We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Excellent Club Med - this was our 10th Club Med experience, and we are now elderly, seasoned vacationers! Superb views, beaches, food, GO's, activities - and our room overlooked the sea, with a little private beach beneath. We did deepsea fishing, aerobics, catamaran sailing, swimming, power walks, etc.. (One morning we walked to a nature eco reserve where there were giant crocodiles, iguanas, turtles, birds, in their own river, fenced off from the beach). We could have done snorkelling, but there was not time for everything! The staff could not have been nicer. This resort was better than we had anticipated ..... and the weather was PERFECT! Flavia, the Chef du Village was exceptional. A truly wonderful resort

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,974
    504
    138
    64
    32
See reviews for
1,988
277
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

This was our second trip to Club Med Ixtapa the first being in 2009. We thought it would be difficult to top our first experience there and we were mistaken, it was even better. From the moment we arrived and greeted by Mario (the club's DJ) who's enthusiasm was contagious we knew it was going to be another wonderful trip. The only small issue we had was that the room we requested was not available and we were put into a different area of the club. We spoke to the front desk who changed our rooms to the area that we had requested and the matter was handled quickly and seamlessly. The rooms were perfect, we had the club family room, with a separate sleeping area for the kids. Plenty of space for them and for us. The activites were wonderful from sailing to kayaking, circus to beach volleyball, sports and archery we enjoyed everything. The kids loved the kids club and had a wonderful time participating the hip hop, circus and talent show. One of the most important parts of the Club Med experience are the GOs and for the second year in a row they did not disappointe. The GOs were incredibly friendly and warm. They went out of their way and above and beyond to make the trip special for us and our girls. The Chief of the Village Flavia was extremely accessible and unbelievably friendly (last year we saw the chief twice). We have celebrated our girls birthdays there for the past two years (they turned 3 and 5 this trip) and the staff did everything to ensure that their birthdays were special. From the birthday cakes that Sheik (the club's executive chef) made to the, special birthday celebration with the entire staff of the kids club for our five year old, gifts in the room for the girls and the mariachi serenade for our three year old attended by the chief Flavia, executive chef and other GOs they made our girls feel so special and made their birthdays memorable. Honestly, we cannot say enough wonderful things about our trip to Ixtapa and we could go on and on about each and every GO that helped make our trip extraordinary. We cannot wait to go back next December and enjoy another great trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dks88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We booked our trip in the fall of 2010 on the recommendation of some friends who also had young children. We thought we would write a review to assist other families with young children who are trying to find an all-inclusive with a good kids club. Club Med Ixtapa just may be the place for you.

We arrived midweek on Jan 5 and the resort seemed to be fairly busy but by the end of the weekend the village (that's what the Clubs are referred to) was noticeably less busy. We are attributing this to the guests that had booked a trip that spanned over New Years and were returning back home so that their kids could go back in time for the start of school.

* Accommodations *
We booked a Deluxe Family Ocean View room and we were glad that we did. The room is spacious (700+ sq feet) and consists of two main rooms separated by a set of double doors. One room is the childrens room which contains two beds (one is a trundle so you could actually fit another child). The other room contained a large bed, closet space, a fridge and a room safe. Because we had an 18 month old with us the Baby Welcome provided us with a pack-n-play (already in the children's room when we showed up), a plastic baby tub placed in the shower stall (we ended up not using it), a bottle warmer, and other amenities. They also provide a stroller in the room for use in the village.

Both rooms are adjoined by a washroom. Shower stall is large. The sink area is dominated by two very large sinks and not much room for toiletries.

Our Deluxe Family room was situated in the Pajaro building on the ground floor. One of the great things about being located in the Pajaro building is that you are literally 30 seconds away from the main restaurant (El Encanto), so you are never far away from food or if you need to fetch a snack for the kids. There is a lot of foot traffic since the pathway from the restaurant to Pajaro and the neighboring Cielo and Sol buildings leads right past our doorways. Occasionally we could hear some loud passersby but never for an extended period of time.

* Internet *
Internet - available for a charge, and in the room you need to be connected to via Ethernet cable (no WiFi in the room). WiFi is available in the main areas (the main restaurant, the pool area, the main bar Estrella, and even on the beach!). Download speeds when on WiFi are slow, but upload speed is okay and we were able to have Skype video calls while we were there with no lag).

* Baby/Petit Club *
We booked our flights and stay directly through the Club Med website. Club Med Ixtapa is reknowned for catering to families, as is evidenced by their free "Baby Welcome" service, their Baby Club, Petit (Toddler) Club, and their Mini Club. We were travelling with an energetic 3 1/2 yr old and an 18 month old and to us, a vacation wouldn't be a vacation if we weren't able to take advantage of a baby/kids club service that could give us some 'time off' from our kids and keep them happy and engaged while they were at the baby/kids clubs.

A heads up: it is not advertised on the Club Med site, but you can drop off your babies/kids at the Baby/Kids club on a daily basis, space permitting. Right now the Club Med site only allows you to prebook your children for the entire stay - so in other words if you are going for 10 days, you would have to pay for 10 days worth of baby/kids club service ahead of time. We were guests at Club Med from Jan 5 to 15 when the resort wasn't as busy, so as it turned out the baby/Petit clubs had lots of room. Next year we will pay on a drop-in basis. One of our kids was under the weather for parts of the trip so a good portion of our prepaid service was never used - we completed a Refund request form and submitted it to the front desk when we were at the resort so hopefully we will get some of our money back.

Mini-Club is for kids 4 and older. We debated on whether we wanted to move our toddler up to the Mini-Club but we understand that Mini-Club is better suited for kids who have given up their naps.

The staff at the Baby/Kids Club are fantastic. I think Mimi (Mildrede) is the G.O. in charge of the Baby/Kids Club - she has a passion for childcare. Both our kids enjoyed their time there. Our toddler was kicking and screaming the first day but aftewards he was fine hanging out at the Petit Club and had a lot of fun. The Baby and Petit Club are right beside each other so it was easy to drop off and pick up both kids. There is also a baby pool (11 inches deep) right outside the Petit Club. Non-Baby/Petit Club registered Guests are permitted to use the pool provided that they supervise their own children.

There is a Baby Room in the Baby Club that is accessible 24 hrs that contains cereal, baby food, milk, a microwave and a sterilizer for cleaning bottles. We encountered one instance where the sterilizer in the Baby Room didn't seem to work, and the refrigerator didn't seem cold - my wife alerted the staff since the last thing we wanted was for our 18 month old or any of the other guests' kids to get sick because the food went bad or bottles weren't effectively sterilized. We only bring this up bc our 18 month old got a stomach bug in the middle of our stay and we were wondering if he had consumed some bad milk or the bottles weren't being sterilized properly.

Special thanks to all of the G.O.'s for taking care of our kids during their stay at the Baby/Petit Club. Our toddler took a liking to G.O.'s Monica, Gaby, Ilse and Eugenie and the others.

There is also a Pajama Club babysitting service which is located in the Petit Club in the evenings - it's basically a drop off service (for a fee) if you wanted to have a quiet evening without the kids. The Petit Club has a sleeping room so you can, if you so chose, to have your kids fall asleep there and you could take them back to your hotel room at the end of the night. We didn't use this service but could see how this would be desirable to others.

*Activities*
There is so much to do at this resort. Included in your package is free access to the catamarans, ocean kayaks, tennis courts, rock climbing wall, trapeze/high wire, and gym facilities, beach volleyball, pool facilities, a games room, and basketball court.

There is also a guy located on the beach named Miguel who has a Waverunner, and a banana boat available for a charge. He also offers a water-taxi service to nearby Ixtapa Island / Isla Ixtapa if you want to get away from the resort. There is snorkelling available at Isla Ixtapa.

You could also take a taxi to Ixtapa or Zihuatanejo if you wanted to explore either city. Taxi to Ixtapa ran around 10 pesos one way.

*Food*
There are three restaurants - El Encanto (main restaurant - buffet style). We found the food to be very good in terms of variety. They also have a 'baby corner' with cereal, yogurts, milk, soy milk, baby food, etc. A huge plus for our kids was that both the Baby Room and the Baby Corner were stocked with lactose-free milk. When El Encanto was closed you could always get a snack at Miramar - this restaurant is a very short walk away from the El Encanto, situated between the beach and the pool area. Luna Azul and the Miramar are occasionally open in the evenings for sit down dinner service (reservations required).

*Customer Service / G.O.'s*
We found the level of customer service to be superior. The G.O.'s at the front desk were friendly and responsive. Special thanks to Gaby, Marie and Lucia for their friendliness and service during our arrival and departure. Overall, the G.O.'s as a group were very friendly and outgoing. The G.O.'s are required to sit with guests during the meals so don't be surprised if they ask to sit with you during mealtime. On only one occasion did we have a G.O. who was a 'dud' when it came to being able to carry on a conversation. This particular G.O. (who will go unnamed) asked to sit with our family and it was painful having a conversation with her. She spoke perfect English but basically asked no questions and waited for us to ask her questions. Talk about awkward conversation. Everyone else was great. Overall our rooms were cleaned promptly although they did not restock our mini-fridge as advertised on the Club Med site. But given that we were so close to the main restaurant this was not a big issue.

*Beach*
The beach is nice but not as pretty as the Mayan Riviera/Cancun side (ie. clear blue water and white sand) but the beach is fairly quiet and it is easy to relax there. I found the beach to be a nice break from the chatter of kids at the pool areas. The sunsets are amazing.


*Overall*
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank realriderbmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Club Med Ixtapa is a great break for families - they have fabulous kids programs, and food is excellent... we were reluctant Club Med joiners but had a wonderful trip. Special thanks to Miss Mimi in the Petit Club, warm, lovely staff who love kids, we wanted to bring her home with us!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyjoy567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plano, tx
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Just got back from Club Med where we got exceptional service, food, leisure and entertainment. Flavia runs a great team of GEs (especially GEs) and GOs who go above and beyond their scope to make sure the guests are having a good time.
1) Food was the highlight of Club med. Chef Sheik works hard to maintain the high quality food that can match high end restaurants any day. When he found out I am vegetarian he made sure that I had good vegetarian choices and made some new ones even though they were not on the menu that day. He even packed us some vegetarian sandwiches when we were departing from Club Med. This of course made us feel very special. Diesi was our server in the area we used to sit regularly and she was very good.
2) Club med has a fantastic team of GOs who run the mini club. These girls and guys work very hard day in and day out to make sure kids have fun. Our daughter was initially in petit club (2-4) as she was shy by 2 months of being 4. All kids in her club were very young so she got bored the first day. We requested her to be moved to mini club where she had so much fun every day. Special thanks to Luis and Lidia and the girls who were doing face painting on kids (cant remember their names).
3) We stayed in Sol building that has family suites. I have to say that it is worth the extra money to stay in the suites. The concierge team is fantastic (thanks Candi, Ricardo and Dimitra). Ricardo works very hard to make sure the guests are comfortable.
4) Club med GOs put a fantastic entertainment show in the evening. Our kid participated in most of them and she loved being in them.
5) I ended my day smoking a cigar and drinking mojito at miramar bar. Jose and Ivan are great bartenders and they make killer mojitos. Drinks are not watered down here as it is in lots of all-inclusive resorts. Jesus at the miramar restaurant was always eager to give me something to eat.
6) Sailing was fun. Gene gave us a good lesson and let us go on our own back in ocean with the boat. We had a great time sailing.
7) I recommend taking a boogy board (or buy one at boutique for $35) as it is a lot of fun riding waves in the ocean. I gifted mine to another guest from Canada who was very friendly with us.
8) Rooms were cleaned multiple times in the day by maid service. They did a great job.
9) Good nurse team. Andres was great and knew what he was doing.

With that being said.. here are a few negatives:

1) Sol building has private beach with a few cabanas. All guests staying here have equal right to use them. But what happens is a few inconsiderate guests put their towels and personal belongings on them and leave for hours leaving the cabanas reserved and not available for other guests who are there. This left a bad taste in our mouth because we almost never got a chance to use them. I saw poor Ricardo trying to put out a fight between two guests about this on his first day.

2) There should be some clocks around the resort because all activities start at particular time and unless you are wearing a watch you can never tell time.

3) Photography service is pushy and a total rip-off.

4) The internet connection is slow. Also the wifi signal does not even reach the Sol building. They should have a separate access point there.

Overall, the Club Med Ixtapa is an exceptional resort with a true example of exemplary team-work by hard working GEs and GOs. We have traveled across the world to many resorts and hotels and this one certainly beats all of them when it comes to service. Although we never go back to same place we have been before, we will make an exception and go to this one again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbpatel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We spent Christmas 2010 at Club Med Ixtapa and had a wonderful time. The weather was perfect - sunny and warm the whole time. (We were there for the full lunar eclipse and not only was it stunning but the fact that it was so warm out at 2am made it extra special) The GOs (staff) were friendly and energetic. My kids (11 and 8) had a blast with all the activities - trapeze, climbing wall, kayaks, archery were tops for them. The food was very good. I particularly enjoyed the sailing and lounging around the beach and the bar. We caught a boat over to Ixtapa island for snorkeling. It had been years since I was at a Club Med and I was very happy to go again. Extra kudos to the sailing team GOs (especially Gene and Thomas) for their great attitude and help for both adults and kids.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Great food! Great go team! Amazing people!I cant wait to return and relax at the beach..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie33003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
3.0 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Property: Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific, a heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive resort, elected as one of the ‘world’s best’ family resorts by Trip Advisor. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular sceneries, as the resort is nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing