We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok snorkeling and that's about it”

Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.00*
and up
Ixtapa Shore Excursion: Ixtapa Island Adventure
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since its development in 1970, this island has become a man-made paradise and wildlife reserve.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ok snorkeling and that's about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Ixtapa is not for hard core partiers or extreme sportsmen. It's a place to relax, period. anyone trying to tell you otherwise, probably doesn't know any better. This island is one f the dew and key attractions in the area. You can either contract one of the packages being sold by just about anyone in Ixtapa or rent a boat for the day and visit the island by yourself. The only thing tondo is the snorkeling or diving in the local reef. It's small. if you are in Jan-march you may get to see the wales on their trip to the north.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank celta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    570
    219
    64
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Worth the ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Ixtapa Azul, kayaking out one day and taking the water taxi the next. Snorkel equipment is available at the instruction center and I would advise renting there. Great guide also available there. There are lots of lunch options though prices high. A walk around the island is interesting, rustic and refreshing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Diverse spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Two sided island, one swimming beach with restaurants, one rocky for snorkelers. We kayaked there, a bit rough, but fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“snorkeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

beautiful clear water great snorkeling and chilling out on the beach. food was great. It was cheaper for us to go there with an excursion than going on our own. We were able to be picked up from our hotel in a van brought to the island on a boat and snorkel and eat all for $25 pp This was an excellent value well worth it

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rocketgirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally a must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The beach was so clear and calm for swimming. We went snorkeling and saw many fish and the beautiful coral. Our guide was very helpful. He went to the bottom and brought up star spiders and an urchin. They looked scary but we were able to touch them. The water was just the right temperature for snorkeling. Later we rested on the hammocks in the shade. Beautiful view and very relaxing!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa) also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing