We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay at Club Med Ixtapa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay at Club Med Ixtapa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We are just back from Club Med Ixtapa and really wish we would be still there. It is so relaxing, with excellent service and food. The facilities are beautiful and as a family, it is the best choice you can make. We went with our 6 years old daughter who had a blast at the mini club, doing trapeze, rock climbing, archery, crafts, swimming, performing for a kids show, and so many other exciting and fun activities. All the GO's and staff were great. Our favorite were Basti (who is dancing like Michael Jackson), Julie, so kind and so fun to talk to, Morgan who was the Snookette, dancing and entertaining the kids with so much energy and also very sweet and caring, Karina, Agustin, and Martine, very nurturing with the kids and Armando, the dance instructor, excellent dancer and very charming and patient, making sure we enjoy each moment of the class. Also, the chief of the village, Medhi was really attentive and responsive to our needs. He was talking and checking on people's needs every single day, which we have not seen in another Club Med we visited before. Some other comments: clean facilities, beautiful beach, great entertainment. Strongly recommend the place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,974
    504
    140
    64
    32
See reviews for
1,990
277
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is incredibly overdue, but I wanted to review this great resort!

My wife and I wanted a nice place to take our family to celebrate our 15 year wedding anniversary and settled on Club Med Ixtapa. We had never stayed at an all-inclusive resort, preferring to experience local culture by staying in hotels or hostels. But with a 3-year old and a 1-year old, we decided to splurge and celebrate in style.

The GO's (staff) were fantastic, from the moment we arrived to the final good-byes. We had great experiences with Tom-Tom, Amira, Jerry and Felipe, who all bonded really well with our son. Even my one-year old daughter would smile and wave at Felipe, who ran the Pajama Club. They were all so attentive, always making sure we had everything we needed, even just saying hi to the kids. Every GO was great!

We stayed here in September 2013, during Tropical Storm / Hurricane Manuel. The GO's adjusted the daily schedule without batting an eye, and there was always something to do. There was a lot of rain and wind, but every GO there was upbeat and positive and made sure we had fun even though the weather was rough.

The food was fantastic. The main meals were served as a buffet and it was all fantastic. Even the pickiest eater could find something to eat, from fresh fish and guacamole, to pizza and pasta, and each night there was a theme, such as Mexican, Asian, or Italian. The GOs would sometimes sit with us, which was nice since we got to really get to know each of them better. The only downside was sometimes we just wanted to be alone as a family, or didn't want to go through the "So, where are you from?" line of questions. But on the whole, it was good.

The Nightly activities were great too. Each night they had a kid's show at 8, which my son loved. it was usually a silly play or story with singing, comedy and dancing, followed by getting all the kids up and dancing to end the shows.

Finally the rooms. We splurged and stayed in the Sol Suites. The rooms were large and the kids had their own room separated from ours. We were right on the ocean with our own beach area, and our own concierge. Alexandre and Claudia were awesome. If we needed anything, they got it with out question, from drinks on the beach to chocolate milk and treats for my son. The Sol suites also had in room service for a continental breakfast. It was really nice not having to get ready to go out to eat in the morning!

Overall, it was a great experience and we will definitely be back to this and other Club Med resorts.

Room Tip: Get the Sol Suites, as you have Oceanfront Rooms, and all the additional amenities. You also get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conrad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with the staff at the resort. They are called GO'S. My favorite were Isela and Shaian. Both are very friendly and lots of fun. They told me all about the different activities at the resort and help get you involved. Although mainly a family resort the kids are busy all day with the numerous activities such as rock climbing, trampoline and multiple water sports leaving the pools empty. The beach is wide and the ocean is calm and swimmable.
The resort also has the most amazing sunset views. The dinner buffets were some of the best i ever had. I like it better than the specialty restaurants. They served shrimp, fresh fish and filet mignon. Desserts were amazing and plentiful. Rooms need renovation. Bathrooms small and rooms were very basic. I stayed in the standard rooms. Fee for internet. One bar stayed open late for adults after kids went to bed. Again the GO'S start dancing and they get everyone involved. They make the resort special with there talent shows and sit with the customers at dinner. I will be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We traveled as an extended family of 10, including grandparents and two families with children aged 3 months, 2, 11, and 14 years. We had an amazing time at this resort.
Positives-
From the moment you arrive, until you leave with the entire staff lining the whole entrance to wave good bye, the staff is noticeably attentive. Every single person whether a GO, server in the restaurant, or part of the cleaning crew always smiles and says hello. The scenery and sunsets are UNREAL. The water is not aqua blue like in Cancun but it is the perfect temperature and full of shells and fun creatures. My son caught a starfish, several live sand dollars and a plethora of unbroken shells. We bought him a mask/snorkel in the store and he spent hours exploring the bottom of the ocean at the beach. Temperature was hot, but not unbearable. Humidity was high, but the pool and ocean had perfect water temperature....perfectly refreshing without being anywhere near cold. Lots of great activities for adults and kids from exercise classes, archery, tennis, beach sports, sailing, kayaking, pool games, etc. One thing they are lacking is paddle boards, but we rented some from Catch La Ola surf shop in Ixtapa and they delivered them to the beach for us and picked them up at end of day. Club Med REALLY needs to get their own boards as we had everyone on the beach asking to borrow ours. There is a big demand! The kids club seems to be a strength of this resort with kids running around all over the place from one organized activity to the next. Unfortunately, my kids, 8 and 11, were not really comfortable joining the teen club as they felt everyone already had friends the day they tried it and they felt like outsiders. This is not a fault of the staff, but my kids just not being comfortable. It is a 20 minute bus ride from the airport and there are 2 GO's on the bus, so I suggested to the manager that they use that 20 minutes to have all the kids on the bus meet (there were probably 10 kids my kids' ages on the incoming bus) and introduce themselves and talk up the activities offered. That way the first day at Teen Club, the kids would see familiar faces and feel more comfortable joining in. He liked my suggestion and promised me if we come back that will be happening. I sure hope so because my 14 year old participated more and made friends, but my 11 year old stuck with us and I felt really bad that he was missing out on a lot of fun. My daughter and all kids that went to kids club participated in a show complete with costumes and choreographed routines. It was adorable and the kids felt special. There was also a night trapeze show and the kids got to wear unitards and perform a circus show. The trapeze activities are great and it's a nice way to show off what they have learned. Food in the main restaurant was very good with lots of variety and great service. My sister in law has allergies and the head chef was wonderful about guiding her choices each day. I recommend sitting outside as much as possible as it feels less like a cafeteria and the view is stunning. Drinks were watered down, but decent. Wine was surprisingly good at dinner. We were there for Thanksgiving night and the resort did an amazing job at helping us to feel like it was a special night. We had a full turkey brought to our table and the party after dinner was wonderful! They had a tower of several fun drinks in plastic margarita glasses and we all did a toast and then they lit a sign that said, "Happy Thanksgiving" on fire which was a really nice touch. We then had dancing on the patio which was fun. Be sure you are aware of all the late night events after the shows. I never seemed to know anything was going on and would stumble upon beach parties and the Thanksgiving toast, sad that others in my family missed the fun! I think what made this trip the most enjoyable was the low occupancy. I think I heard they were only at 60% capacity which was just perfect. We never had trouble getting chairs at the pool or beach after breakfast around 10:00, never trouble getting tables at the restaurant, and it was nice to become familiar with the faces of so many staying there since we would run into the same people over and over again. We are definitely going back to this resort as we were more than happy!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have been coming here for so many years and every time I absolutely love it! The attentiveness of the staff is over the top, they will be sure you have the best holiday possible. The location is absolute paradise. If you enjoy having lots of options for activities and entertainment you will be indulged. The food is excellent and you have many options to chose from. We love trapeze and really enjoyed the circus team! They were very fun and patient to help us get our tricks perfected. Medhi and his team were excellent! I would highly recommend Club Med vacations for anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexicoTedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We just returned today and I had to write a quick note, we had a great time. The children's programs are what makes this place! Nothing is left unattended to for the little ones. Agustin in the mini club was amazing with our young son and he is truly a major asset to the CM group. Agustin helped our little one to come out of his shell (he usually does not want to attend kids club) and by the end of the week he was asking to go play with his new friends....A+ for the mini club!!!!! Baby club was fantastic as well, Dora was kind and caring and our little one went to her easily. The rest of the baby staff were just as kind and gentle with the little ones and we felt very safe leaving our 16month old in their care. When rating the kids aspects of Club Med it is a five star resort. I've rated Club Med as a four star due to a few areas that could use a bit of attention in relation to adult guests. The adult/quiet pool was a bit disappointing (no towel stand or drink service near by....when having adult alone time a few amenities would be amazing). The spa provided very nice treatments but would have been even more relaxing if it was an air conditioned facility (very tough to relax in such sweltering heat). Overall, a great trip and the staff makes this resort a gem....Agustin, Dora, and German the sous chef (came to our table to chat with us about our son's allergy and offer us his personal help if we needed anything) were the definite stand outs. Good job with the kids CM, we will return.

Room Tip: Deluxe family room with balcony are very well thought out rooms joined by a bathroom. We have a 4 yr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our trip to Club Med at Ixtapa was worth every penny and peso we spent. The staff of G.O.'S and G.E.'s did an excellent job of making our vacation a great experience. The food was superb, the grounds were immaculate, rooms clean, and the sporting events a lot of fun. I loved the Archery Range. The last time I shot a bow and arrow there were little rubber toilet plungers on the tips of the arrows. It was well run and safe. In addition there is sailing, Kayaking, trapeze, and Petonque, the French version of Bocce. All this was included in the price.
We traveled with a group of about 60 people from our Arizona community during the second week in November 2013. Most of us had been to other Club Med locations and knew what to expect as far as quality of rooms, food, and service. The Ixtapa staff was considered among the best by most if not all of our group. The rooms were above average for a Club Med, comfortable and clean, not 5 star maybe but more than adequate.
We were prepared for hot and humid weather, and that's what we got. I wish that the water clarity was better but the beach was really nice and the temperature of the water was cool and refreshing. The dark sand was always stirred up by the waves so snorkeling was not possible off the beach. There were excursions out to clearer water.

All in all, we loved the place and would like to commend the staff for a job well done. We made new friends and I would like to say that the following staff members went out of their way to make this a great and memorable vacation.
Antonio- Beach Boy who was always pleasant and keeping us from going thirsty. He gets top billing because he recently became a dad. Congratulations Antonio!
Anna - reception, dynamite smile, loved having dinner with her several times, great conversations
Diego - sports - This guy is a riot, really does a great job.
Nay - guest services. We had met Nay at a previous trip to Cancun and was thrilled to see her
at Ixtapa. She's so friendly and a superb dancer in many of the shows.
Logan - sports. He was always around to answer questions.
Fabian - entertainment specialist who kept us well entertained.

There are others who should be commended too, all the bartenders, and the cleaning staff.

We just loved this place and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Pajaro building was close to the center of the village. Three floors, no elevators so choose a floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernards4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
3.0 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Property: Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific, a heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive resort, elected as one of the ‘world’s best’ family resorts by Trip Advisor. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular sceneries, as the resort is nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing