We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a spectacular facility in a beautiful setting with easy access from the US” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capella Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capella Ixtapa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a spectacular facility in a beautiful setting with easy access from the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Having spent 3 weeks in the Caribbean for 20+ years, this was our second visit to the western coast of Mexico and first visit to Ixtapa. This 2 year old facility was just perfect; a really well built facility that was like living outdoors from 8 am to 6 pm. With 6 floors on a cliffside heading down to a small beach, the view was wonderful from our room and from other hotel facilities. The staff was well trained and thoroughly delightful to interact with. They spoke good English and tolerated our broken Spanish. The Spa and dining were excellent and comparable to what one would expect at these prices. We never used the elevator, so there was quite a few steps to help work off the fine food. An excellent biking/hiking trail is in front of the hotel that provides 2+ miles of walking/biking in each direction so we walked to Playa Linda, the Marina, and Ixtapa. Zihuatanejo is a short drive and worth the trip. We had a car but cabs are plentiful. The airport was wonderful and customs were a breeze. Literally it was just over 5 hours from our home near DFW to the hotel room in Ixtapa. It was a perfect week.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    58
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
499
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

Here is the email I sent to the GM after our stay to let him know about some of the problems we encountered during our stay over New Years. The reason I am posting this on Trip Advisor? He NEVER replied! Just overall bad customer service at this property.

Unfortunately we don't think we will be returning to Capella Ixtapa any time soon. There were several things that we were not happy with.

1. We arranged a car with you via email and it was not at the airport when we arrived.
2. The circuit to the air conditioning in our room continued to break in the middle of the night for three nights in a row. This led us to have horrible nights of sleep and we both ended up coming down with very bad colds.
3. There were young children staying in the resort. I could hear them in our room and they were very disturbing at the pool. The resort should not allow small children.
4. We never met our 'butler' during our entire stay. He never introduced himself and never offered his assistance.
5. Anything I ate with beef made me very sick to my stomach. The hamburger was horrible.

I will say that the spa exceeded my expectations and the spa staff was outstanding. But overall, our return to Capella was disappointing and the resort did not live up to its five star rating/cost.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank APairofTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

This property is private, romantic and perfect for couples. The suites have their own plunge pools and are state of the art. The view is the best. The food is great, and service was good. Rogello at the pool was on top of everything you needed. The Tapas Terrace was our favorite, comfortable and very good food. If you're looking for lots of activities this isn't the place for you. If you can entertain yourselves and want some peace and quiet this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EurekaSpringsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

After examining the reviews and photos on TripAdvisor, we knew Capella Ixtapa would be beautiful and luxurious, but we were truly overwhelmed by the splendour of the resort once we arrived. The fascinating architecture of the ochre-tinted buildings, the lush tropical landscaping, the elegant pool areas, and the natural coastline setting are strkingly picturesque.

We stayed in a penthouse suite which provided a spacious and tranquil vacation refuge. The large terrace featured sunny and shaded areas, extremely comfortable chairs and sofas, a flat-screen television, and of course a wonderful plunge pool that is standard for all the rooms at Capella. The bedroom and bathroom are well-appointed with attractive furniture, a mini-bar that is restocked with water and sodas daily, lots of fluffy white towels, and a sumptuous kingsize bed with Pratesi sheets and down duvet. My wife and I can no longer take the intense heat and sun (like we did in our youth when we baked ourselves in the Mexican sol), so we were thankful for the comfortable breezes that cooled us nicely. The suites at Capella are gorgeous, simply gorgeous.

We spent most of our time relaxing, reading, playing, and talking on our terrace but also enjoyed having lunch at the Las Rochas restaurant, relaxing with a drink at the Terrace Bar, perusing the interesting art books in the library, and just walking the grounds to take in the beauty of the place. It truly was the most relaxing vacation of our lives and other guests we spoke to expressed the same delight in being there. Capella is an excellent vacation choice for a couple seeking pampering and tranquility.

I could not write this review without mentioning the outstanding staff. Everyone at the resort, and I do mean everyone, from the front-desk staff, personal assistants, housekeepers, bellmen, groundkeepers, maintenance crew, waiters, and bartenders was gracious, courteous, professional, and friendly. They all went out of their way to ensure that our stay was perfect. We honestly did not have one unpleasant encounter with anyone, and there were none of those uncomfortable and insulting side-conversations by staff about you or other guests when they think you’re not looking. In fact, some of the staff sincerely touched our hearts as we chatted about their families and personal lives, and as they happily gave us impromptu Spanisch lessons

My only disappointment was the hotel’s lack of recognition of an event we were celebrating, the reason for our trip. In both our reservation form and in a subsequent e-mail to the hotel, I mentioned that my wife and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. I was a little surprised, at check-in, when asked whether we were celebrating anything special; I just thought this would have already been noted. There was a generic welcome note from the general manager in our room (oddly addressed to only “Mrs.” and then my first name, as in “Mrs. Joe”), but no congratulatory message. I certainly was not expecting any sort of special treatment or gift, but some sort of acknowledgement such as a card or note, or an unprompted “congratulations” would have been nice.

Will we return to Capella Ixtapa? We certainly hope so—we loved it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Capella Ixtapa is perfect! We have stayed in hotels & resorts across the U.S., Europe, and in Central America, and Capella Ixtapa is the best ever. We spent our honeymoon there. Besides what you would expect in a high end resort, the service was wonderful. We had everything we needed before we even knew we needed it, without any unnecessary formality. This beautiful resort is not the slightest bit self-important. The staff is very friendly and we never felt that it was phony or forced. Our first afternoon there we ordered a bottle of wine at the restaurant. We mentioned that we would take it back to our room, and it was there chilling with glasses when we got back. The first day we went to the pool of course there were the usual towels, beach chairs, shade umbrellas, etc. And also 3 different types of sunscreen for guests' use. The little touches go on and on. It's a new resort and everything works perfectly. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian77339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Traveling with our two adult children and our new son in law we stayed over the Christmas holiday and it couldn't have been more perfect. The staff, food, view, weather and rooms were all fantastic. Our host Julian added all those extra touches to make our trip unforgettable. Two thumbs up for Capella Ixtapa and all there staff. (Jones Family)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjones53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

We got married in Zihuatanejo in November and after spending 4 nights at a smaller resort, we spent 7 nights at the Capella. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite and were blown away by the property and views. Upon arrival, we were greeted wtih rose petals and candles everywhere and we were greeted by name. Breakfasts were amazing and the staff was friendly. Being a new property, there are a few things that I would have liked to see done differently (such as the food choices were limited and the restaurants are only open 2 nights a week), however overall it was a wonderful experience. The spa is amazing and the facilities are very clean and over the tope. We opted to do a couples massage outside in the gazebo and it was the highlight of the trip. The pool area is very quiet and wouldn't recommend staying at the Capella if you have kids. Overall, the Capella Ixtapa and the suite was everything that we expected and more.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
1.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
1.6 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.8 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Ixtapa

Property: Capella Ixtapa
Address: Paseo Punta Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera II Playa Linda, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Ixtapa 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capella Ixtapa is a Mexico luxury resort set inside a rock cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The property features suites, private plunge pools, a world-class spa, restaurants, tequila bar, beach wedding locations, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Capella Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa Zihuatanejo
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing