We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ixtapa
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveler rating
718
78
28
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
718
78
28
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool personal assistant terrace bar the penthouse room service cliff side our honeymoon guacamole seafood restaurant main pool moment you arrive overlooking the ocean low season sunset cruise the general manager crashing waves playa linda
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 842 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is outstanding! The views are unbeatable. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The terrace and plunge pool could tempt you to never leave your individual room! The two pools are fantastic and the food was delicious. Above all, the STAFF and attention to detail are what really deserves the most praise. We were floored by the hospitality and service. I can't recommend this place highly enough! Thanks to staff at Cala de Mar, special thanks to Daniel at the pool!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank petersjcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calademargm, Director General at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable time by sending us your comments and for our part, we will continue on the path of success in serving our guests as you are.

We will gladly share your comments with our staff and we look forward to serving you on your next visit at this wonderful Resort

Sincerely Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Before we left we read in a blog that the new favorite thing people said they liked to do on vacation is NOTHING. Usually we spend 90% of our time out of the resort we're at. This time we spent almost all of our time at the resort - only left once to sight see. The restaurants on site are great - attentive service and good food. There are two infinity pools that were largely empty. Finding an open lounge chair was never a problem. With a mini-pool on your own terrace you can stand up in, privacy for sunbathing and reading and stunning views we hardly left our room. Add the beers and snacks that just showed up in the late afternoon were an unexpected delight. We will definitely go back!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calademargm, Director General at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa.

We are very pleased to know that you spend a great time with us.

On behalf of all our staff we want to thank you for staying with us and, hope to have the opportunity to host you very soon.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel exceeded our expectations. I could not recommend Cala De Mar more highly. We had a wonderful trip. The view from every aspect of the hotel is truly breathtaking. The fish tacos at the pool are amazing. The morning fruit popsicle was a treat. Really - they have thought of everything. But the warmth of the staff is the best part.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Discover321495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calademargm, Director General at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your time writting about your stay with us, thank your for give us the opportunity to assist you. We hope to serve you again very Soon and create a new best experience!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You must go... you will never want to leave the grounds. I still don't know how they were able to have the whales perform during our breakfast each day :-) You don't have to upgrade to the romance room but if you do it provides more sun and you can order an umbrella and never leave for shade!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bckid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calademargm, Director General at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa,

We are very pleased to know that you spend a great time with us.

On behalf of all our staff we want to thank you for staying with us and, hope to have the opportunity to host you very soon.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Cala de Mar is amazing because:
- the location cannot be beat
- the views are beautiful
- the room was beautiful and very big
- the private pool was great, we used it every day
- the food was excellent at every restaurant
- the personal assistant was able to set us up with some excursions that were really great

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calademargm, Director General at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable time by sending us your comments and for our part, we will continue on the path of success in serving our guests as you are.

We will gladly share your comments with our staff and we look forward to serving you on your next visit at this wonderful Resort.

Sincerely Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa.

King Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews