We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upstairs at the marina”
Review of Che Mangiamo - CLOSED

Che Mangiamo
Price range: $2 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
jeffrx42
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Upstairs at the marina”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Food was very good and the prices were very reasonable. Upstairs location so you will need to climb stairs. I didn't see another way up. The evening we ate there only a few tables were taken.
We were charged for a bottle of wine instead of a glass. I trust this was just a human error.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrx42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Even with a management change, still one of the best in Ixtapa”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We gave been going here for years, and yes it is sad Miguel is no longer there but the last two reviews are wrong. Food is still great, even presented better than before at the same prices - the same entertainment is there that has been there for at least the last teo years, a trio, well known around the ixtapa Zihua area. The new staff are not as personable as under Miguel's management but still were accomodating and tried their best to please you. Don't pass this place up because of two bad reviews ... It's worth a visit to see for yourself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PappaChorizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brutal change”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Che Mangiamo has been taken over by a cruel, mafia like group and the entire staff is gone, including the previous owner Miguel, as he was forced out. The town is buzzing about how terrible the new restaurant is. The prices have gone ridiculously high and the staff do not cater to the needs of the customers. This restaurant cannot offer its entertainment, prices or quality food like it use to. It is such a shame what these new "owners" have done to what use to be my favorite place in Ixtapa. Tourists should advice one another of this heart breaking news.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Zihualove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad Experience for Che Mangiamo”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We just found out that our favorite restaurant in Ixtapa has been stolen from the previous owner in an underhanded way. We understand that the Che Mangiamo staff that were loyal to the previous owner have quit and that the new owner has raised the menu pricing. We loved this restaurant under the great management of Miguel! We will never go to this restaurant again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank becker5Willmar_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Went twice”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Loved the food music atmosphere. All for very reasonable prices.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Che Mangiamo also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing