We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than we expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerta del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puerta del Mar
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Pachuca, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So much better than we expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

While it's not like the resort hotels that are right on the beach, Puerta del Mar was perfect for us. We made the reservation through Orbitz, and had no idea that this was a hotel of suites! It was extremely convenient to have the kitchen, and two full bathrooms was totally excessive for the two of us. Everything was clean, and the staff was incredibly friendly even though they were smack in the middle of Spring Break rush. The pools were nice, and the noise curfew was respected. We would definitely go back and bring more people along! Ah, and the beach (as well as a plaza with restaurants and stores) is a 5 minute walk away!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AventureraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The grounds were beautiful & we felt very comfortable there! The extremelly clean unit consisted of a spacious & well equiped kitchenette, living area, bedroom & 2 baths. The large pool with slide & swim up bar were very nice. It was close to shopping & restaurants. We were extremely pleased with the hotel & would be happy to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BanD2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I can't say enough about the staff. Yes, most do not speak much English, but they are very friendly, and helpful. I have to admit I did a very bonehead thing. I left my laptop in the open-air restaurant near the pool. The wireless connection is best in the restaurant so my husband and I had been having breakfast and catching up on facebook, etc. When we were leaving to go down to breakfast the next day, I couldn't find my laptop anywhere in my room. I was pretty sure I had brought it back the previous day so was certain it was probably stolen. We went to the front desk where I told the staff person, who spoke perfect English, that my computer was not in my room. He immediately picked it up from behind the desk and handed it to me and told me it had been left it in the restaurant. The waitress had found it and brought it to the front desk. You can imagine how relieved I was!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

After reading the reviews I didn't know what to expect! Well the elevator works! The units are clean, there quite. The restuarant is ok. This place is a good family place to stay. They have cermanic painting you can do by the pool. Theres 4 pools, a bar. The grounds are kept nice. The staff are not to much on speaking english, however if your in mexico you should know enough to get by anyways! The activities desk staff are friendly and well knowledged about the area and activities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alaskasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

The Other Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

This is a six-story hotel, and the frightening elevator mentioned by others has been removed - now it has no elevator, just a boarded up hole. If you have any challenge walking up/down stairs, this is probably not a good fit. It is at least a ten minute walk to the public beach access, across the main highway and behind a small "rustic" plaza.
The grounds are nice. The site was very peaceful and room noise, aside from the AC, was pretty quiet. Good, well-priced restaurant and swim-up bar on-site. Rooms are not a cave, as previously described, but the rooms do have a very rough, "carved" appearance. Didn't bother us but could be unsettling to others.
Biggest issue was that after our first night on the week exchange through Interval Int'l, we wanted to move to another hotel. The manager said five days notice was not enough - they require FIFTEEN (15) days to avoid a one-night penalty and refused to credit my VISA card for an extra night I'd reserved. Had to contact my bank to have them pursue a refund. It's a needless hassle, especially since the place was at least 80% empty - no one was denied a room by our leaving!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvDuhSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Mexican hotels aren't necessarily bad, as long as you know what you're getting into. First of all, you'd better know some Spanish, because almost none of the employees speak English, incl. front desk staff. When we were there, most of the guests were native Mexican, this hotel apparently caters to Mexican families.. The rooms were spacious and clean, but had quirks you generally find in Mexican hotels, like hard beds and questionable plumbing. The kitchen sink was not plumbed for hot water, I guess you wash dishes in the bathroom. The hotel is 6 stories tall, yet the elevator is nothing but a hole in the building, looks like it could be a while before that gets fixed. The swim-up bar sells ice cream to the kids, so expect to share your space with other peoples children.
On the plus side, the suites are large, with full kitchen (okay, no oven, and the stove is a 2-burner hotplate), 2 full bathrooms (although no tub), and a nice balcony overlooking the gorgeous, well-maintained grounds, with 2 pools, a restaurant with room service (do you speak Spanish?) and lounge (neither is air conditioned). Fortunately the rooms are very adequately air conditioned, because that's the only air conditioned space for blocks around. When we were there it was mid-90's and muggy. This property is not on the beach like most hotels in Ixtapa, beach access is within walking distance, but limited, the American-style hotels guard their beaches even from American tourists.
Rack rate for this place is $110/night, but we only paid $50/night. If you can get that kind of deal, and can get by in Spanish, and don't mind being 2 blocks from the beach, this hotel may work for you. We liked it just fine, but we're learning Spanish, and don't need to sit on a beach, the grounds of Puerta del Mar were perfect for us. Did I mention the birds? And the staff was very kind and understanding of our language-challenged attempts to communicate.
As for the shopping area across the street, it's a tourist oriented menage of cheap souvenirs, restaurants and bars, with a few upscale shops and a couple of grocery stores. This is NOT a Mexican town!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnbnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

The hotel does not compare to the beach front hotels. It is more home like. More like authentic Mexico. The service was great. The prices were very down to earth. The garden about the pool is tropical and lush. The walk to the beach is about 500 yards. We drove to the beach but the beaches we went to required a drive. We went across the street to the Dorado Pacifico one day and ordered drinks at the swim up bar. 2 cervesas and a lemonade were $10 american. At the Puerta del Mar, every day was a happy hour with cervesas 2 for 1 at $2 each. The people you would meet at the pool were friendly and nice. We looked forward to the pool each evening. The rooms were kept clean daily by the staff who you get to know if you are there for a week. The staff was very friendly. If we go back, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoahsArkHoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#11 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Ixzi Plus Hotel
Ixzi Plus Hotel
#17 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta del Mar

Property: Puerta del Mar
Address: Paseo de las Gaviotas, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Puerta del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Hotel Ixtapa
Puerta Del Mar Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing