We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love Ruben's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruben's Hamburgers

Ruben's Hamburgers
Ranked #3 of 105 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love Ruben's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Ruben's is a bright spot in Ixtapa. After you get tired of Mx style food (even though much of it is very good in Ix) it is great to get a good hamburger. Ruben's is the place. I have tried hamburgers at other restaurants in Ix but Ruben's is the best. Tasty, juicy, good size and good price. Their bacon/cheeseburger comes hot with plenty of cheese and bacon. The french fries are "American" style, hot and plentyful. Their larger burger is big enough for two of us to share. We are in Ix for most of the winter and go to Ruben's once a week for our hamburger fix. The pickled vegies that come before the meal are a little strange but that leaves all the more room for the good stuff. The whole family loves Ruben's

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 0993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    192
    69
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cariboo Country, BC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stopped at Ruben's on our last day in Ixtapa. The burgers were very good as was the service.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank S&W-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
243 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Charbroiled Burgers and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

my teenage son and i accidentally ended up at Reubens but he was thrilled because it's a burger joint; not so for me but i was hungry. my son had the 150gr sirloin hawaiian witht he pineapple slice while i had the smaller 120gr plain sirloin without cheese. both came with fried onions, lettuce, and tomato.

the burgers had a charbroil taste which is what we like but the beef was okay. i wouldn't say "wow" but it was just okay. i like it how they gave us a bowl of pickled onions, garlic, carrots, and peppers so we can put it in our burgers along with mayo, ketchup, and mustard. we shared a 1/2 side of fries and they were CRUNCHY--the best fried i have had anywhere. it is even better than some french restaurants because it was crunchy and crisp yet not oily. if only they cooked it in duck fat.....uummmmmm....yum!

the service was great...our waitress was wonderful but spoke very little english. the place was clean packed with diners that were mostly hispanics which was a great sign. they had a juke box with the latest music for 10pesos. the place was very airy and cool; not stuffy or warm at all.

we enjoyed our meal here very much....2 burgers, 1/2 order of fries, 1 beer, and 1 fanta with tips was 220 pesos.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Mexico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

As far as the review from April 29th 2010 goes, my response is 'only a person from Madison WI' knows what a frozen, boxed hamburger from Wal-Mart tastes like.
Ruben's, as always, was wonderful. The charbroiled, bacon, 'Sonoran' cheese' burger was fantastic, and the french fries were cooked to perfection as was the char broiled potato. Anyone who knows anything about Ruben's or who even read the menu or even looked around the restaurant, knows that the beef is fresh, never frozen, from the state of Sonora, char broiled to your liking, it is sad when people make negative comments when they are uneducated about the subject they are writing about. Ruben's employees, food and service is always wonderful & consistent and deserve an A+, if they were not, they would not be located through out Mexico's top tourist's and largests cities.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daisymae531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very good and tastey burger.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

You know it's kind of a little bit of home when you can just enjoy a pretty good hamburger at a descent price. We have been there several times over the years and we are never disappointed.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dderouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruben's Hamburgers also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Ruben's Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing