We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Nearby Hotels
$157
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$242
$169
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$301
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$272
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$108
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$375
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,299)
Filter reviews
3,299 results
Traveler rating
2,400
603
174
81
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,400
603
174
81
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiguana buildingchief of the villagecircus teamfamily vacationbeach boyflying trapezesol suitescrazy signswhite nightfitness instructorland sportsbaby foodmusic factoryluna azuldeluxe family roomsports activitiesmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 3,299 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Quick background, married 3 kids ages 12, 9, and 2. I travel several times a year for work and stay in 4-5 star hotels and am in the hospitality/food and Beverage Business. We go away somewhere tropical about every other year and finally have found a place that we will definately return to.
When you read all the glowing reviews you tend to ask your self "can this place really be that great" YES IT IS!! From the time you first see the Club Med Rep at the Airport to the final send off the entire staff treats you top notch. You develop relationships with these extremely friendly folks who's job is to make sure you have a good time. They aren't like the staff at other resorts where you can tell they are just going through the motions.
Room-
We stayed in the Sol Suites on the Ground Floor. With that you get concerige service with Magda, Claudia, Lizilee who are there for whatever you need. Concerige service is open until 11 with a never ending supply of snacks, juice boxes, beer, wine and some liquor. You just wander up and grab what you want. Rooms are right on the beach, great view, the older kids had their own room and we had a crib (pack in Play) the resort provided in the Master Bed Room. TIP- Get room service to deliver juice, pastries etc to the deck overlooking the beach in the morning so when you get up you can enjoy your coffee looking at the beach. Just write on the order form "Deliver to back deck please"
Food-
Not good food for a Buffet but GREAT FOOD for a RESTAURANT. I hate traveling to all-inclusives where they only have a couple of local cuisine options. They had a wide variety and ever changing options of some fantastic Mexican Cuisine. Every night is a different theme and everything was amazing with lots of Fresh Fish, fresh meaning caught that day and on display for you to view! Great standards for kids who are picky eaters (my 9 year old) (pizza, pasta, hamburgers, hot dogs, french fries)
Activities-
Plenty too do and lots of fun. Our kids didn't do any of the clubs but I think they regretted it a little bit at the end seeing the friendships that they kids in the camps built. If your kids don't do the camps they can still do all the activities if they want. The mornings are when the campers travel aroud to the different activities and they G.O.s will work your kids into the mix with the campers so don't feel like they are just for the kids in camp when they show up. When in doubt ask.
Excursions-
We did the swim with the Dophins which was amazing. Our older boys did the full on swim with them and my wife and I did the Family Experience.
STAFF- AMAZING! Everyone was there to help you with whatever you needed even if it wasn't their area of expertise. TIP- learn some basic spanish and teach your kids to use it (thank you, please)The spanish speaking staff definately appreciated the effort. Another family had some food allergy issues while out on the Dolphin excursion and when we returned Polo was there to make sure they were okay.
Other Guests- Very friendly and good mix of Nationalities. So this "Club Med Vibe/Aura/Vibe" that you may have heard about does exist. It's catching another guests eye and knowing you're part of something special at Club Med. This starts with the staff. A place that opens their arms to you trickles down to the guests and their interactoin with each other, Club med gets it.
The resort was at about 90% occupancy and it never seemed crowded especially down by the family suites. The Beach Boys (not the band) were always very quick to bring drinks. We never really had to wait for anything.
Summary- Book this place now, weather is perfect, get a first floor suite, eat a lot, enjoy your family. To repeat what another reviewer said, when was the last time you remembered so many staff members names after a trip. In fact Remy, the Chief Of The Village, made you feel like if you needed something you could just call him and he'd take care of it. The guy walked the beach everyday to make sure everything was ok. Not just small talk but genuine concern on how the vacation was going. We are looking to book for 2 weeks next year.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Family Suite in Sol if you want to be kind of away from everything.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChadBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear ChadBaltimore_Md,
Thanks for the kind words about our Ixtapa resort. We're thrilled to hear you had an outstanding experience and that you found our staff, dining options, activities and facilities to be great. It is our goal to make sure each guest has a memorable visit and we're ecstatic you're already planning to visit again! Thank you again for taking the time post a review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just got back from the most amazing vacation at Club Med Ixtapa. This was a family vacation...grandparents, parents and 5 children ranging in age from 1 to 12. It was perfect for everyone. First let me say that although we did not take advantage of any of the kids clubs all the the children at the resort who did seemed to thoroughly enjoy themselves. We were happy to just sit and play on the beautiful beach most of the day. Check-in was easy and we were taken to our rooms immediately. We had one suite and 2 family suites which were right on the beach. The ocean is relatively calm so that all ages could enjoy the water....enough waves for the older kids and calm enough for the little ones to play by waters edge and not be swept away. The suites have a 'private beach area' so it was never crowded. Tonito and Audel came by all day to bring us whatever drinks we wanted.....the kids loved their strawberry daquaris ! We ate in the main restaurant everyday and decided the food was so good we didn't even make reservations for the speciality restaurants. Each night is a different dining theme ( mexican, asian, etc) however, there was always plenty of choices for even the pickiest eaters. (Always hamburgers, hotdogs and french fries for the kids). Desserts were out of this world....be sure to try the cookies with chocolate topped with a strawberry ! The dress code is casual. A few of the men wore long pants, but mostly shorts. Loved the trapeze...what fun. The staff is the friendliest I have ever encountered. We travel each year and this is definitely the best family spot I have ever been to. Because we were in the suite life area, we had concierge service...A nice quite little room where fruit, drinks and help were always available. Clauia, Lidisse or Magda will book an excursion for you, get a cab for you, answer any question you might have...they are there for your every need and genuinely make you feel they are pleased to be able to help. They even did our 'check-out' for us. I think everyone who works there really enjoys being part of the Club Med village. It never rained.....not once. (I am told it only rains in September !) The grounds are immaculate. The beach seems to be about a half mile long with the suites being at one end.....restaurants, pools and activities in the middle and watersports and activities at the other end. This is a very very safe place for all the kids and the older ones could go anywhere on the property and be safe. Some of did go into town to do a little shopping....it was fun for the two older boys who had learned to 'barter'. Unless you feel the need for a little local culture and souveniers, there really is not much reason to ever leave the resort property. Some did go on the dolphin encounter and said it was amazing. If you are considering a family vacation, this is the place for you. Beautiful beach, great food, wonderful people, picture perfect sunsets, lots of things to do....it just doesn't get any better. One note....bring your own sunscreen..it is horribly expensive both at the resort and in town.

Room Tip: We were in suites which were right on the beach. This would definitely be my choice again.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Jackie4648,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We love when our guests have an exceptional vacation and we're so pleased to know you found our facilities, dining options, staff and beach to be fabulous. We're especially glad you enjoyed our trapeze! Thank you again for posting a review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I can understand why this resort gets its fill of 5-stars, but I felt like giving it 5-stars would be a slight to other resorts where the facilities/grounds were impeccable and service was top notch. The facilities, room and equipment appeared a bit worn, and the low point is the gym & spa. Both were in the main building and smelled of a damp basement (mold, mildew). Gym equipment was at least 10 years old and usable (but there was obvious rust on some parts). They kept it clean, but the dampness was impossible to overlook (we worked out everyday there anyhow) Service was good, but outside of the GOs (camp counselors), the local staff didn't speak much English and weren't the ultra-attentive sort you would get at a Four Seasons or like.

BUT, the overall experience was great. This place is a combination of your luxury beach resort and a family camp-like atmosphere. The mini-clubs were excellent with unique activities (archery, sailing, kayaking, trapeze) and great GOs. We went with our 4-, 6-, and 8-year old kids. The ideal age range (if not infant) is 6 and up. They really take to the activities, whereas the # of 4-year olds not in the club (with parents around the pool) started to grow over the week. No negative reflection on the GOs - they really did a great job, I think it's just a tough age.

If you want reservations at the restaurants, make them before you get there. They are difficult to get when other people book the ideal time slots for the whole week. However, the buffet-style main restaurant served EXCELLENT food (esp. for all-inclusive buffet). There are different themes and nothing gets old. We had late reservations at the other restaurants and ultimately cancelled them since we really enjoyed the ease (kids get can get their own food) & quality of the buffet.

Lastly, this was a great family experience. They have family-oriented activities that really encourage participation from the whole family, which is what really makes this place unique. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: "Iguana" rooms are near the kids clubs and activity centers, whereas the others are on the other side of the main building, which makes the trek to the kids club about 10 minutes.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxxusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear MaxxusD,
Thank you for reviewing our Ixtapa resort. It makes us so happy to hear you had an awesome visit and that you found our GOs, dining options and Mini Club to be terrific. We're also thrilled you participated in so many activities we have to offer such as archery, sailing and the trapeze. We hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I enjoyed everything about Club Med when i stayed there last year. I loved their dining room and liked the dining/eating in different areas of Club Med and the different themes. I also liked their lemonade.
However, when i booked the place, the internet advertising said $750 and i thought that it was a great deal... the catch $750 double occupancy when we talked to the reservation desk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 618Mashael618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear 618Mashael618,
Thank you for sharing about your stay at our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're so glad to know you enjoyed your stay and that you found our dining options to be excellent. We apologize for any inconvenience as this is not the norm for Club Med, and please know we are currently addressing the concern you have mentioned. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having visited many places for vacation, we have just visited Ixtapa for the 4th time. Our two children are now 7 and 5, and as many others have commented, the mini club, layout or the complex and staff are terrific. I recommend this location as the best family resort in Mexico to everyone I know. The sunsets are fantastic, and the beach is easily big enough. We have tended to stay in the suites, which are more expensive, but are right on the beach front. On balance, we think it is worth the difference in price, although all of the accommodation is very good. Of note this year is Agustin in in the mini club - no one could do more for the children, and Magda at the Suites reception, for whom nothing was too much trouble. If you have children, and are thinking Mexico, Club Med Ixtapa is the benchmark.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank jhimmens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear jhimmens,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Ixtapa resort. We love when our guests have an amazing experience and we're thrilled to hear this was your fourth time visiting our resort! We're also so glad our staff, beach and Mini Club exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for posting a review, and we hope you return soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews