We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NH Krystal”
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Krystal Ixtapa
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“NH Krystal”
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Stayed at the hotel on 24th of April. The check in was absolutely a farce. Only 1 employee at the check in counter while there was a fairly big line up. Each check lasted around 10 min..in total I waited about 40 min in the heat...

The rooms are quite nice...we got an ocean view with a balcony. Try to get rooms near the beach/pool (better view). The rooms were quite clean but one can tell that the hotel is aging. Overall, I was quite content with my room. Spacious and bright.

Pool area was nice as well as the beach..can't comment on the food at the hotel as we went in town every night.

two major fallbacks with the hotel was
1. no ice machines on the floors..if you want ice, it's room service and let me tell you it's quicker to make your own ice...

2. wasn't too happy with the overall service

in summary, it was a comfortable stay at the hotel and would recommend it only if you get a really good deal on it. For me, I wouldn't plan to stay here again..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    213
    184
    108
    117
See reviews for
289
192
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

This was our first trip to Ixtapa, and we hadn't been to Mexico for 15 years. The Krystal is great hotel. It is clean and the staff is very attentive and friendly. It is not a luxury hotel like you would find in Vegas or other American cities. This is Mexico. It was very nice and provided everything we were expecting. Almost all the rooms have great ocean views and you can leave your door open at night and easily hear the crashing waves. The pool area and beach were extremely nice. Everyone was very friendly and we had a lot of fun with many other hotel guests. The swim-up bar is perfect for meeting people. We did the all-inclusive. Not sure if we would do that again because there are so many good restaurants close to the hotel. The breakfast buffet at the Krystal was great - lots of choices and food was good. We didn't experience any "discrimination" because we were all-inclusive. All the hotel staff was very friendly and provided excellent service. The maids always left us flowers and decorated with wash cloths. Even though we were all-inclusive, we tipped the maids and the waiters and bartender at the pool. These people work hard for very little money. We definitely will go back to Ixtapa and will probably use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikey617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We had a room on the 9th floor with an awesome view of the pool area & beach. Check in time was painless...our room wasn't quite ready but we were able to put our suitcases in room and go to the pool. The pool area was gorgeous, swim up bar, beautiful palm trees, great view overlooking the beach..staff attentive & friendly. We did not get the all-inclusive, to many great restaurants within walking distance (Franks, Reubens) but the hotel restaurant was very good too...Lunch buffet offered good choices (save room for dessert) but it was a bit pricey...breakfast buffet was bountiful and delicious, highly recommended. We had a great time & are planning trip for next year!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

I usually read reviews and not post anything. but after reading some of these posts i need to defend the krystal in ixtapa.
My wife and i have been ixtapa 6 times in the last 10 years. the last 2 times we have stayed at the NH Krystal. Each time we were all inclusiive (AI). ALthought this year was a little less extravegant than years past, it still fit the bill. great service and accomodations, FOR MEXICO. I can't express the last part, FOR MEXICO.
We had little things that were different, like asking the cook for bacon instead of having piles of it on the breakfast buffet. Like not having the snack shake and second bar open everyday, but the same food and drink was available from the waiter or waitress. The evening buffet is always awefull, but how much of a loser are you if you eat every meal at the resort. The evening meal was always a theme, and mexicans don't do themese that good. If you visit the front desk, you can get coupon's for resturants across the street for $10/person. so my wife and i had $20 each every night to eat across the street at a place of our choosing. we ate for free because everything was under $10/plate.
We met almost everyone at the hotel by the pool. everyone there was so friendly and fun to be around. Some days the entertainment was slow, but you have to remember how the Mexican minute works, not always on time.
We have stayed at the Dorado pacifico, El presidente, Hotel Emporiam, Radissan, and the Double tree, and we will continue to go back to the krystal because it is much better than any of the other resorts.
If your looking for perfect accomodations, you won't find it in mexico. You spend your time at the pool and not in your room, so focus on relaxing and not that you didn't get the most from a very inexpensive place to vacation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubasteve1971_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We went to this hotel on the all-inclusive plan, boy what a rip off. This hotel is so cheap. This hotel is certainly not like other all-inclusive (AI) properties we've been to, and unfortunately it cost the same as the other nice AI's we've been to in Mexico and the Caribbean. This property is grosssly misrepresented! I talked with people who stayed at the Park Royal and the Barcelo and those properties were as different from the Krystal as night and day. Those properties appear to be "real" all-inclusives, unlike the Krystal. If you haven't ever been to a nice all inclusive you may not mind this property because you wouldn't know any different. You'll just think you paid a lot and didn't get your moneys worth.

We met a couple of other people here who were not satisfied either. Both of these couples said they wouldn't be back, and the one couple had been there before. I believe the property has gone down hill.

I contacted a couple of people who had previously written reviews and they didn't exactly give this place a good recommendation but unfortunately we had already booked our trip with this hotel and it was too late to change properties. The staff said the hotel was at 40% occupancy. Although tourism is drastically down this year all over, you have to wonder why the other hotels are at 60 - 70% occupancy and this one was only at 40%!

CONS
- On the AI plan, which really isn't all-inclusive, you can only get certain drinks, and the list only includes about 11 drinks. The hotel advertises that certain international drinks are included, but that is not true. You couldn't even get your basic coconut rum etc. Plus, they use really cheap liquor and after about 3 drinks you feel like crap. Guess that's their way of keeping guests from drinking too much, although we don't drink much anyway.

- There is only one restaurant open at a time for each meal. You eat dinner and breakfast in the same restaurant. The buffet is very small, not many options, but the food at this restaurant was very good. They little sgrill and bar near the beach were only open two of the days we were there. They said it was closed for maintenance but we never saw anyone work on it or anyone even near there the whole time. We believe it's because occupancy was down and the hotel was being cheap and tried to cut costs.

- They have 2 ala carte restaurants on the property and they charge you to eat at them. The one charges $13.00 per person and that doesn't include seafood or steaks. I've never heard of that at an AI property. You do get to eat at Bogarts but only once and that's even with an 8 night stay. They advertise that you get to eat there twice with a stay of 5 nights or more but that's not true. They misadvertise. The staff even admitted that this is a common misconception of the guests. But, in the end the buffet food was better as the food at Bogarts was mediocre at best.

- There is a hude distinction of how the guests are treated. The non- all-inclusive guests get treated much better than the AI guests. There is a serious difference and they don't like waiting on you and often will wait on them first, even if you were at the bar first. I'm even fluent in Spanish and very friendly to them, but still they treat the non AI guests better. They have waiters the pool and beach and they only wait on the folks without wristbands - serious discrimination. Many of the staff are unfriendly.

- The dine out credit is a joke. It can only be used at 4 restaurants, although their website and others have a list of restaurants it;s not accurate. Also, it's not a $10.00 credit,. The restaurant we went to, Rafeallas, reduced the credit amount.

- Checkout took a long time. We waited in line about 20 minutes and never made it to the front desk. At one point they sent a guy to help people in line because some people had to leave to catch their tour buses.

There are a bunch more cons and I could go on but will stop here and list the few pros there are.

PROS
- Food was good at the breakfast and dinner restaurant - same restaurant.

- Good location - near the shops and restaurants.

- It wasn't crowded. No or few kids until the weekends when all the locals flock in with their children. With attendance down it was easier to meet people.

As far as Ixtapa goes, it's nice but we probably won't be back because we can't do the activities we enjoy - boogie boarding and kayaking. They do have a great bike path, however, and you can rent nice bikes for 60 pesos an hour.

The weather in Ixtapa is warmer than in Puerto Vallarata and Mazatlan which is nice because you can go out at night with a sundress or short and not be cold.

We did the bike trip to Ixtapa island where you kayak and snorkel. It was a nice trip.

So, in short, you may be content with this no frills hotel if you don't do the all-inclusive plan but even then there are still nicer hotels. We met people on the plane going to Ixtapa that had been to Ixtapa 5 - 10 times and they at one time or another had stayed at the Krystal. Now I know why they weren't staying there on their return trip. We won't ever return to this hotel or any Krystal property for that matter.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoboogieboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

This was our first stay at The Krystal even though we've vacationed in Ixtapa about ten times. We were very pleased with the size of the room, the table and chairs for playing cards, good selection of television programs (FOX News), comfortable king size bed, nice dresser space and closet space with hangers, in room safe, balcony with table and chairs.... Our room was on the third floor on the pool side. The maid service was excellent. We opened our patio door and enjoyed the sound of the waves.

The Krystal has an excellent pool area with something for everyone. We enjoyed the American for breakfast. The location of the Krystal made it easy to visit many of the local restaurants for supper. The staff was great with giving maps and directions to restaurants and which buses we needed to take to get to Playa LaRopa and Playa Las Gatas. My husband booked the zip-line tour adventure right at the hotel.

We checked out a couple other hotels on the hotel strip that we haven't stayed at before and decided that we made a very good decision to stay at the Krystal. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaNightowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Great overall time. The pool, food and staff was excellent. This is not a four star hotel so dont count on it. It is middle of the road hotel room. The people you will meet and the fun time you will have will make the hotel room of little importance. I do suggest that if you are accustomed to drinking quality liquor or wine you will not find it here. I am hoping by next time this year they will have more upscale choices on the brands of liquour you can choose from at the hotel. We did not do AI just for this reason and found out the quality is the same either way.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jettalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
1.1 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Ixtapa

Property: Krystal Ixtapa
Address: Blvd Ixtapa, s/n 4 y 4A Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Krystal Ixtapa awaits you with 255 recently refurbished rooms & suites, all offering cozy contemporary style, and extraordinary ocean views from your private terrace. You can truly relax with your choice of one of the best beaches or the most spectacular swimming pool in Ixtapa, with its own waterfall & waterslide! Located very close to the golf course, marina, and shopping, you will be able to truly experience all that Ixtapa has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Krystal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Hotel Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Resort Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Ixtapa
Ixtapa Krystal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing