We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Totally amazing !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Totally amazing !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the sad moment of departure, the experience was beyond words. We have been to Mexico many times and to many different destinations so have lots to compare to.The staff....where do I begin. The maid service was fantastic, our room was spotless, never wanted for anything. The front desk staff spoke perfect English for those who do not speak Spanish and always helpful with suggestions if you were looing for something specific, be it a souvenir or something else to see. The staff at the entrance always greeted us whether we were coming or going; did we need a taxi or directions. Carlos and Jesus at the pool bar and beach service....never waited for a beverage and always brought what we asked for; from ice water to margarites (mmmm some of the best margarites ever!). The service at the food areas was second to none...our breakfast toast was at our table before we even sat down...they knew exactly what we had for breakfast. The food overall was great! It ranged from Fiesta, International, French, Italian and was always hot and beautifully prepared. Salads like you could only imagine. The beach is beyond compare! As mentioned, we have travelled throughout Mexico and have NEVER seen a beach so clean. They literally clean the beach every 15 days....a cleaning crew comes in with screens and sifts the sand to collect any and all garbage. The cleaning staff throughout the entire resort was amazing, always picking up, never did we see garbage anywhere. Jorge....the concierge...when our friend lost his wallet, did everything possible to help find it but to no avail. The pool was always clean, the pool staff cleaned it every night and we never had to wait to exchange towels either. This may seem an unbelieveable review but trust me, everything is true. Would I return or recommend this resort...IN A HEART BEAT !!!!!! You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: we stayed in a "garden view" room, was always quiet, not next to the pool or bar so there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fenfish2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback in TripAdvisor.

With this kind of comments what can I say, just: “Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.” The staff of the hotel will appreciate your feedback and will be more motivated to do better his job every day.

About the beach, Playa del Palmar is certified “cleanest beach of Mexico”. This certification is delivered by the government after a very detailed inspection, including the quality of the water and quality of sand (residue found). Each hotel has the responsibility to fallow the program, helping with cleaning their part of the beach with their staff. For us, it is very important to maintain this certification.

We wish all the best for 2013 and thank you for recommend our hotel.

Best regards,

The General Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    344
    190
    117
    120
See reviews for
402
304
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Washington, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel was very clean. The staff was wonderful and very attentive, especially Jorge, the head concierge, Jesus by the pool and Cleofus, "the towel guy". All were fantastice. The food was great. I tried many new Mexican dishes I had not in the past. Even when the facility started to fill up on the weekend, there were never lines at the restaurants. The views were spectacular. The beach was very clean. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing your comments in TripaAdvisor. Your feedback is very important for us and we used to share it with all our staff.

As you mentioned, we have some very special people in hotel and they are part of the hotel soul. Jorge is like the encyclopedia of Ixtapa Zihuatanejo and Cleofas is amazing, always ready to help you with his smile… And believe me; the staff in general is excellent and passionate with their job.

About the food, I am glad that the Chef help you to try new Mexican dishes and I am sure if you come again, you will try more because Mexico have a very important culinary culture.

We wish a Happy New Year 2013 and thank you again to share your experience at the hotel.

Best regards,

The General Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It was my first time to Mexico. And what a great holiday I had.Right from the moment I arrived everything was great.All the staff was so friendly and helpfull. I cannot believe how clean and first class everything was. The food was very good and the view was amazing! Special thanks to Jorge,Carlos,Victor,Marilou,and Carmen(You guys were great!) I will definitely be back with my family. I can hardly wait. Thank you again to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake tapps, wa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

General Manager, Stephan, has assembled the finest staff of any hotel we have ever been to.

This is the second time we have visited this hotel this year because of the great service, perfect ocean beach , fantastic pools and affordable pricing.

Also, this visit we noticed an improvement in the quality of the food at all levels.

Abel, (culinary manager?) is a new addition having been at the fine Portofino restaurant at las brias for 20 years. he went out of his way to prepare dishes for us not even on the menu. he was great.

During the week, occupancy ran 10-20% providing the guests with 400 plus employees to serve. on the weekends the locals came in nearly filling the hotel and making it transform to a busy place. good time to take a tour. while there for two weeks we were privileged to see over 200 baby turtles hatch cared for by the security staff.
special recognition should be made to Carmelita ( 35 years in the bar), Sylvester and Carlos, waiters by the pool, Ceasar the towel manager and many others who made us feel special and were there constantly to assist us.
we love this hotel and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: i would avaoid the tower part of the hotel and try to get an ocean view room near the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dandydan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your comments in TripAdvisor. Your feedback is a very important tool to do our job better every day and to reach the quality of service.

To be honest with you, the staff is the most important that we have in the hotel and we work as a team. Abel is very passionate with his job and he is “the newest” in the hotel, but everyone is doing an amazing job: The chef with his Team, the Food & Beverages
Manager with his team etc…

And the turtle are part of the beauty of Ixtapa. The hotel is certified and is part of the sea turtle conservation program. This year, we received more than 15´000 turtles eggs and we are very proud to belong to this program.

We wish all the best for 2013 and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

The General Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

As a first time visitor to Ixtapa and this resort I was blown away by the level of friendly service provided, starting by welcoming our group at the airport and continuing thru our 5 day stay. The resorts top amenity is the staff, with smiling faces and genuine caring with an anticipation of your needs that was amazing. Along with a great beach and great food our vacation was perfect.

Hratch B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hratch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and for posting your comments in Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback because it helps us to increase our levels of services.

We hope to welcome you again and Happy New Year 2013.

Best regards,

The General Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We enjoyed a great 2 week vacation at this resort. This is our second time at the resort and we would not hesitate to return. We had exceptional service from the very efficient conceige Jorge from the moment we arrived. He was there to assist us with our every need. Ricardo the chef was also instrumental in making sure we had great meals cooked in accordance with our food allergies, not only were they tasty, but beautifuly presented. Thanks to all the staff who served us, Captain Abel and all his servers, and also the cleaning lady, who always left our room nice and clean and made sure we had a lovely towel creation each day.

Room Tip: room 3350 overlooks the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 140914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit Lake, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Once again we had a great time at the resort. Our friend Jorge went out of his way to make every thing perfect. At the restaurants the food servers were very friendly and helpful and the people at the front desk greeted us every day. We have no fear and feel very safe at all times when we are there. We have been going here for over 15 years and I am sure will make it 16. Our 3 weeks were the best. Cleo at the towels and the activites guys were great and did a superb job.

Room Tip: I really think all their rooms are good and most have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#11 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly InterContinental Presidente)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing