We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“course reveiw”

Marina Ixtapa Golf Club
Ranked #11 of 30 things to do in Ixtapa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marina Ixtapa Golf Club is a Robert Von Hagge designed links style track which opened in January, 1994. It is characterized by narrow fairways bordered by numerous dunes of grass, large traps guarding undulating greens and water on 14 of the 18 holes.The course is a challenging yet fair experience with 4 sets of tees to accommodate all ranges of experience and abilities. The staff is friendly, courteous and very knowledgeable.The Marina Ixtapa Golf Club is open from 7 am until dusk 365 days per year.
Olds, Canada
1 review
“course reveiw”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just had the pleasure of golfing the marina course for 2 weeks in Jan with 10 friends cannot say enough good things about the course or staff

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lois T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimIxtapa, General Manager at Marina Ixtapa Golf Club, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Lois T, Thank you very much for your kind comments and for your continued support of MIGC. I greatly appreciate that you and your "Canada Crew" have selected MIGC as your golf course of choice in Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo. In the name of my co-workers and for myself, we all look forward to your return visit in January, 2015. Your tee times are already on the calendar.

Tim S.

GM
MIGC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    48
    28
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marina Course Improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have just arrived back this week from vacation in Ixtapa and made a point of going to play the Marina Course this past week. I had played the course 4 years ago and loved the layout but did not play it again over my past 2 visits to Ixtapa due to the reviews and "word of mouth" that the course was in poor shape. I ended up playing all my rounds at the Palma Real Course (including once more this past week) I had been following the reviews of the Marina course over this last year and was very impressed by Tim Sullivan's (the Marina Course General Manager) comments and answers in regards to the condition of the course and the work that they were putting into the course to try and get it back to being a very good golf course. Tim was always very "up front" about the conditions and challenges for the course and always answered the difficult questions he was being asked.
I have to say that it was a real pleasure to play the Marina Course again. The fairways were in good shape and the greens were outstanding the day we played! The bunkers definitely needed some work, but this is very easily said about the Palma Real Course as well! (and all of the greens at the Marina were a ton better than the Palma Real as well) The back 9 had a few holes/fairways where there was still some damage and cleanup needed due to the large storm a few months ago, but they are working on that as there were workers out on the course tending to the cleanup.
We had 3 golfers in our group ( a 7, 10 and 16 handicap) and all 3 of us said that the Marina Course was the highlight of our golfing in Ixtapa this year, and that we should have played all our rounds there. I will definitely be playing the Marina Course in the future, and would recommend that everyone give this great layout another "shot", because if they don't get the play, we all may be limited to only the one choice for Golf in Ixtapa and that will not be good for anyone.
The carts and driving range do need some work, but at this time I would rather have the course put their efforts and resources into the course, and this seems to be what they are doing.
We also found all of the staff very friendly and appreciative of our coming there to play and our caddie Arik, was outstanding and probably saved everyone at least 4-5 strokes on the greens. I did also get to meet Tim Sullivan, as he was out on the course visiting and talking to the golfers so I believe that he is trying his best to ensure that the improvements to the course continue on.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimIxtapa, General Manager at Marina Ixtapa Golf Club, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Bob S, Thank you for your TA review dated today. Your frank and fair comments are much appreciated as well as your visit to MIGC.

Each day I am encouraged for a brighter future for MIGC by the many positive and supportive comments made by our clients who have come to play MIGC whether it be for just one round or for all of their rounds of golf during their stay in Ixtapa. Thanks to our loyal clientele the word is getting out to the general golfing public that MIGC is in fact open and doing good business providing a challenging yet satisfying golfing experience as well as polite and professional attention to our clients.

I wish that more people had your determination to come personally and check out our course instead of accepting as gospel the often misinformed gossip.

Tim S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Update on previous review-Marina Ixtapa Golf Club”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We own a condo in Ixtapa located on the Palma Real Golf Course (where we live for four months of the year) and have been traveling to Ixtapa/Zihua for the past 31 years. However, we choose to play each and every year at the Marina course because of its layout and challenges posed, the lower greens fees as well as the friendly atmosphere we encounter on each visit. Each year we purchase a package and play as often as we like.
Unfortunately, over the past few years we've noticed a continuing deterioration of the course. This, we believe, is no reflection on the laborers and management but is more a reflection on the world economy -- especially the US, Canada and Mexico.
We'll be returning once again this year (2014) on April 7 and sincerely look forward to playing the Marina course. Sadly, the prospect that the course may be closed indefinitely or permanently is disturbing to us and we, of course, hope that neither is the case. The caddy masters are great, friendly and helpful and the reception we receive every time we play the course is unmatched. This in comparison to the Palma Real course which is owned and operated by FONATUR, the huge Mexico tourism conglomerate. Additionally, management is no where near as friendly and accommodating as at the Marina course. Palma Real has been through several "new" managers and can't seem to hold onto the good ones. The fact that FONATUR doesn't appear to care the slightest whether anyone plays or not and that they insist on maintaining the $1,200. peso green fee plus cart fee keeps us away. All we do at Palma Real is walk the course with our little dog. We're rooting for the Marina course!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amagnuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimIxtapa, General Manager at Marina Ixtapa Golf Club, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
amagnuson, Thank you for your kind review of MIGC dated 12 January, 2014. I am pleased to inform you that the course is open and operating as a full 18-hole links course. We opened the back nine of 20 December last. It was closed for a couple of months in the Fall due in large part to the Autumn storms which hit Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo very hard.

The Holiday weeks were very busy and we had the pleasure of receiving many past and new players to MIGC who in large part were very understanding of the conditions under which we are obliged to operate; and, in large part they commented positively on the state of the golf course and the daily improvements we were able to realize.

The High Season is now entering into full swing and many of are American and Canadian visitors are returning to the area and golf course. We appreciate their preference for MIGC and are pleased that they continue to support our Club with their attendance and constructive criticism.

The condition of the course continues to improve each and every day; and, I am certain that the course will be in very fine shape when you arrive in April.

It seems that this season should witness an increase in tourism in general and play in particular. What we all hope and pray for is that Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo will once again become the destination of choice for so many who like yourself have found IZ to be a slice of paradise.

Tim Sullivan
GM
MIGC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I have been playing golf for 45 years. This is the very worst course I have played in my life. Practice range, tees, fairways and greens are awful. The bridges are dangerous. I would truck in the cows for its appropriate use. The rental clubs should be given to the Smithsonian.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wondering about course shape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Reviewed before but just wondering what shape the course is in lately. We are back Jan. 26/2014 till Feb. 9/2014 and really like it, but have seen some reviews that have disparaged the course over the summer and fall. Are there any recent experiences that would encourage my husband and son to play in a few weeks?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimIxtapa, General Manager at Marina Ixtapa Golf Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Kathie D, Happy New Year.
The course is open and operating all 18 holes (the back nine had been from October until this past 22 December).

The course has received an average of 50 players per day over the past fortnight the majority of whom have been very satisfied with the course in spite of less than perfect overall condition.

Our rates are the same as last season.

We look forward to receiving you later this month.

Tim Sullivan
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Ixtapa Golf Club also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Marina Ixtapa Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing