We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond expectations”
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Canmore, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above and beyond expectations”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful, relaxing week at Las Brisas.
This was, by far, the best all inclusive experience we have had anywhere - it really was beyond our expectations.

We loved the private beach, four pools, lush grounds, beautiful stone walkways, modern fitness facility, spacious room, balcony with stunning ocean views, and above all, the courteous and professional service from ALL of the staff.

We were thrilled with the best-ever food and beverage quality we have ever experienced at an all inclusive resort. We also really appreciated the fact that making reservations for the a la carte restaurants was as easy as sitting down with the super friendly and helpful concierge... NO getting up at 6 a.m., NO waiting in long lineups!

All of the restaurants were great, but our favourite was Las Brisas II - sitting under the stars, looking over the ocean, it was the most romantic setting I have ever experienced.

Another highlight for us was being able to watch baby sea turtles being released into the ocean. We really appreciated the explanation and information offered as we watched.

There is an overall air of class and elegance at Las Brisas that is simply exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest:
We were very pleased to read the review of your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Thank you very much for your feedback and rest assured that all our staff is gladly motivated to keep on doing an excellent job in servicing our guests to exceed their expectations.
It will be our pleasure to host you again at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    705
    283
    108
    62
See reviews for
660
848
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Rock, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Love this resort! The staff is excellent! Food and drink is pricey! Only complaint is the wi fi is only available in the business center or for an extra charge of $12 per day in your room not available in the lobby bar or the beach! Just inconvenient but for a hotel of this caliber it should just be included. That said our favorite hotel although we spend lots of days at El Palmar beach, Las Gatas beach and just commute!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better views! 17th floor or above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domoba1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest:
We appreciate the time you spent in sharing with us your comments related to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
In reference to the wi-fi, it is included only in our Brisas Plan package, however due to the mountains surrounding our property, it is not possible to have such service in some areas.
Thank you for being our guest and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I spent one week at Las Brisas Ixtapa in January 2013, and it was one of the best all inclusive vacations we have ever had.
First of all, how can you beat a resort that has true ocean views from every room? And the room itself was great. The large balcony was a favourite spot to start our day with coffee and Baileys (purchased wisely at the duty free) before breakfast. Yes! Before breakfast. This resort is true relaxation. There is no rushing around at sunrise to get a table at breakfast so you can get a lounger at the beach. There is no rushing for anything here! I made all our reservations for dinner with the concierge for our entire stay in 5 minutes.
The service is exceptional. From the lovely restaurants to the beach, you do not have to get up for anything. All your drinks are brought to you right at your lounge chair, along with a lunch menu if you really feel like being spoiled. A bucket of Corona on ice with fresh guacamole and chips....heaven!
Food was excellent at all the restaurants. The breakfast buffet is small, but you will find everything you need, and if not, order off the menu!
The pool area's are beautiful, and once again, never a shortage of lounge chairs but we are beach people, so didn't spend very much time there.
This is a quiet resort, especially in the evening, but you can definitely make your own fun, and the open air ocean view lobby bar is a great place for a party! There is also a small sports bar with backgammon tables which we used quite often.
Perfect location on a lovely private beach with beautiful sunsets every night. Great food, great service, great location, great price. The only negative was leaving! Next year we will return for 2 weeks. Viva la Mexico!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

We have read your kind review and were pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Rest assured that we will continue looking for the continuous improvement to make your future stays unique and comfortable ones.

Thank you for choosing Las Brisas Ixtapa and look forward to see you soon.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

From beginning to end, our stay at Las Brisas was perfect. Check-in was quick and friendly and we were in our room in minutes. You will immediately notice the amazing hospitality and friendliness that makes you feel so welcome. We immediately cracked open a cerveza and sat on our private patio surveying the amazing view of the ocean and nearby landscape.

I wasn't sure what to expect, but our room on the 15th floor was great. It was beautifully decorated and had a king-size bed and plenty of hangers in the closet and plenty of drawers to stash your stuff in. The closet had a safe at eye level, so it was easy to access. The bathroom was great and we loved the double shower heads and all the great towels. All the towels at the hotel are HUGE.There was also a basket that fit into a space under the vanity for all toiletries so that they weren't scattered all over the counter.

There are bedside tables on both sides of the bed and each has a lamp and several light switches that control various lights in the room. There was also a decent clock. We had a sitting area with a table and two chairs and a very cozy love seat that was well padded and comfortably surrounded by huge cushions. There were extra bed pillows in the closet.

All the decks had hammocks and ours had a wooden table and two chairs as well as three potted flowering plants. The hammock was perfect in the early morning and evening after the sun went down.

We had a little coffee pot and had read in other reviews that the coffee provided may not be included, so we brought our own and some filters, but it turns out that the coffee is included and we were provided with a package that included coffee, sugar, sweetener and coffee mate every day. We were also provided with two big bottles of water beside the coffee pot as well as two little bottles in the mini-fridge and two more in the bathroom. The fridge was also stocked with a Coke, 7-Up and three little beer as others have mentioned.

There were ice machines very close by and all the ice came in little bags that fit in the ice bucket. This was another nice touch as I drink a lot of ice water. I should mention that we were given a sheet when we checked in that tells you what is and is not included in the AI. The only thing I ordered that was not included was a Grand Marnier at dinner one evening, and had I read the list fully, I would have known that. We had no surprises when we checked out (zero balance).

The beach is awesome and we swam and played in the waves the first few days, but then the waves got huge and the man took a double whammy and banged his head, so we didn't go in after that. We loved the beach and the excellent service from Sergio. Buckets filled with ice to keep your cervezas or water cold was something I'd never experienced anywhere else. The food at the beach was great, too. We had a seafood cocktail that was just delicious, and we both liked the burgers and french fries (I know... but they were the best we'd ever had in Mexico). You can go and sit on the patio, but they will also serve you right on the beach. Like others have said, there are plenty of palapas and loungers for everyone and I especially liked the chairs that were easy to move around - take down to the water and sit so that the waves come up and cool you off. The water was warm and that beautiful aquamarine colour you don't often see on the Mexican Pacific. We checked out all the pools too and the water was refreshing but not cold. The poolside service was good, but we didn't spend a lot of time there.

We went to the Bellavista for breakfast in the morning and happened to end up there twice for dinner. The breakfast was buffet and had different hot offerings every morning as well as an omelet station, fresh fruit and juice and a selection of sweet rolls and buns. Really something for everyone. I'm not a huge breakfast person but always found something. There has been plenty of talk about the price of the breakfast buffet - there is a sign on the main floor before you go downstairs that does say $250 pesos each. They never did charge us for 2 so maybe it's just precautionary. The day we left, they had eggs benedict. Someone mentioned in a previous review that you could have bacon if you asked for it but when we did, they said you could have it in your omelet but that's all. The only thing that struck us was that they did not have toast. Not a big deal, I know, but I would have been in heaven if they had toast. :)

We dined at Las Brisa II twice and Portofino once. Both were great. We had the caesar salad for two prepared table-side and duck and the house special shrimp at Portofino. We liked Las Brisa II because of the outdoor setting and it was a little less formal but both had great meals and fantastic service. We didn't try El Mexicano because we had scheduled some trips off the resort. We also did not try Solarium for lunch because we were either at the beach or day-tripping. Dinner at the Bellavista is not buffet but al a carte and had some decent offerings as well All the restaurants are open until midnight.We tipped in pesos at the time we signed our bills to ensure that our servers received it.Las Brisas has the best food we have had in any resort.

There is very good transportation from and to the resort and traveling around by bus or taxi is very easy and reasonably priced.They have taxi prices listed to most locations nearby so you know what to expect. Zihuatanejo was $110 pesos.You can just walk down to the main road to catch the bus and Ixtapa is a nice walk. Take a cab back because it's uphill and most likely very hot. We didn't find the hotel difficult to navigate, although we did use the elevators to go up most of the time. There is a full directory in your room for anything you want or need. The grounds are beautiful and there are lots of different birds and we did see a few other little creatures like squirrels.

We had a lovely vacation and would not hesitate to return or recommend to others. We travelled Feb. 24 to Mar. 3, 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowcrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for the wonderful and descriptive review of your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Our staff is very happy when reading comments like yours; they are motivated and focus all their efforts in the continuous improvement to exceed our guests’ expectations.
Once again, thank you and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you at Las Brisas very soon.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you like Pina Coladas(or Margheritas) and taking walks on the beach, If you like glorious sunny days and a spot on view of the sun setting in the Pacific(always to applause) surrounded by lovely music and a convivial crowd,If you like sunning and swimming in indigo pools, if you like friendly staff and excellent food and service then Las Brisas Ixtapa is your place. We have returned here five times and have always gone into full vacation mode on day one as there is absolutely nothing that gets in the way of being deliciously lazy and content. On the practical side. lots of hot water no matter what time of day it is, beautiful products, lots of big thirsty towels, turn down service with sweets and sweet notes on the pillow. Room is spacious with a seating area as well as the large balcony.(really hot there in the late afternoon,an umbrella would be nice) but perfect for waking up in the shimmering soft early morning air. Coffee is $5 a day if you are not on all inclusive so it is a good idea to bring your own coffee and filters. The little market opens at 9AM so if you like to eat breakfast in your room, you might want to stock up the day before. Breakfast is a$25 buffet which is better than ordering a la carte as that adds up to $25 quickly. We most often had lunch on the beach or by the pools and dinner in town. Zhijuatenejo is the place to experience old Mexico of the fishing village variety, it is the "real deal" Eating on the beach is romantic and lovely and the seafood is very reasonable and freshly caught. All of the staff at the hotel are friendly and warm but Maritza Garcia, theChief Concierge is the best of the best, warm and welcoming and most accomodating. Be sure to check out the lobby bulletin board for the daily question, there is always a prize. Looking forward to being at Las Brisas soon again. No worries on the weather, the sun shines all of the time. For the most romantic of evenings try Villa de la Selva, just a short walk up the hill from the hotel.

Room Tip: the 16th floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLovers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Your kind review is highly appreciated.
All our staff is really motivated with comments like yours, as they make their best effort so that our guests’ stay pleasant and comfortable.
Thank you for preference and hope to see you soon at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We returned for a second time to Las Brisas last week and absolutely loved our stay. The hotel is beautiful, impressive, clean and provides amazing sunset views. The staff is incredible, always nice, courteous, smiling and polite. The food is unbelievable.

I honestly have no bad comments at all. Not once did I feel like something needed improvement, maybe just the mattresses, but even then, it's not that big of an issue.

We were very sad to leave and I can't wait untill we return again! Thanks Las Brisas!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have private balconies with Pacific ocean views. Simply perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlandr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your definition about the hotel “If heaven has a name, it’s Las Brisas.”.
We feel very proud that our staff, services, installations, sunset view, vegetation inspired you making your second stay with us a unique and unforgettable experience.
It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We absolutely loved our time at this resort! This was our first time at Las Brisas and have been to five other all inclusive resorts in Mexico - on the Mayan, Huatulco, Los Cabos and in Ixtapa, but we stayed at the Barcelo last time. This was by far our favourite but I was concerned before we came because of the reviews on this website. Most of the reviews are bang on but I didn't understand the billing at the restaurants or what was really included in the "all inclusive". Some of the reviews made me wonder whether we would have bottled water in our room or coffee and I really didn't want to have a "bill" at the end of our stay. So this review is to clarify for others who have never been here before and are on the "all inclusive" plan. The room is simple - There is a coffee machine (four cups) with a package of regular and decaffeinated coffee stocked daily along with two 1 1/2 litre bottles of water. In the fridge there are three pops, three small bottles of water and three "mini" Corona's which is also stocked daily. All of this is included in the "all inclusive" package. The room had a safe. The restaurants are awesome! For breakfast, there is only one restaurant open - the Bellavista. It is a buffet and one of the best we've had. Everything you can imagne. For lunch there are two options - the Solarium (which is by the pools) or Las Brisas 1 which is right on the beach - both have menus and the Solarium also has a small buffet. For dinner there is the Bellavista - which has a small buffet or menu and no reservations needed. The other three dinner restaurants are the Portofino (Italian), Las Brisas 2 which is outside on a terrace and the Mexicana. There is no limit to how many times you go to these but reservations are needed. All of them are excellent. All of the menus in all of the restaurants have appetizers, soups, salads, entrees, desserts and specialty coffees. Now the billing - every meal you go to you have to give your room number and you get a bill at the end of the meal in a small folder. You have to write down the amount of the bill, your tip, your name and your room number and sign it. You leave the original in the folder and keep the other copy for your records. We always put zero for the tip and enclosed cash for the tip as we didn't want to have to pay anything when we checked out at the end of our stay. Now that we know the system, next time we go we will not bring as many peso's with us and will pay all of the tips with Visa at the end of our stay. I saved all of my copies and was kind of worried what would happen at checkout but we had no problem checking out - zero balance.
We were on the 16th floor which is the non-smoking floor and loved it. The view was fantastic! The room was a bit dated but very clean. Maid service was excellent. Every day we had either beautiful towell art or fresh flowers - so nice to come back to! We didn't spend any time at the pools but they looked beautiful and refreshing. The beach was awesome - totally private - only access is through the hotel. There were plenty of palapas even when the hotel was fully booked for the weekend of February 1st which is a Mexican holiday. I wouldn't recommend the beach for young children - it was kind of hard to get in and out of the waves but the water was warm and we had a lot of fun playing in the water! The sunsets are the best in Mexico! Ask the lifeguard if they are releasing turtles because that is an awesome experience - we saw it twice while we were there. We also took the "nature walk" which was on Wednesday and Sundays - there was no charge but you do have to register with the concierge as there is a 15 person limit. It was fantastic - we learned so much. As stated there are lots of stairs but we loved them - they are all stone walks in the jungle and look so natural. Beautiful to walk through. The elevator is at one end of the hotel and the pools and tennis courts at the other end so there is a fair amount of walking but it is all in a natural setting and you can hear the birds singing away while you are walking. There is no nightly entertainment or pool entertainment which we loved - When we go to Mexico we want to hear the ocean waves crashing and the birds singing and just relax. The staff are amazing - they did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable and it didn't depend on tips - most of our meals we had no idea who our main server was because whenever a plate had to be cleared away, or more coffee or wine poured, someone was there to do it. They also all seemed to really be enjoying their job - they were all laughing and joking with each other, which is fun to watch. Checkin was a breeze. Maritza, the concierge is a delight and very good at her job and all of the staff, no matter where you were, all nodded, smiled and said "hola". The only downside that we found and this is no fault of the hotel is that there were large golf tournaments booked at the resort while we were there and we found that they booked large tables at the a la cartes and were very loud in a small restaurant so it was hard to have a conversation, let alone have a romantic dinner at the end of a perfect day! Also, as stated in other reviews, if you have mobility problems this resort would be a problem as all restaurants have stairs to navigate.
We will definitely return to Las Brisas - they exceeded all of our expectations and we had a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zakita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your kind and detailed review.
We were very happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are committed to exceed our guests expectations and your kind comments are an incentive for all of us to keep on working in the right direction to make unique and awesome experiences for our guests.
Hope to have the pleasure of your return at Las Brisas Ixtapa very soon.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
1.0 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.8 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
1.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
663 reviews
1.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Ixtapa

Property: Las Brisas Ixtapa
Address: Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of a mountain and surrounded by tropical vegetation on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Mexican Pacific Riviera is where you will find this secluded tropical paradise that offers the perfect balance between recreation and relaxation. A private hilltop entrance leads into a stone courtyard with dramatic fountain, where porters escort new arrivals to the open-air reception area. Bright colors, high ceilings, and keyhole views of the Pacific Ocean highlight hotel's striking architecture. Las Brisas Ixtapa is a particular favorite of honeymooners for its romantic setting and rooms with private terraces, all with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Brisas Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Resort
Las Brisas Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing