgers...and also the pool bar waiters were so friendly especially one named Tomas.
The pool and beach area are very clean and the entertainment activities were fun. We had a great time on the bike riding trip to the reserve were you can see iguanas, crocodiles and turtles in their natural habitat.
Thanks to the chief concierge Jorge who was very helpful.
Would definitely come back and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Andre-d'Argenteuil, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just came back from Presidente Intercontinental in Ixtapa... it is the second time I go to this hotel, and again, I was pleased with everything. The service is incredible, the people are so nice, the food is very good and a large variety, no need to make reservations for à la carte restaurants. The rooms and the entire site are extremely clean. Ixtapa is a very secure place, you can take the bus in front of the hotel for 9 pesos (not even a dollar) and you could go to zihuatanejo which takes about 10 minutes and go shopping all around town, you just need to ask the driver to get you down at cinquo de mayo. You will also see a very nice marina in zihuatanejo as you walk down that street. (you take the bus that says Centro to go downtown Zihuatanejo and you take the bus that says Ixtapa to come back to the hotel. You could also take the bus that says playa Lynda..which take you to where you have taxi boats (40 pesos) a little less then 4 dollars and they take you to the island where you can take you mask and go see some beautiful fish... many great restaurants along the beach with wonderful seafood caught in the morning, very afordable. Also in front of the hotel you have a senor frogs disco and many shops...ice cream stores, flea market 3 minutes walk.... everything is close to that hotel. Bogarts restaurant is beautiful and very great food. A very secure place to be.... Always nice and warm in january since rain only comes in spring.... As a reference, I am 43 and travelled all around and this is definately my favourite place to be... everyone I took there went back . Seriously, can't find one thing to complain about... not one !!! Mexican Fiesta and Supper by the beach organized with so much beauty during the week at no extra fees.... Also you have the opportunity to have your room in the high building with ocean view if you like tall buildings or you can have your room in one of the little buildings all around the site...both are beautiful, I tried both. So, if you want to have a lot for your money and come back happy with beautiful pictures...this is the place to be ! Enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springbaby1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Let's see, we spent few days before Christmas and just before the crowd came in. The service at the beach was almost none existent the first day, the second day we got lucky and got attended by a very good waiter (shame on me I cannot remember his name) . Beach is good for a stroll, also we could go in quite a bit in the sea without getting too deep, water was clear so that I could see my feet. About food: Breakfast was ok nothing surprisingly good, it was more like eating a school cantine except for the nice gentlemen that was preparing the omelets. Supper or dinner I would find it better on the Restaurante La Isla, the three of us concluded the same, although all offer reduced options for desserts. Rooms were very clean a always with a neat detail made out of petals. There is no free internet except at the reception.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloclas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for yours comments. Your feedback is very important for us to improve day by day our service.

I am surprised about your comment about the service on the beach because we always have 2 waiters assigned to the beach all the day long, Carlos is one of them. Concerning the restaurants, we have 2 restaurants o 3 opened for breakfast, depending of the hotel occupancy: Frutas & Flores (with AC), la Isla (facing the Sea) and Caña Brava (facing the Sea). For breakfast you can find always variety of fresh fruits (depending the season), 6 different hot dishes, Omelets station etc… So maybe the restaurants were busy and make you feel like in a “cantine”.

We have free Wi-Fi internet in the lobby, the sport bar and we have also an internet center next to the gym where you can find 3 computer 24h/7. And we are working with project to have internet Wi-Fi in all the hotel this year.

When you mentioned the beach; Playa del Palmar beach is certified by the state “cleanest beach of Mexico” for the quality of water and the sand. All the hotels participate to this program with the authority to maintain this certification.

We appreciate your feedback.

Best regards,

SMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are looking for a perfect vacation stay, look no further. Since our previous review in 2008, we have been back to El Presidente Ixtapa at least twice a year. We didn't think the hotel could get any better than our last review, but it has now truly become our "home away from home". Stefan, the manager, is always working to see that the hotel meets the high standards of its guests. We have seen so many improvements to the rooms, the pool areas and the buildings. Not an easy task, but very well done! Jorge, the chief concierge, along with Micaela have gone out of their way to always help us . Thanks for the royal treatment! We consider ourselves fortunate to have each one of them as our friends. The variety of food choices allows even the most discerning to find dishes that appeal. It's fun to experience new tastes. The entertainment themes each night are also enjoyable.

We first started going to El Presidente in Spring of 2000 and have done a considerable amount of global traveling over the years. We've had our share of good and bad experiences, and we're very pleased to say that all of our experiences at El Presidente Ixtapa have always been fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lenndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the sad moment of departure, the experience was beyond words. We have been to Mexico many times and to many different destinations so have lots to compare to.The staff....where do I begin. The maid service was fantastic, our room was spotless, never wanted for anything. The front desk staff spoke perfect English for those who do not speak Spanish and always helpful with suggestions if you were looing for something specific, be it a souvenir or something else to see. The staff at the entrance always greeted us whether we were coming or going; did we need a taxi or directions. Carlos and Jesus at the pool bar and beach service....never waited for a beverage and always brought what we asked for; from ice water to margarites (mmmm some of the best margarites ever!). The service at the food areas was second to none...our breakfast toast was at our table before we even sat down...they knew exactly what we had for breakfast. The food overall was great! It ranged from Fiesta, International, French, Italian and was always hot and beautifully prepared. Salads like you could only imagine. The beach is beyond compare! As mentioned, we have travelled throughout Mexico and have NEVER seen a beach so clean. They literally clean the beach every 15 days....a cleaning crew comes in with screens and sifts the sand to collect any and all garbage. The cleaning staff throughout the entire resort was amazing, always picking up, never did we see garbage anywhere. Jorge....the concierge...when our friend lost his wallet, did everything possible to help find it but to no avail. The pool was always clean, the pool staff cleaned it every night and we never had to wait to exchange towels either. This may seem an unbelieveable review but trust me, everything is true. Would I return or recommend this resort...IN A HEART BEAT !!!!!! You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: we stayed in a "garden view" room, was always quiet, not next to the pool or bar so there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fenfish2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback in TripAdvisor.

With this kind of comments what can I say, just: “Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.” The staff of the hotel will appreciate your feedback and will be more motivated to do better his job every day.

About the beach, Playa del Palmar is certified “cleanest beach of Mexico”. This certification is delivered by the government after a very detailed inspection, including the quality of the water and quality of sand (residue found). Each hotel has the responsibility to fallow the program, helping with cleaning their part of the beach with their staff. For us, it is very important to maintain this certification.

We wish all the best for 2013 and thank you for recommend our hotel.

Best regards,

The General Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel was very clean. The staff was wonderful and very attentive, especially Jorge, the head concierge, Jesus by the pool and Cleofus, "the towel guy". All were fantastice. The food was great. I tried many new Mexican dishes I had not in the past. Even when the facility started to fill up on the weekend, there were never lines at the restaurants. The views were spectacular. The beach was very clean. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing your comments in TripaAdvisor. Your feedback is very important for us and we used to share it with all our staff.

As you mentioned, we have some very special people in hotel and they are part of the hotel soul. Jorge is like the encyclopedia of Ixtapa Zihuatanejo and Cleofas is amazing, always ready to help you with his smile… And believe me; the staff in general is excellent and passionate with their job.

About the food, I am glad that the Chef help you to try new Mexican dishes and I am sure if you come again, you will try more because Mexico have a very important culinary culture.

We wish a Happy New Year 2013 and thank you again to share your experience at the hotel.

Best regards,

The General Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
2.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 24 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#11 of 24 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly InterContinental Presidente)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing