We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.00*
and up
Ixtapa Shore Excursion: Ixtapa Island Adventure
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since its development in 1970, this island has become a man-made paradise and wildlife reserve.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The water and the scenery was lovely. We didn't do any snorkeling preferring to walk the beach and look for shells. The one gentleman on the boat that took us out there was not shy on asking for tips but he was not rude about it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sungirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    587
    225
    65
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“food and beach”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The beach was great food not so much and prices not so much also. Expensive for what you get.The beach is two sides one for snorkeling which is fine and one calm side for swimmers. Not the greatest on both sides but a very relaxing day. Take the bus to Playa Linda and then take the sea taxi to the island. Forty pesos for two both ways. No need to take tours from hotels.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vasilikichios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Take the short water taxi ride from Playa Linda (40 peso's return) which takes you to the second beach. Walk south-east behind the row of restaurants away from the beach - not far (2 minutes) tops and you will see the third beach.

Nice beach, protected bay. You can rent snorkelling equipment, chair, table, umbrella, etc. Snorkelling is ok, further from shore the coral is nice too. We "rented" a table, 2 chairs, umbrella and 2 chaises for the price of 2 beers and a tip.

Mainly locals. Very safe as there are lifeguards, military personnel and a nurse in attendance. Can walk around most of the developed part of the island in less than 1/2 hour. No need to go with a tour company. Buses from town go to Playa Linda, then walk past the crocodile preserve and little market towards the ocean and up the pier.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebiLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very rustic island with a wonderful snorkeling area. The place is quiet quaint and no pushy vendors. Beaches we visited were acceptable and the snorkeling beach was very nice. Free to go over from our hotel via kayak or water taxi for $40 pesos per person. Taxis seemed pretty safe. The pier on both ends was falling apart but still served its purpose. Hold onto small children and those with mobility problems may have difficulty getting down the pier and on the boat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Isla Ixtapa through My Lens”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

From our balcony, on 19th floor (Suite #1915), at Azul Ixtapa Grand Resort, I watched the Isla Ixtapa every day of our one week stay, through my lens, changing views of this Island, from prior to sunrise to long after sunset, in fog and sunny clear day and in the brilliant red hues of sunset. It was the greatest pleasure to take pictures, only to avoid taking a boat trip from Playa Linda because we both don't like small boat trips, nor do we do fishing. However, I do recommend it those who love fishing. It looks majestic and beautiful, sleeping giant in the sea, visible from end to end, wherever you are on the sea shore, beaches or board walk.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa) also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing