We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 visits there now”
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

For anyone thinking of visiting Ixtapa , I highly recommend Las Brisas. We have stayed there 3 times in the last 3 years and love it., ALL rooms are ocean view rooms and the beach is amazing as well as large . Rooms are very clean, for an older resort and happy hour in the main lobby to watch the sunset is not only fun but romantic .
They are not all inclusive but offer that as an option, I would pass on it , its very expensive for one and you can eat alot cheaper in Ixtapa plus its only a $ 4.00 cab ride ,,,dinner for 2 averages about $ 15.00 to $ 20.00 where as eating at the resort for two averages about $ 75.00 to $ 100.00, drinks included . The breakfest buffett there is $ 20.00 per person but not worth it ( thats just my opinion ) again, go to Ixtapa. Breakfest there averages about $ 5.00 and its pretty good . Also visit Zihuatanejo, its about a $ 10.00 cab ride from resort but you can negotiate a better deal heading back with the local cabs . Zihuatanejo offers some great shopping and places to eat lunch and dinner , but then again so does Ixtapa .
All in all,,,very good resort and surrounding towns are alot of fun to shop . In Ixtapa everyone likes to go to Franks restaurant in the main square area at least once ,,,not bad for pizza actually. I also like Momma Norma's ( I thinks that was the name ) damn good Lobster tail's for $ 20.00 Alot of places to eat around the marina area well.
When booking and you want all-inclusive ,,they have a few places in Ixtapa like that but little or no beach at all,,takes the fun out of the day I think . So be watchful when booking one of those .
There are local markets in Ixtapa so you can load up on liquer , beer and snacks , we did !!! since the rooms all have fridges , plus there are a few shops there for last minute items .
I rated the spa low because I never saw it opened . Best value is lunch by the main pool .

But i really did enjoy Las Brisas Resort .

Room Tip: all are beach front rooms , you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest:
We sincerely appreciate your nice review in reference to your March 2012 stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
We feel very happy to know this was your third stay with us, this means you have enjoyed our services and facilities. Please rest assured that we will continue focusing our efforts to exceed our guests expectations.
Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 2,455 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel Las Brisas has beautiful rooms, however, the service, access to the beach, pools, food and everything else didn't meet my expectations. From the day we got there, it took the reception 3 hrs to assign us our rooms (and we already had a reservation...). One could tell that there was a lack of comunication in the staff. Moreover, the food, and I'm referring to one of the best gastronomy's in the world, was not good. Our first night there, we waited for at least 30 min for our meals, and they had forgotten our order of entrees... To make up for it they brought them after the main course, which we didn't want anymore, and our server insisted that we have them. Other than that, the pool is nice, but a bit dangerous for kids and a bit far away from the rooms. It's a nice hotel but it's simply not worth the price you pay for it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Karin_Reznicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Guest:
Thank you for writing your review related to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Please accept our sincere apology for not meeting your expectations. Rest assured that we have taken corrective actions in order to improve the service with our Front Desk and restaurants staff.
Hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in Las Brisas Ixtapa and let us welcome you back in sunny Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We live in Ixtapa, yesterday we show up at the airport for our flight to Mexico City on Aeromexico and they are closing the airport saying our flight was cancelled. Luckily Aeromexico personnel took care of us by changing our flights to today, sent us to hotel Las Brisas and gave us an allowance of 800 pesos for food only for the both of us.

I have always been curious about Las Brisas and this was our chance to find out.

The positive:
The hotel is in a nice settiing:

staff is helpful and friendly which is the case in most places in Mexico;

The room was nice with a large balcony overlooking the ocean, it was clean and basic;

The beach is small but really nice;

The pools are ok.

The negative:

The food is overpriced and not that good; good fresh food well prepared is plentiful in Mexico, we can eat a great meal downtown Zihua or in some in Ixtapa for much less. As a matter of fact, we had to spend more than the allowance. A bowl of cereal is 73 pesos, add coffee, fruits, toast, its adds up to close to 200 pesos. A rip-off

The hotel is secluded, therefore you need a taxi when you want to go out;

The hotel is ugly, long boring corridors to go anywhere, it is also run down but very clean, it must have been splendid 35 years ago;

Based on the previous excellent reviews, I expected some luxury, it is very basic;

Had to pay 186 pesos for wifi and it did not even work half the time, therefore I asked for a credit and got it without any fuss;

Therefore, personally, I would not recommend to my friends and family to stay there, but I dont mean by that that the place should be avoided as I am sure that with less expectations the place is fine.

Room Tip: We had a room near a compressor that went on all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowbird054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

We are deeply sorry if we did not meet with your expectations, and look forward to have the opportunity to regain your confidence when you come back to this beautiful destination….Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo.

Sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Las Brisas Ixtapa is still probably the best hotel in the Ixtapa area. It is perched on a hill with a private beach but still only a 15 minute walk to the main resort area of Ixtapa. The hotel has a simple mexican decor, bright colors and simple elegance. I was there in July, which was the beginning of the mexican high season. Lots of families with kids so the pool was a bit overcrowded with little children. And although the hotel has 2 swimming pools, there do not seem enough for the size of the hotel. But the ocean was the place to be. Big waves to play with and warm ocean temperatures made you want to stay in all day. The surf can be a bit dangerous so it is wise to be cautious when in the water. Great breakfasts but the dinner buffet could be improved quality wise.
Highly recommended...... oh yes... and the huge balconies in the room are a treat!!

Room Tip: All rooms share the same view. Higher rooms are closer to the lobby, restaurants and pools. Rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mexvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments and nice description of Las Brisas Ixtapa.

In reference to your recommendation in reference to the dinner buffet, our Chef is taking care in improving it every night.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Las Brisas Ixtapa in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

If you like, great service, excellent food, a private beach and lovely junglelike atmosphere this is the place for you! It's so well run that you'll just love everyone there. I've been there many many times and there's no deception. It can get a little pricey mostly for the restaurant services, but you are just a couple dollars away from many restaurants.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have a pretty nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gij0048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Guest:

We appreciate your nice review related to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Rest assure that we will keep doing our best efforts to try to exceed your expectations to make your next stay a unique experience.

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was our fifth trip to Las Brisas Ixtapa over the last twelve years and we hope to return again. Beautiful hotel, great views, a private beach and service second to none. Make sure you visit the open-air bar with the perfect view of the Pacific...and two for one drinks during happy hour! (Featuring great service from Polo & Rosaria.) We stayed during the second week of June; low season, and the hotel was only at about 15% capacity, but still fully staffed. Went into Ixtapa and/or Zihuatanejo daily for the restaurants and shops and always took cabs into town; very reasonably priced and available from the lobby at a moment’s notice. You can walk into Ixtapa if you desire, but the walk back up the hill can be quite a challenge in the heat and humidity. And if you're worried about your safety in the area, don't...really. We were out and about every night and NEVER felt threatened in any way. Great people, great hotel, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Some pretty rough waves at the beach, but the view more than makes up for it. Built into a cliff ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JCruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Guest:

It is our pleasure having had the opportunity of hosting you for the fifth time at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

After reading your review, we have learned that you enjoyed your recent stay. We feel very happy that our staff and services were of your entire satisfaction.

Thank you once again, and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Good for 2-3 days stay . Resort is big and has a private beach..loved the view from the cocktail restaurant!...decent rooms with gr8 views.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jayeshvpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review.

We will be pleased to welcome you back at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Cordially yours,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
1.0 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
1.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
2.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 22 in Ixtapa
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Ixtapa

Address: Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $78 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of a mountain and surrounded by tropical vegetation on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Mexican Pacific Riviera is where you will find this secluded tropical paradise that offers the perfect balance between recreation and relaxation. A private hilltop entrance leads into a stone courtyard with dramatic fountain, where porters escort new arrivals to the open-air reception area. Bright colors, high ceilings, and keyhole views of the Pacific Ocean highlight hotel's striking architecture. Las Brisas Ixtapa is a particular favorite of honeymooners for its romantic setting and rooms with private terraces, all with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Brisas Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Resort
Las Brisas Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing