We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Nearby Hotels
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$120
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$272
$185
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$143
$121
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$66
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$123
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$151
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$152
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$151
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$197
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$321
$289
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,339)
Filter reviews
3,339 results
Traveler rating
2,431
610
175
82
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,431
610
175
82
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiguana buildingchief of the villagecircus teamfamily vacationbeach boyflying trapezesol suitescrazy signswhite nightfitness instructorland sportsbaby foodmusic factoryluna azuldeluxe family roomsports activitiesmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,297 - 1,302 of 3,339 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our first time vacationing with ClubMed. When we used TripAdvisor we got the feeling that this club was very fun and family oriented. This was very true to our experience, we had an absolutely amazing time and although it was just the two of us, we enjoyed the "family fun atmosphere".

Here is a brief list of all the things we loved about our trip to ClubMed Ixtapa:
-GO team is unbelievably friendly and accommodating.
(Shout outs to Diego from sailing, Jorge, Basti & Ricardo at the bar, Patrick & Maureen from the trapeze, and Alexis the beach boy! As well as so many others we're forgetting)
- The food was surprisingly good. We always get nervous when we see buffets, but it was all so good.
- The variety of activities and the constant availability of those activities.
- The nightly shows they put on after dinner, the circus show was especially impressive.
- Additional activities available at the island near the resort.
- Our room; which was the most basic option, was very nice, a good size, had a nice bathroom & shower. And I don't think there is a bad view in the whole place.
- The greetings and farewells when arriving in Ixtapa and leaving for the airport were also very appreciated. We genuinely felt sad (beyond post vacation depression, haha) that we were leaving this beautiful place with such wonderful people.

*Do note that this is a family atmosphere so although we had plenty of private time and we truly enjoyed ourselves, we would like to warn those that since this is a family resort there are usually children in the common areas and most themes are family friendly.

Thanks again for the wonderful time! We're already planning our next one!

Room Tip: The Garden View room was great, no need for the ocean view, it was perfect for the two of us.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaleAtwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear HaleAtwell,
Our resort provides entertainment and amenities for families, couples, and singles alike! We are so happy that you both found activities you enjoyed and had fun engaging with the various staff members and GOs around the resort. Nothing makes us happier than hearing that you are already planning a return trip and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent two weeks at Club Med Ixtapa this past May. It was an incredible vacation. The main pool was excellent, and we loved the tennis lessons--which we did every single day they were offered, with Johnny, Javier (one of our favorite staff members and tennis instructor, even though we only got to spend a few days with him before he left for one of the Brazil clubs!), or Juanito. We also tried the archery and the sailing. The beach was excellent, and we never had trouble getting chairs or even beds at the pool (although people did "save" them at the pool, which didn't matter to us as there was plenty of space but can see how this would be a huge problem during high season). The sailing conditions and instruction (lack thereof in both cases) were the weakest parts of the activities for us. They also offer circus activities, which other people seemed to really enjoy. The GOs were so friendly and helpful, and the chief of village, Mehdi, was always upbeat, approachable, and genuinely interested in feedback.

The main dining room (buffet) was very good. Friday evening meals were the best, and they always have lots of excellent breads to choose from (a real asset for my husband, who is French and loves his bread!). There are plenty of choices, and each night is themed. Sushi night was especially fun! Prepared desserts were usually average or below, but they seemed to try really hard and offered many choices. The coconut ice cream is incredible.

If you have young kids, this is the resort for you. Our two year old was well-loved and cared for by the child care staff, who were consistently attentive and constantly planning outstanding, engaging activities for the kids. Our little girl loved playing in the toddler pool, which is shaded and very shallow, and at the Mini-Club pool, where there are spray attractions and both shallow and deeper areas. The kid programs (our daughter was in the Petite Club, for 2-3 year olds) are organized, safe, and stimulating for the kids. Mini Club director Tom-Tom and his staff--such as Felipe (with whom my daughter formed a special bond), Angela, Naelly, Christine, and several others--deserve a special shout-out; they made our vacation so enjoyable, because when our daughter was in their care, we knew she was having a blast but was also closely supervised and kept safe. Every afternoon around 4:30, families could all return for an activity together. These included a pool party (our favorite!), treasure hunt, pinata party, "Big Snack," cookie making, sand castle contest, etc. Tom-Tom (and Christine too) routinely dressed up in crazy costumes to entertain and engage the kids, and the kids loved them for it. When the staff saw the kids around the resort with their families, they knew them by name and would play and joke with them. I don't think it gets any better than this. We trusted Tom-Tom and his staff with the person we love most in this world, and they never let us down.

This resort offers incredible value for the money. The Family Club room had an impeccably clean pack and play with nice soft bedding (you could remove that part for infants), crisp and clean blankets and sheets, and two single beds for older kids. There are even huge flattish pillows to put on the floor, we assume as cushioning for a young kid who might topple out of bed, perhaps? they were fun for our daughter to roll around on). The rooms are cleaned well and restocked daily with everything you need, including plenty of bath towels. The shower floor is extremely slippery, so request a baby tub if you have a squirmy young kid. I got a massage on the beach one morning, and I recommend this.

The only issues we experienced--and again, we were there for 14 days!--involved the sailing, which really wasn't very important to us anyway, the front desk, and a few annoyances about the restaurants. Front desk requests took many hours and multiple calls to get issues resolved. This is definitely the weakest service area of the resort. In terms of dining, we loved that dinner was served on the beach once per week, once on the soccer field while we were there, and one night each week at the pool with a Mariachi band for entertainment; our little girl loved the band, especially, so this was a big hit. However, the beach-front restaurant (sit-down, casual) was only open one night per week, and it was always the same night as the mini club performance, plus reservations were hard to get at all, let alone at a reasonable hour (with a young child along). The other restaurant (open air, called Luna Azul) seemed to be gorgeous and was located in the gardens, but it was closed the entire time we were there. We do realize that we were there during lower season, but it would be nice if this restaurant was opened at least once per week.

We are usually get-out and see everything people, but as parents of a toddler with no family or support systems near us, we were exhausted and really wanted to reconnect, rest and rejuvenate. This resort is ideal for that. We left the resort only once in the two weeks we were there, to see the crocodiles down the street (about 15 minutes by foot), but they offer plenty of excursions, which we will likely try next time we are there. We will definitely return to Club Med Ixtapa.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinduos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear travelinduos,
We are so glad that your family received the R&R you were all looking for during your stay at our resort. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the buffet, the Petit Club, and your accommodations. Thank you for writing a review and we look forward to your next Club Med visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

From the arrival we were rapidly received with fresh good smelling towels, refreshing lemonade and a GO giving us our room key-card and walking us trough the main areas of the hotel. The room was very spacious and clean, good architecture, enough towels and very good air conditioning. We got a family room, with a separate bed which was a hit for our 4 year old kid. A lot of activities everywhere, we wanted to try them all but time wasnt enough, we went to the archery, kayak, zumba class, games room, theatre, ping pong. The miniclub is one of the best things the hotel offer to get our kid bussy and gave us some tranquility hours. He was very happy with his GO ALINA that was very patient whit him. Overall we would like to say that we definetly will comeback. Thank you guys!

Room Tip: Ask for the Iguana's building if you're traveling with a kid, it is very close to the Kid's club activities.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efrasmendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Efrasmendoza,
From start to finish, we are happy to hear that your family had a wonderful time and found it difficult to leave by the end of the vacation. From the Mini Club, the water sports, and the games room, we are glad that each member of the family found something they enjoyed. Thank you for writing a review and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is our fifth visit to Club Med since 2010 and our third to Ixtapa.

We continue to have great experience after great experience. This time was especially fun as we had the pleasure of being reunited with several GOs we had met previously in both Cancun and Ixtapa as well as meeting new GOs/Friends

Circus Team: Patrick (Chief), Marifer, Rolando, Maureen, and Tonio

One of biggest draws for our family has always been the trapeze/circus. You simply cannot get this experience anywhere else but Club Med. The Circus team at Ixtapa is staffed with individuals who are not only great performers, but are genuinely great people who personify what Club Med is all about. They are wonderful, down to earth, and fun. Headed by Patrick, this team will amaze you both were their talent and how great they are teaching adults and kids alike. We had met Patrick, Rolando, Maureen and Tonio on a previous trip and it was like being reunited with old friends. Marifer was a wonderful new face for us and she instantly became part of our extended and growing Club Med family. We can honestly say that one of the main reasons for coming back to Ixtapa this trip was knowing Patrick, Rolando, Maureen and Tonio were still there. We booked our next trip, knowing we will see Patrick and Marifer one more time! Rolando and Tonio we hope for our sakes you stay as well! We wish Maureen the best as she moves on to Brazil.

We also had the pleasure of having dinner with Patrick, Rolando, Marifer and Maureen. They are so talented and hospitable and have a great sense of humor and bring a tremendous amount of positive energy wherever you may see them. They absolutely love what they do and love to share it with all the guests. I went to trapeze everyday for 2 hours and with my oldest son (who is totally hooked as well) participated in the evening flying trapeze show and had a fabulous, unforgettable time. Our youngest son also loves trapeze and can’t wait until he’s 11 so he can be in the show as well.

Tennis Team: Johnny (Chief of Tennis) and Juanito

Another great team in Ixtapa is the Tennis team headed by Johnny who we had met on our last trip. It was like we never left. Johnny greeted us like family. Juanito was a welcome new addition. We had so much fun with them every morning, laughing and learning the game of tennis. They are fantastic and patient instructors. We got to know them both off the courts, dining and dancing with them. They are great teachers and great people. We hope we can have lessons with them again some day. Also a fun attraction by the courts are the iguanas! Quite a few of them to watch!

Johnny and Juanito are also very good entertainers as evidenced by their nighttime performances in the music factory, comedy and MJ shows. Don’t miss Johnny as part of Wham! and both Johnny and Juanito as part of the Jackson 5!

Land Sports/Fitness: Queijao, Pedro and Stephani

Talk about getting a workout while on vacation! Daily Aqua Gym with Quejeao and Pedro is not as easy as you think! They made each session entertaining and they are full of energy. Both were also in many of the nighttime shows. Queijao showed great range playing both Zeus and the biggest baby we have ever seen!

Stephani will make you work hard for spending all that time at the buffet and sampling the desserts! Our abs still hurt from the Total Core workouts! Stephanie is also a great performer in many of the evening shows. Her rope routine in both the Delphi and Mystery Manor shows are truly amazing!

Boutique Staff

Shaian, Isela, Flor and Yahir were all so friendly and helpful. They were great with the fashion show and a pleasure to see every time we stepped in the boutique to look around!

Shows/Entertainment

All of the shows were excellent! The shows range from comedy, to dance to circus performances. Special shout out to Diego who is not only Chief of Sailing, but also is a great comedic entertainer, emcee, and dancer. We had a blast with him during the Comedy Show (shoof!) the Couple Election (Madonna!) and trying to keep up with him during crazy signs! He also got us to try out the afternoon “coffee game” trivia contest which myself and the kids did for 7 straight days!

After the evening shows, we would dance crazy signs, and then continue to the main bar to relax, talk and dance with our friends ti include Wiley, Becky Shimush, Alexandra Axilas and El Presidente. We hope midnight mimosas are still going strong when we return! Sadly, Maple could not join us! Maybe next time!

Mini Club: Wanny, Hoshi, Christine, Rodrigo and Tom Tom

They are all great. Our kids, 12 and 9 enjoyed their time with the club and participated in the dance show which they really had a blast with, as well as slip and slide on the beach and the piñata which is always a crowd pleaser. All of the GOs with the mini club were top notch. They are filled with so much energy and patience, it is so wonderful to watch the kids participate in all the activities with them.


Food: Carlos (Restaurant Manager)

This is the second time we have been to Club Med with Carlos as the Restaurant Manager and he is fantastic. He is a pleasure to see at all the meals and is always there to make sure you have what you need. Not to mention the food, selection and preparation is wonderful. Enjoyed seeing Javier and Nina at the eggs/omelettes station in the morning. The outdoor dinner on the soccer field was once again a beautiful event. The attention to detail and presentation on this night was amazing!! The staff in the restaurant is always friendly and service is 5 star. Also the meals served at Miramar are very good as well as the scenery.

Bar: Zac, Javier, Saul, Aurelien, Ricardo, Basti, Juan and Jorge (Chief of Bar)

Oh the bar! Fantastic service with a smile! They were great! We were happy to see some familiar faces (Saul and Juan who remembered us and greeted us warmly) and made a lot of new friends as well. Zac, Basti, Ricardo and Aurelien were always around behind the bar as well as around the village and bring a tremendous amount of positive energy. Basti’s performance in the MJ show is not to be missed. We ate dinner with Zac and he is a great person to speak with. Javier taught us how to make 6 different drinks one lazy afternoon. Jorge, the Chief of Bar, was always present and was one of the key anchors for our coffee games!

Reception

The first face that greeted us was Cynthia from reception. She was great and even though it was raining when we arrived she instantly brightened up our day and escorted us to our room. We continued to see her throughout the week in and around the village and she always had time to stop and see how we were doing. She performed in many shows and she is too is a fantastic entertainer. We hope to see her again.

In addition, it was always nice to see Monica handing out beach towels in the morning always smiling and had a good time practicing Spanish with her.

Mehdi, Chief of the Village

He is so kind and friendly and accommodating. He was always around the club greeting people and at the entrance to the restaurant. He was never too busy to stop and speak to us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. He also participated in many of the shows. He made sure he was there to see us off when we departed.

Jose Luis, Assistant Chief of the Village

We met Jose Luis a few years ago in Cancun and it was great to see him again! He is an amazing assistant chief of the village, always around and smiling. He also did emcee duties for shows, participated in shows and was always at the afternoon coffee games being our Alex Trabek each afternoon. We hope we see him again!

Accommodations

Pajaro – Each time we have stayed at Pajaro building and we really liked it. Nothing better than waking up to a nice ocean view and the sounds of the waves. No need for a balcony. Our housekeeper Mary Chloe kept our room spotless and we were always greeted by incredible towel animals on our beds which just made us smile.

Friends

We have met so many wonderful people and families throughout our visits to Club Med but in Feb of 2011 we met another family of 4. Since then, we have met them in Ixtapa each and every year, this being the 3rd time vacationing together. We laugh so hard and create the best memories together and will continue this Club Med tradition as long as we can. TMBT!

We also consider the GOs who work at Club Med to be our friends. They aren’t just workers or the staff to us. We genuinely miss seeing them and it is difficult to say goodbye each time. This is what sets Club Med apart and for us makes it several steps above other vacations we have taken to include cruises, Disney/Universal, and beach resorts.

To sum it up, we give the GO's at this club a standing ovation for a job well done, you are amazing and talented and we wish you continued success in all that you wish to do and we hope we see you again….and again.

Thank you:) 

Lynn and Adam

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAD109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear LAD109,
Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy that our trapeze and circus facilities have your family craving more year after year. Our entire staff is committed to giving you a once in a lifetime experience at our resorts and we are glad to hear that your family continues to feel that way. We wish to continue providing your family with great experience after great experience for years to come!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Honestly, leaving is the worst part. Everything here is taken care of for you. You have no worries, and SO much to do. The staff is so friendly and outgoing and are there to make your vacation the best, especially the Circus Team: Patrick, Marifer, Maureen, Rolando and Tonio. Also, the shows right now are AMAZING! The MJ show with Basti is the best we've seen after 11 times! The food is also excellent with so many options. If you want to be entertained and relaxed in paradise, GO HERE! After 11 times we've never had one complaint!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cckpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Cckpm,
Nothing makes us happier than Club Med seasoned travellers and 11 visits is an incredible feat! We are so glad that you enjoyed the evening entertainment, the gourmet dining, and our committed staff. We don’t want you leaving as much as you don’t want to but we look forward to visits number 12, 13, 14, and so on!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews