We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly 6 star resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2010

The service is 1:1 one guest per employee. This is clearly evident upon arrival. We stayed in a small suite and we really did not need a larger one for the amount of time we spent in our room was minimal.
Our favorite amenity was the cabana. These open air shady structures were always available. Despite the heat, they were breezy and had a fan overhead in addition.
We were able to order our favorite dessert off menu without any difficulty.
The rooms were clean and very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 671 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

I visited this hotel over President's Day weekend in February 2010. Starting from booking the car between ZIH and the hotel, the visit was perfect. I highly recommend visiting with your partner if you're looking for a nice, relaxing getaway.

Some quick notes: A Mares has great food.... The staff speaks perfect English... The Spa is terrific... The rooms are calming and energizing all at the same time...

Also, I was told by one of the staff that, on average, 10 rooms are filled. While this doesn't bode well for the hotel, it translates into super-attentive and fast service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoliveri37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Wife and I spent a week here in August. Hotel room one of the nicest I have seen, and all amenities are at same high level. Service very professional but still warm and personal. Staff are great, this is a very well managed hotel. The restaurant is also good, enjoyed a tequila tasting with the sommelier. If I could build a house in Mexico and money was no object, this is what I would end up with.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clint5841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We never write reviews, but wanted to let all readers know that this is truly a rare gem.

In an effort not to repeat what others have already written we wanted to write a review based on information that we were looking for prior to our trip.

Guests will receive an e-mail from the resort a few weeks prior to their trip. Note that they will offer airport transfers for $140 round trip in a Suburban, but you can also request the $80 round trip transfer in a regular car which is what we did.

Upon arriving at the airport you will be greeted with someone holding a Capella Ixtapa sign. We did not have to wait, as our driver was already there. The drive to the resort is approximately 25 minutes. You will pass through the town of Zihuatanejo, as well as downtown Ixtapa to get to the resort.

The location of the resort is about 5 minutes from downtown Ixtapa by car. To go into town it is a $7 USD one-way taxi fare. The resort is also approximately 15 minutes from downtown Zihuatanejo. We did a 2-hour tour of Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo offered through the hotel for $61 pp USD that was well worth it. It gives you the opportunity to see the surrounding areas with a tour guide (Mauricio) who is a Zihuatanejo native.

As far as the rooms go we stayed in the regular ocean view room. The resort was generous to offer us an upgrade to an ocean deluxe room after we saw our original room (43), but we decided to stay in our original room because it seemed to be more intimate. The difference was that the deluxe room had a slightly deeper terrace that was not covered, and the bathroom had a double sink. We preferred our original room because the terrace is covered which offers relief from the sun during the hot days, but also because the deluxe terraces did not seem as private since they extend out further looking over the property. All rooms also offer wireless internet access, or you can use the computer free of charge in the business center.

As far as money goes, most places do accept US dollars, but change will be in pesos. If you want to go to the downtown areas you can have the hotel exchange your money there, which makes it easier for the taxi fare. Also, in downtown Ixtapa there is a Santander Bank which is associated with Bank of America where you can withdraw money. I also recommend printing a currency conversion table which you can get from Oanda.com. This makes calculating conversions very simple.

In summary, the food, service, and overall resort deserves the full recognition provided in other positive reviews. This resort earns each of its 5 stars. There can be rare situations which can lead to a negative review; however, we did not experience any and these situations can often be found at any 5 star resort. Our favorites were the friendly staff, any food with shrimp as the shrimp was large and tasty, Amares restaurant, and the blended fruit waters. We also had a wonderful couples massage. Although expensive, it was a nice indulgence and they accommodated our request for moderate pressure.

We cannot have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aibusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

So you read the Tripadvisor reviews and hope they are right....usually they are. Well they were certainly right with the boutique Capella Hotel in Ixtapa. Although this hotel (about 55 rooms) is probably best for those enjoying a honeymoon or hard working jet setters, we are in our seventies and loved it. Quite a few steps to navigate and a few of them creep up on you.

We stayed in room #44 ......The size of the room was about 18 x 15 with two nightstands, a lounge chair, refrigerator/misc, electronics cabinet and a very comfortable bed. Lighting was adequate, but not great for reading. A bit frusterating to learn the system with multiple switches on dimmers controlling the functions. By the time we learned how to work it all, we were on our last day. Flat panel t.v. and a bench in front of the bed complete the furnishing. Towels were excellent.......two beach, two shower, four hand towels.....plus night service that was supurb and never forgotten.

The patio is approximately 13 x 16 with an infinity plunge pool that is probably about 9 x 12.....it has whirlpool jets (not practical locations) and is heated when requested to about 80 degrees......great for privacy and a quick cooling. A big lounge sofa, coffee table, and comfortable chair are provided along with beach towels in a cabinet....even two hooks to hang your bathing suits to dry out.

The bath room is about 11 x 21 with a large closet area and shelves along with a safe and magnifying mirror on the huge pullman double sink area. Plenty of shelf space at the pullman. Lighting once again is not the best.. There is a large shower stall with a wand shower head mounted on the wall......pressure is medium and the supply of hot water is excellent. Wide range of amenities.

The views all over the hotel (even in the funicular that takes you from floor to floor) is sensational. You feel as though it can't be beat anywhere in the world for pure relaxation.
You see small islands jutting from the seascape and the coastline.

Now to the best part and the former was darn good.......The staff.......always smiling faces that never say "no". Whatever your request, they try to comply....in fact they go out of their way. The dining room orders were always delivered exactly as requested.
And the food for breakfast and the one dinner we had in the seafood restaurant was very good.

The hotel has two infinity pools that are beautiful (again the view is sensational) and the service poolside is outstanding. The minute you arrive they bring you a beach towel and there is already one beach towel on each very comfortable chaise lounge. Then they bring you iced water bottles in an ice bucket and a little later some veggies (carrots, jicama, celery, etc.).

We never ate so much guacamale.......delivered each evening along with chips and a drink.....they offered beer, we settled for soft drinks. This is plus the fact that the refrigerator is stocked with a variety of complimentary soft drinks.

Yes this hotel goes out of the way with extras. If you are looking for pure relaxation, this will be the place to stay. It really feels as though they want you to come back!!!!!!

A couple of suggestions: (1) We did not enjoy Becoffino for dinner (Ixtapa), (2) Loved having a drink at Villa del La Silva at sunset, (3) had a fun dinner at a tamale restaurant in Zihuatanejo....the desk will give you the name, (4) enjoyed a very good breakfast at the Cookie Shop in Ixtapa (upstairs)....usually had breakfast at the hotel and it was excellent also.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Love vacation time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Capella Resort Ixtapa

Our visit to Capella in January 2010 was truly an extraordinary experience. We found few reviews on TripAdvisor so we thought we would add a long one.

We would rate Capella excellent on all three of the important elements of a resort hotel:
1. The facility (including the rooms and public areas);
2. the food;
3. and the Service.

If the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton consistently deliver a 9-10, this is a 12.

It is more like a private club than a public hotel. There are four restaurants, but you can order off any menu in any location. In addition, the chefs will make anything you want assuming they have the ingredients. The quality of the food is excellent; really a foodie heaven.

Start with the location. We were a little nervous about the association with Ixtapa, which is not an environment that we desire. But rest assured, the Capella is nestled on top of the cliffs overlooking the Pacific about 5 miles outside of town in its own little slice of paradise. Our first approach to the compound was through the beautifully carved gates that hide the lush oasis that is Capella. The driveway is created as a mural with swirling patterns of stone and there is a wall cascading with water at the center of the driveway. The bougainvillea cascades from the boxes surrounding the staircase that becomes lit with candles at sunset. With the waves crashing against the rocks, foodie heaven, and incomparable service – what is not to like? Our room, number 33, featured a private plunge pool and generous terrace, along with an oversized main room and gigantic bathroom/walk in closet. All exquisitely decorated in understated elegance in soothing tones of pale yellow, celery green, marble abounds and the lovely king sized beds made with Pratesi sheets. It is difficult to describe the level of service which is what made our stay very special. Many hotels rack up the charges for little incidentals, but at Capella it is exactly the opposite. We appreciated the complimentary guacamole and beer in our room at sunset, the complimentary ice drinks several times each day at the pool, the complimentary cookies and snacks (including tequila) in the Library (together with tea and coffee), but really it is only the start. The staff is genuinely attentive to your every need. When we expressed a desire to watch the BCS championship game, a large screen TV was set up in the bar, and complimentary snacks were supplied continuously throughout the game for the assembled fans. When we had the occasion to order taxis to take us to the golf course or for a sail, or to go to town, the staff was extremely efficient in organizing everything.

A few other observations: the gym is 24 hour and well appointed with bikes, treadmills, and elliptical trainers, all of life fitness brand. Also, a small set of weights, and lots of cold water in the fridge. Bikes are available for your use outside at any time. The Spa services are first rate. The serpentine shaped infinity pool is beautifully appointed with many lounges and umbrellas and a staff that willingly rearranges your chairs for you several times a day. The area is immaculately clean, with no dirty bedding or towels laying about. There is a second salt water infinity pool that rests on a lower deck and is truly the color of the sea, it is an experience in itself and is tended as the aforementioned pool, with the greatest of care.

It is difficult to put into words the care spent in designing this facility.
There are unique views of the Pacific from every hall way, every public space and every room, all perfectly designed. Of course, the funicular (to travel between floors) is without parallel. It is the main means of transportation from the top to the bottom of the hotel. But we appreciated the general sense of design that pervaded the entire facility; the fountains, the plantings, the lounge at the driveway, and too many other features to mention. The attention to detail permeates every aspect of the operation and facility. Each turn of the head yielded a vista as spectacular as the previous panorama. The elegant roman arches in the hallways were offset by installations of art, refined handicrafts that in no way resemble the craft market wares hawked to the tourists. In fact, there is even a book in the library that details the installation of the art of Capella.

We explored Zihuanteho and Ixtapa; frankly you are better off to stay in the hotel. We went to dinner at the Tides and Las Brisas. The Tides is an elaborate facility and is meant to offer a comparable level of experience as Capella. We like the casual elegance of Capella and found the Tides did not reach the same level. Las Brisas was simply an aging dowager, in severe need of updating and offering comfort food. Nothing like the soaring octaves of Capella, the chef never disappointed and our lengthy stay afforded us the opportunity to try most all of his specialties. Preferences and suggestions were welcomed and dishes were constructed from our imaginations by the talented chef. No request went unanswered by the wonderful restaurant staff. Las Rochas, the restaurant by the pool was surrounded by bougainvillea and cooled by the breezes of the surf below. The fruit waters made with agave are quite the treat, especially the watermelon mint.

OK, we have to find some negatives. The air conditioning in the gym was not very effective and it got quite hot even with just two people in the room. On several mornings when there were four of us, it was nearly unbearable.

Typically, Four Seasons devotees, we were absolutely delighted with each and every moment of our stay at Capella Ixtapa and will look for more opportunities to experience Capella Hotels and most definitely plan on returning to this lovely oasis in Ixtapa.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank J&H74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I respectfully but strongly disagree with the "Good but not Great" review below. The Capella Ixtapa is beyond great. I have never experienced service and attention so personalized and so warm. Although we got a great deal for our room off of jetsetter.com, the hotel website offers some great package values, so you can score a much better deal than the hefty room rates you see online. Even at full rack rate, though, the Capella is worth every penny.

What made the Capella stand out to me was that it wasn't the institutionalized five-star hotel feel you get from a Four Seasons or a Ritz-Carlton. The staff embodied the feel of the Ixtapa/Zihuatanejo area and went above and beyond for my partner's birthday, making it an extraordinarily special day for him and for me. It helped, of course, that we practically had the run of the resort to ourselves, which was wonderful for us (though made us a little sad because the resort should be booked solid given its amazingness).

The infinity pools were fantastic and our own plunge pool was a huge amenity we appreciated. The rooms are not lavish but are incredibly comfortable. The bathrooms are huge and perfectly laid out (though the shower could have used better water pressure). We looked forward to the chips and guac and beers delivered to our room every day around 5, and we loved the little food and drink amenities passed around the poolside area. The setting, of course, was breathtaking and simply unbeatable.

We quite enjoyed the food (though we did not go to the hotel's gourmet restaurant, A Mares) and found it reasonably priced for a luxury hotel. Beers by the pool are $3.45 and the menus don't suffer from the traditional five-star hotel markup at all (e.g. -- sandwiches and salads are below $13, and our three-course dinner at the seafood market (soup/salad + ceviche + fillet of fresh caught fish) was around $50/pp). The wine list was a little on the overpriced side and did not have a great selection, but we don't go to Mexico for the wine. It's a beer and tequila vacation.

In short, we felt coddled and very well taken care of at the Capella Ixtapa and had a wonderful oasis to ourselves. We would highly recommend it to any couple looking for a romantic getaway to paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ndesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixtapa
1.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
5.9 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,524 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,912 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa

Address: Paseo Punta Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera II Playa Linda, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: $353 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala de Mar is a Mexico luxury resort set inside a rock cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The property features suites, private plunge pools, a world-class spa, restaurants, tequila bar, beach wedding locations, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa Zihuatanejo
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing