We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEACH THOUGH VERY SMALL” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Quieta

Playa Quieta
Ranked #8 of 30 things to do in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located six miles from Ixtapa, this is touted as the best swimming area in the region featuring snorkeling, sailing and windsurfing.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“BEACH THOUGH VERY SMALL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Playa Quieta Beach, next to the Azul Ixtapa Grand Resort was just enough to have access to sandy stretch of the beach and warm water of the Pacific Ocean and have a swim. The water can be a bit murky at times.Water sport rentals were available.
In fact, there were other choices, apart from the pools, one could walk up to Azul Ixtapa (Azul Ixtapa Grand's sister Resort) which has a much longer beach, stretching all the way to Playa Linda. .
Most of the time we walked to longer stretch for our walks on the shore line.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This beach was located right beside our hotel - Azul Ixtapa Grand and we enjoyed swimming here since the beach at the hotel was almost non-existent. The people staying at Club Med are very fortunate to have this beach right in front of their property. Water was very warm and there was a sandy bottom.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
245 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Beautiful and one of the best beaches in Ixtapa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Playa Quieta was very, well, quieta! The sand was soft and fine, the waves were calm and rolled in softly. The water was warm and great for swimming. The beach was long and walkable and we really enjoyed it! There is a small restaurant on the North side of the beach as well as a massage hut. Water sport rentals were available at the South end. We were so bummed that we didn't discover it until the last day! Club Med and Capella are located directly on this beach, Azul Grand is right next door to it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SEGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrieta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“terrific beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The water is so warm though the water can be a bit murky at times. Very mellow so that you can stay in the water for hours at a time. Very safe for kids, water always spits you back onto the beach rather than drag you out to see. If you are looking to go sailing, this is not so great, no wind.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank srolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This Playa was NOT quieta, in spite of its name!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went there thinking it might be calmer than the beach at our hotel: Las Brisas. We didn't find it to be quieter. Quieta means steady, calm in Spanish. We found it rather rough.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler73_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Quieta also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Playa Quieta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing