We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,372)
Filter reviews
3,372 results
Traveler rating
2,457
614
177
83
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,457
614
177
83
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiguana buildingchief of the villagecircus teamfamily vacationbeach boysol suitescrazy signsjean marcflying trapezewhite nightfitness classesland sportsmusic factorysports activitiesbaby foodluna azuldeluxe family room
Filter
Updating list...
1,515 - 1,520 of 3,372 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently went to Ixtapa Pacific (returned on Nov 17, 2012) with my family - myself, wife, 6 year old girl , and 20 month old boy. The resort was excellent - we had a phenomenal time - with a few highlights and detriments (which I'll mention below.)

Overall, the rooms are spacious (we had a family room, with a separate room for the kids, and a crib for the kid. The crib is a pack-and-play, but with a washable cover on it, so it's really quite clean. The kids room had a TV and 2 single beds as well. The room was clean and comfy, with separate AC controls for both rooms, and a nice little baby tub for bathing the baby. They also provided us with a stroller for our stay. The room had a mini-fridge.

The Baby Club room had all the kinds of kid stuff you would expect, including 4 types of UHT milk as well as baby formula. We ended up taking milk cartons to our room fridge since we didn't wan to always have to walk back and forth.

The highlight of the resort is really the kids club - which allowed us adults to have a good time as well. The kids club staff were *great* - they really forged bonds with the kids, and cared for them like their own. Our baby had never been in any kind of day care situation before, but he adjusted well. They adapted things like sleeping and eating to *his* schedule, rather than theirs (they do have a set schedule for activities, lunch, nap, etc.) - they were very accommodating, and we could check on the kids throughout the day and check them in/out of the kids clubs to do stuff with us. Our daughter did the trapeze, learned a bit of tennis, and *loved* going sailing almost every day.

Our daughter had a cough on the plane, which worsened once we arrived - we ended up taking her to the doctor at the resort ($50 USD ) who was very thorough and prescribed her an antibiotic. The Club Med staff called the meds into the pharmacy, and they were delivered to the front desk within the hour. The great part was that the folks at the front desk and the nurse remembered us - and Ricardo U (front desk) even came by later to enquire as to our daughters health!

A few other highlights:

- When we ran out of milk in our room, and the baby room was out of it also, Kari (of the Mini Club) actually went out, found milk for us, and delivered it directly to our room (wow!)
- The Mini and Baby Club staff - Kari, Victor, Dora, Vania, and Agustin - just to name a few, forged great relationships with our kids, and had our daughter telling us she wanted to move to Ixtapa and go to Club Med every weekend.
- We ended up going into Zihuatanejo two times during our stay - once to "Bodega" because we forgot some stuff, and once to just shop. Both times, we took the advice of the GO's and took the bus into town (10 pesos each way!), and they gave us great directions (it's one bus - almost impossible to get lost!)
- Melisa (restaurant manager) gave us great directions as to what to do in Zihuatanejo, and even gave us her cell phone number and told us to call any time if we had questions or needed help/advice.

There were only two shortcomings - which were as likely to be sales related issues as resort related ones:

1. The Miramar restaurant was under renovation when we arrived. We weren't notified of this in advance, and the end result was that we were stuck in one restaurant for the whole week. While not exactly boring, there are some repetitive dishes/deserts - and going to the same place 3x a day got a bit boring.
2. The La Luna restaurant was only open for dinner once, and the reservations filled up in under an hour - they should have had it open more than just a single night at least...
3. The kids club restaurant wasn't open at all - we were told it was because there weren't enough kids, but they shouldn't advertise it if they don't plan on having it open.
4. We were sold on booking travel through Club Med because we were told they provide transportation to and from the airport *and* provide child safety seats for the kids. They did provide the transportation, but there were no child safety seats. In fact, I *verified* 3 times, on three separate occasions (including the morning of our departure) that they would provide these seats on the way *back* to the airport, and they did not.
5. The Chef de Village was Christian (normally it's apparently Remy), a couple of GO's told us that Remy runs a "tighter" ship, and things slack a bit when he's not in the village. During our entire visit we only saw Christian a handful of times (mostly at night), and never once spoke with or met him. I'd have kind of expected to see him around a bit more...that's not necessarily a bad thing, but might explain the lack of coordination with the carseats..

I dinged the service and the food one star each because of the car seat issue and the lack of other restaurants being open. It's my understanding that the restaurant renovation (that caused Miramar to be closed) is a "one time" thing, that most other guests won't experience, but we should have been informed of this in advance of our visit.

Tips if you are going:

- Bring a tube of sunscreen for each of your kids (especially if they aren't together in the same group, so it's harder to share.)
- Bring shoes - like sneakers. For things like tennis and soccer, flip flops aren't sufficient. Hats are important also.
- Mosquito repellent is 10 bucks at the resort, and you might like to bring it.
- If you forget small stuff, it's a 30 minute bus ride each way to Bodega in Zihuatenejo (shorter if you head to the small market in Ixtapa.) Bodega is Walmart in Mexico. It's 10 pesos each way (less than 1 USD), and if it's stuff like diapers it's worth the trip.
- They have laundry at the resort (we paid US $40 to wash 40 articles of clothing.), they wash, dry, iron, and fold for you.
- Bring ibuprofen, it's not cheap at the resort, and if you're like me and do stuff like trapeze, you might need it. You can get it at the Pharmacy in Ixtapa (ask for Generico) if you want it cheaper.
- There is a boat service ($8 USD round trip) to Ixtapa island, which has hour-long massages for 250 pesos, as well as snorkeling. Consider that as opposed to the hotel massage (~1000 pesos)
- You can go horseback riding in/around a lake for about 100 pesos, but you have to know how to get there - ask at the front desk..or one of the GO's about it.
- If you go into Zihuatanejo centro (get off at the "Electra" store - it's got a large vertical sign that's hard to miss.) there is lots of good artisan shopping nearby - more so than the Ixtapa market, and seemingly more varied (not to mention cheaper.) Good for souvenirs/gifts.
- The doctor is good, and cheaper than visiting one in the US - if you sense illness coming on in your kids, go sooner rather than later (We went on the second night of our stay, and our daughter improved greatly that night.)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the best if you have kids. The Iguana building apparently has more mosquitos due to the grass and lagoon, but it's closer to more stuff. We didn't have any kind of major mosquito issue.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ASUChander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear ASUChander,
Thank you for posting a review about our resort. We're happy to hear you had a fabulous vacation and that our staff, facilities and Kids Club exceeded your every expectation. We're also thrilled to hear you enjoyed all the activities our resort has to offer such as our trapeze, tennis and sailing. Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and greatly appreciate any insights our guests may have. We're so glad you had an amazing stay, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our family stayed here with two kids and both sets of grandparents. This was low-season, so we had the run of the place. No trouble with chairs at the pool and no lines at the buffet or the bars. On a few occasions it was actually too quiet and some of the scheduled activities, like a volleyball game, didn’t take place due to lack of numbers. This could be an issue for those who need to do every activity on the books, but it was infrequent and not an issue for us.

The rooms were spacious, the food was exceptional and so was the staff. You can trust the frequent, glowing reviews of this resort. While the property is showing some of its age, the grounds are lush and well taken care of, and everything is neat and tidy. What separates this place from the rest is the staff. Absolutely first rate! Activities are plentiful, but there is no obligation to do anything more than sit by the pool or on the beach if that is what you want.

We hadn’t planned on putting our kids in the Mini Club that is included, but after trying it out, they begged to go back and move from one activity to another under the great care of G.O.s Mandy, Elizabeth, Veronik, Andre, Agustin, Karen, Tonio and others. The kids did archery, sailing, trapeze, soccer, arts and crafts, swimming, treasure hunts, cooking with the chef. One of their best days was our only day of rain during the week.

The sports staff, including Jesus at tennis and Dan at Aqua Gym were great! Josephine at Zumba got high marks from my wife and the grandmothers with us. The whole trapeze crew was great with the kids and put on the best show of the week. Carlos and the restaurant staff were spot on with their service. Hugo was our go to guy at the pool bar and kept the unlimited beverage flowing with a smile all day long. And the food – this was the unexpected surprise of the trip. I’ve been to all-inclusive resorts where the draw of unlimited food sounds great, but it never meets your expectations. The food here exceeded everyone’s expectations. The chefs provided perfectly prepared and varied dishes with great attention to detail and wonderful presentation. We are food snobs and were not disappointed in any meal.

As the resort management does monitor these posts, just two suggestions. First, the resort is on a slightly later schedule than we are accustomed. Breakfast is not available until 7:30am and there is no place open before that to get coffee or something to eat. This was rarely an issue, but with small kids, you are bound to be up earlier than you’d like on vacation and having even a small café type place open before the main restaurant would be a real nice offering. Second, don’t nickel and dime your guests on Internet service. If the Hampton Inn has free Internet, so should you. At a minimum, offer free wireless service in the public areas and just charge for wired room Internet. While the Internet service was decent, it had its glitches and that is annoying when you are paying for it.

Room Tip: Stay in the Iguana complex of buildings. Would advise ground floor room as the stairs are narrow and steep and stairwells can be dark early in the evening.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmmnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear tmmnova,
Thanks for the kind words! It sounds like you had a spectacular time enjoying all the activities our resort has to offer like the trapeze, tennis and zumba. We're also pleased to hear you found our staff, dining options and facilities to be exceptional. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Title says it all. Kids went nuts for the ice-cream bar, soda fountain, archery, trapeze, tennis. My son had no less than 6 pina colada (virgin) smoothies per day. Now my family is used to Pavillon de la reine (if you don't know it, look it up, we recommend it highly)....but this was a different type of vacation.

Honestly, one we never thought we'd take. But the end of summer was rolling around and my mom wanted to take a family vacation, the kids were out of camp and school was 2 weeks away....next thing you know, we're landing in Zihuatanejo.

BTW the end of August is the perfect time to go there. It was only 30% full, so we had full run of the place and no lines for anything. Food was plentiful, and alcohol was free. So, um, yeah you might start drinking early.

There are two negatives: 1. Mosquitos - they are vicious and unforgiving; one spot left uncovered and you're bit for sure. Bring lots of bug spray. Not one can, but one can per person. They sell it at the store, but it's more expensive and sometimes they're out of the spray. 2. The rooms are not what you're paying for. Remember that. It's fun, it's an experience, and you're hardly ever in your room. If you're travelling with more than 1 child, I suggest two adjoining rooms instead of the family suite. 5 people, one cramped bathroom...no bueno. You need two bathrooms.

The G.O's were awesome: Kellee (my archery daughter's favorite), Christian (temporary head of village) and Josh (the secret agent/professional water skiier/lawyer/bon vivant). So friendly and inviting. They made the whole trip better. Don't be afraid when they sit and eat with you; that's just part of the charm.

We're looking forward to our next Club Med family vacation, just trying to find the time and place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear amtann,
Thank you for posting a review about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific. It makes us so happy to hear you had a fabulous stay and that your kids didn't want to leave! We're also so glad you found our staff, activities and amenities to be excellent. Thank you for your insights as we are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate any feedback our guests may have. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

WOW what a perfect Family Vacation Spot, it was our first Club Med experience and it was simply amazing. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and FUN. Dan water aerobics will never be the same for me again and Stephanie you sure do know how to Zumba, loved your classes. The trapeze show was amazing and so was the circus. Our granddaughter loved the trapeze team and is bragging that she can hang by her toes. We loved the excursion that we took for snorkeling, so many beautiful fish and the lobster meal afterwards was delicious. All the food at the resort was fantastic and so were the beverages. Thank you to all for making our vacation one that we will never forget.

Room Tip: In our group there were three different rooms. If you have children the suites for families are amazing and the individual rooms are so spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Elaine T,
Thanks for the review! We're ecstatic you had such a perfect vacation, and that it was your first time staying at our resort! We're especially glad our staff, activities, entertainment and dining options exceeded all your expectations. It also sounds like you had a fabulous time enjoying the circus, trapeze and snorkeling! We love that you had an unforgettable experience, and we hope you return soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just back from a great week in Club Med Ixtapa......was a great holiday for me as so much for the kids to do!
The staff, entertainment & activities were great, Stephanie the butts and abs fitness classes were the best. still feeling the burn now lol!
There was a great varitity of food & drinks available all day and the service was excellent.
I definate must for all.......

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear NicolaW2,
Thanks for the kind words! We're pleased you had such a great vacation and that our staff, activities, dining options and entertainment surpassed your every expectation. It's our priority to make sure each guest has a memorable experience and we're so glad you and your family had a lovely holiday! Thank you again for sharing, and we hope you visit again in the future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews