We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to show its age/needs a face lift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is our 10th trip to Club Med Ixtapa. The first was over 25 years ago with our young daughters. Several trips back with kids and recently last two years without kids. It is good to go year to year and see the small changes.
Overall, still a great village with great GO's.
The property is starting to show its constant use and the recent renovation from 2007 is in need of a re-do. We noticed chipped tables in the room and broken tiles on the room floor. Dining room has damaged chairs with dented legs and torn upholstery . Since Club Med does not own this property but leases it, I think they do not want to sink too much into upgrading rooms.
Food is good, not as good as it was 15 years ago, but without the french chefs, the quality of baked goods has gone downhill. Variety is very good and constant choice of salads makes eating healthy very easy. When the village has very low occupancy, they close the speciality restaurants.( no more reservations accepted). A new experience this time was outdoor dinner on the soccer field complete with special lighting and music. It was beautiful. I hope they continue this .
It is fun to see familiar faces and new faces too. Chef Remy does stop to chat with GM's and by the end of the two weeks, we were kind of tired of seeing each other each day. He is very good at keeping the natives happy. He is leaving next month and next year we will meet the new Chef.
Overall, Go's make this a great experience. A special thank you to Tonio in Archery for making our afternoons so fun and Cintia in reception. She helped us everyday with problems and questions, always with a smile and remembering us by name. Isaac remembered us from last year and it was nice to catch up with him and find out how the infirmary is doing.
It becomes like a home away from home with the authentic Mexican spirit and feeling of a village. If you want the Four Seasons or the Ritz, this is not your place. This is where you come to forget time and modern worries and try activities you would never do at home.

Room Tip: Iguana building very good for families with children, close to the Kids Club and kids pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Pat C,
Thank you for posting a review about our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, however, we are so sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations. Please know we are currently addressing the concerns you have mentioned and truly appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. It makes us so happy to know you had a terrific vacation, and we hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 2,985 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We’ve just returned from Club Med Ixtapa. If you're looking for a family vacation for kids 16 and under, I’d unreservedly recommend this Club Med. I would echo all the great, 1000+ comments for this property in the TripAdvisor reviews.

I want to complement the Club Med G.O. team that made our vacation so special—and who created such a great experience for our kids.

Remy and Christian lead a phenomenal team and do a great job of leading a fun operation while making it look effortless. Wanny won over our 8-year-old son immediately; his talent, endless energy, and ability to constantly keep a group of kids engaged is impressive. Aidee, Estrella, Alexis, and Christine did a wonderful job with our 4-year old daughter. Talent shows, dances, treasure hunts, tie-dying t-shirts, tight rope walking….every day was a new adventure for her.

We’re already telling our friends about our trip and making plans to go back with the new friends we (and our kids) made there. Thanks again!

Room Tip: Many "ocean" rooms do not have balconies facing the ocean. We selected a garden room, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Eliot W,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Ixtapa resort. We love when our guests have a memorable experience and we're so pleased to hear our staff and Kids Club surpassed your expectations. It also makes us so happy to know you'd recommend our resort to other families, and that you're already planning your next trip! Thanks again for the kind words, and we look forward to your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent 2 weeks recently and it was one of the best trips (14 previously) we have ever made to a Club Med. First the entire staff was terrific. Many thanks to the Chief - Remy, Christian ,Alber- dining room, Antonio -Beach Boy, Silverio-dining room and Courtney. Special kudos to the tennis staff-Javier, Jonathan and Gerrado. Javier gave me exceptional lessons and tips and all the tennis pros played and put up with my poor tennis but at age 84 I do the best I can.
Also my wife wishes to thank the fitness staff- Big Cheese and Dan for getting her in shape at the Aquagym and power walking. Being Raven fans we enjoyed watching the Super Bowl in shorts and Ravens' shirts. Great food,
great entertainment, great rooms (recommend the family deluxe) and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthiasMidAtlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear MatthiasMidAtlantic,
Thank you for sharing about your vacation at our Ixtapa resort. We're thrilled to hear you had a spectacular trip and that our staff, entertainment, facilities and dining options exceeded your every expectation. We're also so glad to hear this was one of the best Club Med experiences you've ever had! Thank you again for posting a review, and we hope you return soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at Club Med in early January. The rooms were perfectly suited to a family stay, the food was excellent and varied and the kids say that the flying trapeze was the best part of their whole year! The GO staff was excellent and provided such great role models for our kids. In particular, we enjoyed meeting Maureen on the circus crew, a fellow Canadian, who the kids adored. One of my daughters even took notes on her career path so she could follow it! She was always so friendly and down to earth and so talented! We hope to return to Club Med soon as it was the best family sun vacation we have had. So relaxing and easy! Thanks to all of the GO's who made it a great stay for all of us!

Room Tip: If you have more than two children, there are adjoining rooms (french doors in the middle) and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear TamFrance,
Thank you for posting a review about our Club Med Ixtapa resort. It makes us so happy to hear you had a fabulous vacation and that you found our staff, facilities and dining options to be splendid. We're also so glad you thought our trapeze was the best part! Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I went Club iXtapa end of January with my husband and 8 year old son. We had a great time. We have been to many Club Meds and wanted to try a new one. We were glad we tried this resort.

My son was in the Dragons, the 8 - 10 year olds. The G.O. team was great; he had a great time. The Haitian G.O. was fun with the kids. They did sailing, kayaking, swimming in the pool and ocean, performed in a show, played in the game room (foosball table) which my son loved, played soccer on the soccer field next to the beach, archery, and many more activities.

The sun is really hot so we had to be careful and put on sunscreen, hats, sit in the shade. The weather was very nice; sunny with very little clouds and hot 85 - 90 degrees F. The beach is beautiful; the ocean has slight waves in one area and bigger ones further down the beach.

The food was good, the outside tables overlook the ocean and island which was a nice view. The Mexicans and other resort workers were very nice.

I took tennis lessons; the instructor Javier made it fun. I played a little soccer. I took aerobics and yoga classes in the exercise hut next to the beach. The instructors were good. My husband played volleyball, tennis. We took the boat over to the island and went snorkeling. We wished we had done more things to see the area outside the resort. There are so many things to do at the resort that you can stay there and keep busy.

We stayed in the Iguana. Our standard room was small with no balcony so we upgraded to a bigger room which had a balcony that faced the ocean and soccer field, two separate bed rooms with separate sinks; a really nice room. The resort was half full so I was able to get the type of room and location that I wanted after insisting several times.

I also got a massage in the Spa. It was very nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleniMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear EleniMaria,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're so glad you enjoyed all the activities we have to offer like kayaking, sailing and archery. It also makes us so pleased you found our dining options, spa and staff to be excellent. We're thrilled you had an excellent visit, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I look on Trip Advisor every time we book a vacation. Usually the reviews are pretty accurate, but I thought I would post a review because my expectations weren't completely met with what I had read because of the cleanliness and upkeep of the resort. We stayed at Club Med Itxtapa from Jan 2nd to 9th. The activities for kids were fantastic, the food was the best we've ever had at an all-inclusive and the beach was great for the family. (kids ages 3 and 7) The only issue I had with the resort is that it's not as clean or upkept as I would have expected. Our room had dirty finger prints on all of the doors and could have been a lot cleaner, in the bathroom and shower. One of the sinks was plugged for our entire stay. I had talked to two people about this and nothing was done. The pools are below average for what we've had at other resorts and the pool for kids has a few tiles missing on the bottom, which can be sharp under the feet, You could tell the pool decks weren't cleaned off every few days, lots of sand under the feet, the pool chairs weren't that clean either. Near our room, bats (at least 10) would hang from the walls in the staircase as soon as it's dark, which didn't really bother us...may bother some people....but they sprayed this sticky black stuff up on the walls, where the bats 'hang out'. If you put all that aside, which we did, it was a great vacation because of the beach, activities, and food...and of course being with family. I don't know if that's what most club meds are like, there are things we loved about it but maybe we're just used to a higher standard for a resort in terms of cleanliness and upkeep. I would still recommend going with your family because there are a lot of great things about it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brigitte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Brigitte L,
Thank you for posting a review about our Ixtapa resort. We're so happy to know you and your family had a wonderful vacation and that you found our beach, activities and dining options to be fantastic. We apologize for the concerns you mentioned, and thank you for your feedback as we are always searching for ways to improve. We hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Traveled to Club Med Ixtapa Feb 2 - to Feb 9th as a family of four (two kids aged 5 and 8). We some how lucked out to arrive with the resort at half capacity, which was great as we didn't have to wait for anything. This was our third club med vacation, but first at this resort. Liked this one because it is smaller and we got to know people. Activities were similar to the other resorts we had stayed at - though some of the activities were restricted by age so our youngest couldn't participate, whereas at the other resorts this wasn't a problem.

The room was fine - didn't spend much time in there - loved the beds and the setup with the kids in their own separate room. The weather was amazing - consistent and warm. Loved the beach and the pool - the kids enjoyed both.
The GO's were amazing - lots of energy, learned the kids names and made sure they were involved.
Food was great - we only ate at the buffet - which provided a huge range of food. We didn't try the specialty restaurants as the buffet was always so good.

In general, the resort is looking a bit tired - i.e. the deck probably should be replaced. This however, did not at all take away from our vacation. We came away happy and relaxed and would probably choose this resort again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANJB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear ANJBHarrington,
Thank you for sharing about your stay at our Club Med Ixtapa resort. It makes us so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff, dining options, beach and pool to be terrific. Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and greatly appreciate any insights our guests may have. We're so glad you had a fantastic time, and we hope you visit for a fourth time soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.7 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,558 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $218 - $1,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific, a heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive resort, elected as one of the ‘world’s best’ family resorts by Trip Advisor. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular sceneries, as the resort is nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing