We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do while in Ixtapa”

Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.00*
and up
Ixtapa Shore Excursion: Ixtapa Island Adventure
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since its development in 1970, this island has become a man-made paradise and wildlife reserve.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Must do while in Ixtapa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Water is cooler and has snorkeling. Make sure you check prices on things you buy. There are people on the beach who will try to lead you to their restaurants. SO, get an opinion on which restaurant is best before going. Boats go in and out of the shore so watch your kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    570
    219
    64
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

To get to the island, you need to go to the harbour in Playa Quieta. The wait to get a boat is long under full sun with no shadow at all, the dock is in bad conditions, besides the ticket you will be pressured 4 times to tip to the guys helping you to get in and off the boat. Before taking the boat, there will be people recruiting you to go to their restaurant in the island, avoid this. When you get to the island, you will notice the places closer to the dock are very crowded and they get better if you walk. We were recruited and even tough the seafood was fresh and very tasty, there were no wc services and the umbrellas were all broken. Instead of Isla Ixtapa, I would recommend to visit Las Gatas. Just go to Zihuatanejo Downtown, walk the beautiful handcrafts market, the dock has been renewed, plenty of shadows and get a ride to the beach, take the time to select a nice place. You can even negotiate the price of the beers and sodas before you sit down.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BARGAINHUNTER_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“snorkling fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Lots to see in the sea! Good time was had by all! Plenty of chairs with umbrellas to keep the sun off. Sea was a bit rough due to weather conditions, but we still could see the fish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 73foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend a day -- go with Luis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

the first time we heard the pitch for this tour was when we were walking into the airport after landing in Zihua.

everyone pitches this tour from your taxi driver to the waiter at breakfast. that being said, we eventually relented and signed up for a tour with Luis.
well worth it.

Luis turned out to be a great guy and even though we would have liked a little more air conditioning on the ride, he was a stellar guide who kept our party of 14 organized and informed.

the tour includes transportation to and from your hotel to the island, a 2 course lunch, a beer and an opportunity to snorkel with or without a guide. you can bring your own gear or rent some for $15usd. the guide points out the different species, you get to hold a star fish, check out a sea urchin up close and and feed tortilla to the fish while you snorkel. i mean what more could you ask for fifteen bucks and the setting is incredible.

for me, even more than the snorkeling and the fun new people and the beer-- i loved the outdoor kitchen on the island. tortillas are hand made and griddled over an open fire. incredible huge, fried whole fish came out of the primitive kitchen where they haul in the food every morning. as a foodie, i was totally fascinated.

after the day on the island we had some time to see the iguana and alligator reserve park near the pier, there's also an outdoor shopping market right there, but we opted to skip it.

Luis is a great guide host, we had a super time and met some of our favorite people of the trip. so brush off the guy that corners you in the airport -- let luis organize your trip to ixtapa island. it's a great way to spend a day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank txsjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit too touristy and over developed for my taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ixtapa Island is a great place to visit, especially if you have never been there before. Depending on the season, and whether or not there is a school vacation, you might get lucky and have the place almost to yourselves. The northside has some great snorkeling, which is fun, if, as I said, the place isn't infested with tourists. There are way too many overpriced restaurants for my taste. Too many restaurants period. That being said, it really is a nice little day trip from Ixtapa or Zihua, and I would highly recommend it if you haven't been there before.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NJRtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa) also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing