We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another great Club Med experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great Club Med experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our third trip to a Club Med, the other two holidays having been in Asia. We were both excited by the fantastic reviews that we had seen, but apprehensive about some poor weather (we visited just after the hurricane and tropical storm were hitting the Pacific Coast). This wasn't helped by poor service by Club Med centrally as we tried to get information about the state of the resort. Almost comically they stated that since they hadn't heard anything from the resort for four days everything must be alright (no news is good news!). After insisting that they do a better job of checking the state of the resort we got some confirmation that things were OK in spite of the storm.

After that things definitely picked up. It was low season but the resort still managed to make us feel like rockstars, the GO team was fantastic. Even as good as our other Club Med holidays had been this was the best. Our daughter (8) was crying as we left even though we were off to Disneyland! In her words, Club Med is people and friends. Disneyland was "only" going to be rides. I would have to say that mum and dad were only slightly less sad to be leaving as well.

Firstly, for those travelling with children the kids club was brilliant. The staff were so enthusiastic and entertaining. GOs that we had the most to do with included Tom Tom, Wanny, Karen, Christine, Alexis and Julie. It was the usual formula of activities and evening shows but executed as well as any other Club Med we have been to.

The circus team were also amazing. Our daughter loves trapeze and got to do lots of it as a result of the low occupancy. Patrick, Hannah, Marifer, Felipe, Rolando, Tonio were all fantastic. They didn't just run a very professional circus school but left our daughter with some incredible memories of doing tricks on the trapeze.

Even though it was low season it was fantastic the way the GOs still kept the sports and bar going. There was hardly anyone else to play tennis with but Juanito or Jerry both made efforts to always be available. Special mention to Diego for his boundless enthusiasm and the Head of the Village Fabien who together were brilliant in the shows. In fact all of the GOs did amazingly in the shows despite the fact that they were working such long days.

The food was fantastic for a buffet and given the low season situation. It was probably one of the best Club Med buffets that we had experienced.

Finally, a quick thanks to all the GOs for their hospitality. The meals were particularly enjoyable due to the company of the GOs. Special thanks to Patrick and Hannah and Tom Tom and Wanny. You've left us with some great memories, friendships and hopes that we will see you at another Club Med or elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOS-JOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,822
    450
    120
    59
    31
See reviews for
1,820
243
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My family has now visited Club Med Ixtapa twice, both times for Fall break during the second week of October. Our children, ages 6 & 9 absolutely love it. October is not peak season for the resort, so the service is really wonderful. GO's recognized us from the previous year and welcomed us back! The food is always good, and there are many options for children that are not your typical fast food type options. The GO's that run the Kids Club came and asked me for suggestions for my picky 6 year old, and were happy to make an effort to see that she had something healthy to eat!!! We absolutely love the way that the Club Med staff involves the children and the adults in the shows. This involvement makes the whole vacation more of an interactive experience so that you leave feeling like you made friends. My husband and I did yoga with Stefani most mornings and then walked on beach for about an hour before settling into our choice of tented beach chairs. The Beach Boy was always there when we needed him. If you tell him up front the frequency that he should visit you, he will make it happen!

The resort is beautifully maintained. The family club room is large enough for our family of four. The children's room is spacious with its own television. The separate bedrooms make the whole experience that much more relaxing. At night, I could read in bed while my children watched a move. Of course, the night time activities are all child friendly, so we weren't even in the room very much!

I can't speak highly enough about this resort. We love Club Med in general, but Club Med Ixtapa is really special!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first trip to a Club Med (my wife, myself, and our 13 month old daughter). We did lots of reading and planning before we went so we knew the G.O.'s (staff) had a reputation for outstanding customer service, yet we were still overwhelmed by how amazingly kind and thoughtful everybody -- literally everybody -- was. A few examples:

- Although our daughter only learned to walk a few weeks ago, Jorge (from the bar) danced with her on several evenings.

- We were joined at dinner one night by Gretel (Human Resources). My wife commented on how well our daughter was eating that night and suggested, jokingly, that Gretel should eat with us every night. That's exactly what she did for the rest of our trip.

- My wife lost an inexpensive toe ring in the pool. Long after we had given up looking for it, the lifeguard, Miguel, found it.

- Although we didn't end up enrolling our daughter in the baby club, the baby club manager, Osher, befriended us and spent time with us nearly every day. She encouraged us to participate in a couples activity one night and personally cared for our daughter during that time.

I could describe experiences like this with almost every G.O. we met. They are truly a wonderful group of people!

The only disappointing aspect of our trip was that my daughter and I both got upset stomachs at different time (my wife was fine throughout.) Of course I'll never know for sure what the cause was (food, water, swimming in the ocean, etc.) but it's the only reason I would think twice about booking a repeat trip next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reidwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

First visit to a Club Med - we were blown away! Celebrating a 50th anniversary we were an extended family of 8 ranging from age 6 to 75! All were pampered by the staff and as busy as we wanted to be. Entertainment was amazing with a special treat of an opening night of a new show led by the trapeze artists but including all of the staff. Performances, dancing, lighting, music was all superb. Every night was fun for all but that evening felt exceptionally theatrical! Well done - special shout out to Patrick, Hannah and Mary-Fer (sp?)!!! Amazing.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We (8 including kids) went at the top of October during their slow season. The staff (GO's) went out of their way to keep the energy up in the resort and we had a blast! The kids loved the mini club and would spend half the day with them and enjoyed all the activities they took them too.
Food was good and lots of variety. The personalities of the main bar staff and trapeze ( Patrick , Marifer, Hanna ) team made the week memorable!
Looking forward to my next CM visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptRon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I reserved to go to the Club Med at Ixtapa, Mexico and reserved with cancellation insurance (which is almost $300). Due to personal reasons I had to reschedule my trip..Well!!!... you CANNOT reschedule, the only thing you can do is ask for a refund and re-book another trip, by submitting an insurance claim and that's not all... they refund only half of the money I paid because they take-off fees (re-shelving???), and the cherry on the cake they don't give you cash back, the insurance sends you a voucher towards a future trip...SPEND YOUR MONEY ELSEWHERE, you cannot foresee life so you want to use a vacation provider with commercial ethics, Club Med is not one of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank OlivierAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time we stayed a Club Med resort and we expected more then we got. The food was just ok, the shows were bad, and the service at the beach bar was the worst I've ever experienced. The beach boy only came an offered drinks when a boss was around. The service was awesome at the main bar and at the main restaurant. Didn't care much for all the staff intruding in during meal times either. Mehdi the directors is great with his guest and likes to check up on things all day. However he asks how things are going so fast, you don't get a chance to complain or comment because he's off to the next guest. We had to ask for a different stroller because they gave us one that was so old you could almost not use it. The beds were hard and most rooms have mosquito and lizard problems. There is an older pool attendant who talks bad about the guests in front of them not knowing that most people speak Spanish. He also complained about his hours and shift to the younger pool attendant. Not a great way to enjoy the pool. The internet deposit of a couple hundred dollars was obscene! Who needs that kind of deposit to use the internet? We will not be returning and would recommend Secrets Resorts instead.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Leticia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
3.0 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
3.4 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Property: Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific, a heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive resort, elected as one of the ‘world’s best’ family resorts by Trip Advisor. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular sceneries, as the resort is nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing