We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Be patient and you will enjoy it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campo de Golf Ixtapa

Campo de Golf Ixtapa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ranked as one of Mexico's finest, this 18-hole course was designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Be patient and you will enjoy it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This a goverment run golf course so you have to know that you won´t find a fancy pro-shop or the blond sun-tanned golf pro.

However the golf course is really nice, is really clean, well kept and the caddies are really friendly.

Some of the holes are really nice and overall you will have a really nice time.

Try to get there really early on the morning or after 2pm since the weather could be extreme and the probabilities of a sunburn can be really high.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    31
    14
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful challenging course, staff very friendly. Save money and buy 3 games or more if u can. Manager Guillermo is a fantastic guy. They clean your clubs and shoes for a $2 tip when done.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mexlover49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cost increases at Palma Real Ixtapa”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Zihuatanejo for the last 14 years. We used to golf almost every day with 2 caddies (benefitting their families and their lives). The last 3 -5 years have seen golf costs go through the roof and as a couple spending two months there it has become too expensive to continue this acitivity. Our caddies and their families are the most amazing people and it breaks my heart that we can no longer continue to help support them through their services at the golf course. We have spoken many times to the management there to no avail - there is nobody on the course half the time and everyone is suffering for it - YEAH for the Government taking charge of this! They are driving tourists away!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick194823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Updated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Ok the new equipment has arrived. It was used for some time, and the greens are much better. Now what's going on. The heads at fonatur in Mexico city have not provided a budget for gas and diesel to run the machines. So disappointing. Now the tee boxes are like pasture. If they can't pay for gas. Maybe they should get burros. Another pet peeve is that they continually soak the bunkers because of poor irrigation. So either the sand is washed otu or it is wet concrete. I do notice they brought in new sand. But without fixing the irrigation why bother. I get my information from caddy and workers. All of this must be hard for the new gm. He keepsake brave face with no backing from his higher ups

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank curbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixtapa Zihuatanejo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Be prepared to pay PREMIUM prices for a not so great course. Hole 9 is the only one worth it. Over a lake towards the beach.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campo de Golf Ixtapa also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Campo de Golf Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing