We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Fun change of scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)

Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)
Book In Advance
and up
Ixtapa Shore Excursion: Ixtapa Island Adventure
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since its development in 1970, this island has become a man-made paradise and wildlife reserve.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun change of scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

It's a narrow beach, but beautiful water and views. Snorkeling was good, and the food excellent! Fish cooked over an open fire, perfectly done.

Visited November 2012
Thank chefnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Place to Cool Off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We took the bus from Zihua to Playa Linda past Ixtapa for a whopping 10 pesos each. BUT the bus driver passed a watering truck on the right and squeezed by him by just a few inches and then our bus driver was pulled over by the police, which is NOT a good thing, especially when it adds at least 20 minutes to your bus ride.
After all that commotion and getting the bus restarted, we headed out again in the broiling heat.
We got off the bus at Playa Linda and saw the crocodiles, lizards and iguanas all behind fences. Then we walked down to the Pier and walked out to catch the little boats that go out to the island called Isla Ixtapa. It cost 40 pesos for the round trip and of course, when you got to the island's beach and were helped out of the boat, you were asked for a few pesos as a tip. I did succumb the first time, but on the way back, I just ignored the request. I had already paid for the ride and didn't need that much help getting out of the boat. REALLY ??
We were told to go to the restaurant called Indio, which we did, after discovering the owner was sitting across from us in the little boat. She showed us to her restaurant and we were there for the day. I would suggest trying another place as all of the 7 or 8 places were very busy. I was overcharged for my tiny glass of juice at 60 pesos. It should have been 20 at the most. But the chicken fajitas were excellent. So if you go to Indio's don't order a juice. They were very nice people there and so any restaurant is fine.
The swimming was fun and the water very refreshing. Wear water shoes though as there were large rocks and sharp shells to avoid. Next to the Indio restaurant, they had all kinds of water toys for rent. We saw jet skis, kayaks, etc. and I would imagine they were all at reasonable rates.
If you wanted to snorkel, you could just walk up over and behind the restaurant to the other side of the island where there was another beach with huge coral reefs. It was so shallow though that we did not venture out so as to not get cut up by the coral, which can be a nasty problem.
You can rent snorkeling gear and go for it if you are so inclined.
I highly recommend this for a day trip, but try to go during the week, as weekends, when we went are extremely busy. And if you have a cooler, take your own beer and snacks.

Visited December 2012
2 Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Take boat over from Playa Linda for 40 pesos. I prefer the back side of island as the ocean side has too much coral. Favorite restaurant is ESCONDIDO which is next to last on beach. Tina, one of waitresses has been there for 24 years and the service and food are more than acceptable. No electricity so everything is cooked/grilled over open flame, super. Beer is cold and food is very good. Lemonade is also very refreshing. This side of island is better for nice calm water and swimming. Can walk over behind the restaurant about 100 yards and on the front/ocean side of island which has great snorkeling and lots of fish but navigating the rocks and coral can be a bit tricky. Last boat departs back to Playa Linda around 5 PM.

Visited December 2012
Thank PHIL8888HighPoint_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Beach - Lots of Locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very nice and quiet in the morning. Get off beach by Noon, or you will be swarmed by vendors every five minutes wanting to sell you something and tons of small kids whose parents must not have a job.

Visited December 2012
Thank TS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice little island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were able to get a free ride from Zihua to the docks in Playa Linda; which we had to pay $40 pesos 2 way per person to get to the island. They have like 4 different points in the island where you can stay. We decided to spend the stay snorkeling so we pay about $50 pesos for fins and we head to the water. The variety of fishes was nice, but nothing I ever seen before. However, it was nice to have the experience while in Ixtapa. We ordered few drinks and we got charge a service fee of $40 pesos, but we got the chairs and the umbrellas. Overall, it was a nice day in the water..

Visited December 2012
Thank Ivette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa) also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo

Been to Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing