We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over and Above”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great place to stay! The staff was amazing! We always had a G.O. at one of our tables visiting and making bonds that make us all want to come back. Maureen Lortie was always excited to see us and talk about where we are from. Maria Fernanda and Rolando helped us succeed on the trapeze. Christian was a hit on the dance floor and leading events. TomTom was full of surprises with his costumes and dedication to the kids program. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjrmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear rjrmay,
Thank you sharing your recent experience at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific. We are elated to hear that our staff made such a lasting impression on your stay. From the evening entertainment to the trapeze, we are glad to hear that your family had a wonderful time. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

One amazing week at Club Med Ixtapa. This was our first time at Club Med and as the title says we have already re-booked so that will tell you how much we enjoyed it! We now get why families go year after year. We have a toddler and this was just the perfect choice of vacation not only for him but for us also. We ALL got a fantastic vacation!

There are so many things that were great but here are a few call-outs that made this vacation so special:

Petit Club - I was nervous, unsure and feeling a little guilty about putting our son into the club whilst we were on vacation but the staff were caring, attentive and a lot of fun! Whilst he was hesitant in the morning leaving us, within 15 mins we were forgotten about and and he was having the best time. The mix of activities, rest and play for the young ones was just perfect, and my husband and I could get time by ourselves to relax and enjoy our vacation knowing he was so well taken care of. All the staff were wonderful and we cannot speak highly enough of them all. They really made our vacation and we are very thankful and grateful to them - Nallelle, Vania, Kari, Hoshi, Selene and Pedro.

Sol Suites - Definitely the way to go! Yes it's extra but its so worth it. In the morning, we had breakfast deliver to our deck then I would play with our son on the beach prior to him going to Petite Club. It was so relaxing and stress free. The family suites are great with lots of space but having it on the beach really made it perfect.

Sports/activities - Great selection for the really active or not-so active depending on your preference or how you felt that day. It really did mean there was something for everyone. It also meant that my husband was able to keep himself amused swinging form the trapeze - thank you Rolando and Selgado - whilst I relaxed on the cabana with my book. Perfect vacation for everyone! We took advantage of most of the activities including kayaking, trapeze, archery. Unfortunately there was no wind for us to go sailing the week we were there.

Food - One of the best things even although Luna Azul was closed. We ate every lunch and night at the main restaurant El Encanto. Breakfast we had delivered to our suite. We could have ate also at Miramar at night but we have a toddler so the main restaurant suited us best and the food was great so we didnt venture to Miramar. We are foodies so this is always a big part of our vacation wherever we go. It was beyond our expectations. There is something for everyone and they really do try to cater for all tastes so as such there may be some dishes that you dont like but just keep walking and you will find another one that you do.

Staff - ALL were absolutely awesome! From the GO's to the GE's to the waiters (Felipe and Amador) and barstaff (Tonito and Felipe) all were warm, friendly and super helpful. All always had service with a smile. Mehdi (chief of village) and Christian walked the grounds everyday and spoke with guests to understand how their stay was going. We were really impressed by how service orientated everyone was and how invested they are in you having a great vacation. These personal touches really make the difference.

Concierge at Sol Suites - All staff here went above and beyond but we have to call out Lidisee whose service was exceptional. She made us feel like VIPs and couldnt have been more helpful with us and our son.

Overall this was an awesome vacation all-round. We did go in the off season which meant it was quiet and we did not have any lines for anything - drink, food or activities. We just walked right up. It also meant our son got 1-1 attention a lot whilst he was at the club. The downside was of course that Luna Azul restaurant wasn't open and we were disappointed however in the end with the food being so good at the main restaurant of El Encanto it was a tiny price to pay. So much so we have rebooked to go again in October again when it's quiet. We may never get to try Luna Azul but it's worth it to have the rest of the resort practically to yourselves!

Thanks to all the staff here for such a wonderful vacation. We can't wait to go back to create more amazing memories - roll on October!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaMac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear FionaMac18,
Thank you writing a review on your recent Club Med Ixtapa stay. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that you will be visiting again in the near future. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the Petit Club, the food, and the Sol Suites during your vacation, among other things. Again, thank you for your review and we can’t wait to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our family is now a an OFFICIAL Club Med Ixtapa addict! It was our first time ever and this trip exceeded every expectation we had! We arrived to the biggest and most friendliest smiles. Christine from Montreal gave us a warm welcome and easily engaged our 3 kids (ages 10,8, & 6yrs). The Chief of Village, Mehdi, was so personable and open! We had 3 birthday celebrations during our stay, and he and the GO's made every occasion special. We loved that he came by every day to engage us. We loved sharing our meals with all the GO's! Johnny,Maureen, Danielle & Hoshi made lunch so fun. Johnny and Javier gave AWESOME tennis lessons. We showed up everyday looking forward to working with them. And thank you to Javier for organizing the doubles tournament before he left for Brazil. We can't brag enough about the Kid's Club! Tom Tom, Alina, Hoshi, Wanny, Christine, Felipe & Karen are still being talked about by our kids! Our kids enjoyed the Circus camp, kayaking, sailing and other activities. Archery was one of their most favorite activities. The children's nightly entertainment delighted all of us, especially the when the children preformed their own dance routines. The kids loved their GO's so much they didn't want us to sign them out at the end of each day!
The food was delicious and so many choices! We so greatly appreciated all the attention to detail and the excellent staff. Alber, Carlos, Juan & Felipe would remember our family and greet us with our favorite drinks and huge smiles. Muchas gracias, mi amores!

We stayed in the Iguana building and it was so convenient to all the ares of the resort. Our Deluxe room was perfect for family, giving us some privacy of our own while still connecting with the kid's room. We loved looking for the real iguanas in the morning just outside our windows.

The tennis was by far our most favorite activity. Johnny & Javier were the best tennis pros! They really improved our game and we had a blast every day. The only improvement to the tennis program we would recommend is that they get a new ball hopper. The old wire basket one needs to be replaced with an automatic rolling one.

Room Tip: Get the 2nd or 3rd floor of the Iguana tower for great views. Watch out for the tile floors, they so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Kim H,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent Club Med stay. We are so glad to hear that our staff made each birthday feel special and celebrated. It’s also great to hear that you enjoyed several of our amenities such as the kids club, the tennis, and the nightly entertainment, among other things. Thank you again for writing a review and we look forward to your next stay.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My day would start with an outdoor breakfast and then off to Zumba. Stephanie was great! Then aqua gym led by great GOs. Lunch with husband after he had been playing tennis. Laying in the sun either at the beach or pool and then another round of aqua gym. Time for showering meeting husband after another round of tennis for him and dressing for dinner. After dinner show was so much fun and then dancing under the stars. Also tried the Mexican cooking class and towel folding. Took a boat ride to Ixtapa Island. Just a wonderful place to celebrate our 47th Wedding Anniversary. The GOs there are incredible. This was our 4th trip to Ixtapa Club Med and we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweeney47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear sweeney47,
Thanks you for writing a review on your most recent Club Med stay. Nothing makes us happier than Club Med veterans and we are elated that you chose our resort to celebrate your 47th anniversary. It’s great to hear that you and your husband took advantage of our fitness classes and enjoyed some relaxation time as well. Thank you for writing a review and we can’t wait to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just returned from eight days at Club Med Ixtapa. It was a great choice for a family vacation with our toddler.

What we loved:

- Petit Club. Seriously the best reason to go to this Club Med if you have a young child!!! I admit I was initially hesitant to put my daughter in "daycare" while on vacation, but she LOVED it. The activities are wonderful and my husband and I rested and relaxed knowing our daughter was well cared for. All the staff is wonderful, but our daughter (and we!) especially loved Nallelly, Vania, Dora, Kari, Patchy and Pedro. So thankful for them!

- All the sporting activities. I loved daily fitness classes with Stefani, and my husband loved tennis with Javier and the daily pool games. We also took advantage of the kayaks, sailboats and a few Aqua Gym classes. We loved having these a our disposal each day.

- Most of the food. Breakfast and lunch were always excellent; love the daily fresh breads and the abundance of fresh Mexican food (don't miss the tortas if they serve them at lunch!). Daily ice cream with fresh Mexican caramel sauce and toasted coconut was essential. Dinner was hit or miss but seafood was usually delicious. See more about the downsides of the food below.

- The beautiful pool, grounds and beach. It is a wonderful tropical environment.

- The hardworking waitstaff. So many of them got to know us ( and our drink orders!) and always served us with a smile.

What could be improved:

- Food served at dinner. As mentioned above, breakfast and lunch were usually good but dinner often included overcooked meats. Stick to the stations where they prepare things to order for the best experience.

- The room. We stayed in the Iguana building and while the room was spacious, it smelled like mildew and the bed was stiff as a board. Felt like a motel more than a resort.

- Wifi. It is 2013... If you're going to charge for wifi, make it available in the guest rooms!

- The spa. Don't waste your money. I got a facial and was a little disappointed in both the facility (no soap in the shower??) and the service itself. The spa is badly in need of an upgrade.

A few other tips: don't book your airport travel through them or you will have to leave for the airport super early; just have the front desk call you a cab. Also, the nightly shows are a little cheesy, but the circus show, trapeze show and music factory show might be worth a look.

Overall, we would definitely return to Club Med Ixtapa. We traveled off season (April 26 - May 4), and while this meant some of the restaurants were closed due to low occupancy, we basically had full run of the place - no waiting for anything and easy access to pool and beach chairs. Thanks to the staff for a memorable, wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Iguana building are a little shabby, but the location is awesome compared to other buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bee_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear bee_queen,
Thank you for sharing your most recent Club Med stay. We are always looking for ways to improve our resort. We appreciate all of your comments and they will be passed on to the proper management. Nonetheless, we are glad to hear that your family enjoyed the kids clubs, the resort grounds, and the fitness activities, among other things. Once again, thank you for your review we look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This location was perfect for our family trip with grandkids age 9 & 12, their parents, and us (grandma and grandpa). We could gather or be independent, be active or slothful, and participate in any or none of the myriad daily activities. Best features were the site, great staffing, and sense of safety that gave us all, including the kids, a feeling of freedom from the need to negotiate plans.

The highlight for all generations was coaching by the tennis pro - Javier Mukul Araujo. He was the best short-term coach we had ever worked with, and changed all our games profoundly and with grace and fun. We heard that he's moving to the Brazil property, but if he's still in Mexico when you're there, definitely work with him.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Aline P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Club Med Ixtapa Pacific experience. It’s a pleasure to hear that family members of all ages found activities and amenities that suited their likes at our resort. It is also great to know that Javier was able to make such a strong impression on the entire family and add to the overall experience of your stay. Thank you again for writing your review and we look forward to your return.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Club Med Ixtapa is very well suited to families. We traveled with 6 children (3-17 years) and all had a great time. We were there April 20-27. Mehdi, Christian and all the GOs were top notch. You could tell that it was their priority that we have a great time and that our needs were being met. Many thanks to all the Gos who made the vacation so special for us. Trapeze and archery were big hits with our kids...and of course the pool!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MindyH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear MindyH H,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Club Med. We are so glad to hear that our GO’s were able to make your stay all the better. It’s also great to hear that your kids took advantage of our trapeze and archery amenities and enjoyed their stay as well. Once again, thank you for writing a review and we look forward to your return.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.7 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,566 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $214 - $1,244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific, a heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive resort, elected as one of the ‘world’s best’ family resorts by Trip Advisor. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular sceneries, as the resort is nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing